Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom newcatle

Weekend away

Posted Feb 23, 2015
What a lovely place to stay! The manager is a charming man and the breakfast is excellent. Would recommend to anyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Edinburgh

Deserves every one of those 5 Stars.

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: The Atmosphere, it felt opulent but not uncomfortable.
Kexby House proved to be an excellent place to stay for exploring York and the surrounding area. Situated just 20 mins drive outside York on the Hull road, this proved to be a rather charming choice of accommodation. We stayed for the weekend and due to leaving it to the last minute to book, found accommodation in York both limited and expensive. Kexby House was a fantastic find and offered phenomenal value when compared to the sterile and faceless generic chain hotels charging at least £100 more. The classicaly styled interior gave it a surprisingly opulent feeling and the 'Pink Room' in which we stayed was perfect, with some sherry and freshly baked Parkin bread awaiting us inside. Frederick, the owner was extremely welcoming, helpful and attentive throughout our stay. A true Yorkshire gentleman with his own unique brand of humour. The Breakfast was first class and the freshly made sausages were fantastic along with the freshly laid eggs, all produced on site. We had travelled by train so did not have a car but found the transport links were excellent, with a bus stop outside offering a regular service into York (X46), or a £17-20 taxi journey. An excellent stay which was well worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JOHNfrom Prescot, Merseyside

nice surroundings,5 minutes park & ride to york

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: everything.
Cons: Possibly the parking areas, enough space, but a bit tight for big vehicles.
Location: nicely located for access to YORK, using the park and ride was hastle free.
Very rarely use hotels & B&B's,so I was pleasantly suprised at the decor and cleandliness of the room, breakfast room & entrance, in fact the whole building and outside area were immaculate.Also nice touches in the room like small decanter of sherry, cotton buds and balls, etc.I would certainly stay there again. They also had an annex (cottage) which the proprietor showed us around, this was also excellent,with two bedrooms and a large comfortable lounge. and a nice modern bathroom. Altogether a very nice place to stay. JULIE & JOHN.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mystic Lily

Fabulous!

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
I can't say enough about the Kexby House in Yorkshire. It is just amazing. The grounds, the service, the rooms - all are outstanding. There is even a private sheltered park area for the guests. We stayed in the Pink Room. It is beautifully decorated with an iron scrollwork bed, small fireplace, white accent furnishings, tea/coffee maker, large shower in a small but roomy bathroom. The available space has been perfectly designed to make the bath very comfortable. The breakfast is fresh and made to order. The breakfast table is set up family style to encourage conversation between the guests and is very relaxed and comfortable. Fredrick met us at the door upon arrival and was very welcoming and helpful. He suggested we try dinner at a neighboring town only six miles away. We dined at the Pane de Vino restaurant. The food, and service was very good. So if you're in the area looking for a place to stay, you've got to try the Kexby House. It is rated 5 star but it goes beyond that rating. We walked the grounds and caught a beautiful sunset beyond the hills. This is just too good a place not to share with everyone. I'm sure you will be more than pleased with your stay. We will book here again on our next return to Yorkshire. I just can't say enough good things about The Kexby House. :O)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Spacious and comfortably rooms, very nice hot breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom sussex

warm, friendly atmosphere and good comfort.

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very good. The breakfast was wonderful and everything was very fresh.Location was about 5 miles from York centre and hotel was easy to find.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Juliefrom York

Posted Jul 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Absolutely fabulous . The photos on Internet didn't do it justice x wonderful .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rosemaryfrom Sydney NSW, Australia

Kexby House Review.

Posted Jun 20, 2013
Pros: Relaxed atmosphere, comfy bed.
Cons: No shower
Location: Quiet and relaxing
Our room was lovely but it had all these Greek statues around and we were afraid of bumping and breaking. I much prefer a shower but there was only a bath in the Green Room. Also I ran a bath and had to get help to get in but there was no cold water attached to the bath so we filled the kettle and used that to cool the bath. Otherwise the food was great, they gave us directions to a village where we could have dinner and that was good. As it was a warm day we opened the window and had to get passed the double glazing to get some fresh air.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hectorfrom Erskine

excellent hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here .The room was very clean and there was tea and coffee facilities also the owners had left a small decanter of home made sherry and homemade cake for us to try. They were both very good.The welcome was very friendly and Fredrick the owner was very helpful with directions if we were going out somewhere locally. All in all it was a lovely hotel where we would not hewitate to return to if we are ever in the area again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom North Wales

A little piece of paradise in York!

Posted Mar 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Words almost fail me! We stayed in the cottage and it is stunning, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.We were greeted by Frederick who is a real character and a true gent,he was extememly welcoming and helpful telling us about where we could eat and places to visit.The choice of breakfast was fantastic and we can highly recommend the full English. We can't wait to stay again.truly idyllic.