Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from croydon sth london

reasonably priced hotel,for a great trip to amazin

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: reasonable rates,proberbly due to the location,but as stated there is a park and ride just down the road
Location: york is amazing,well worth a visit
nice hotel,great and pleasant staff,although a fair way from town centre there is a park and ride service just down the road although limited times,so no late night service,only complaint about the hotel is that the room was very hot and the windows screwed shut which meant we had to have the fan on all night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Mouldy

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Very poor cleaning- rooms weren't vacuumed in 5 day stay and bathrooms stank of mould. Had to change rooms afters rain one night because of stench of mould. Pillows rock hard- couldn't provide with softer so had to buy our own after a sleepless night. Bar and restaurant prices outrageous. No hot water pressure, creaking floorboards, ripped carpet, scuffed and dirty walls. Needs a complete overhaul.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hampshire, uk

Horrible experience

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: The grassy area and seating in front of hotel was nice.
Cons: See review. Hot rooms, staff attitude, maintenance..
Location: York 15 mins away also there are a couple of good shopping malls, the new one where John Lewis is located was very nice.
Beware Expedia description "climate control". There is NO A/C in the rooms, the windows open just a few inches and apparently climate control refers to a small and old desk fan you can find in the wardrobe. The public spaces are indeed air conditioned on floors 0 and 1 but floor 2 (top floor) corridors were warm and our room (309) was like an oven. Lady at reception told us there was nothing she could do about the warm room and no we could not have a room on the cooler floors due to a wedding. She also said the Expedia description is inaccurate as they do not have climate control but she could give us some water bottles. Our request for a 3rd towel (3 guests only 2 towels!) had to be repeated before anyone took action. Check-in and check-out was efficient but receptionist was uninterested and certainly not warm or friendly. Generally hotel maintenance looked "shabby" and the camera like device (motion sensor) in corner of our room blinking a red light all night was very irritating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

average and expensive for a 4* star hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014
hotel felt tired in places, particularly room/ bathroom, not good enough for the price paid. ambiguous expedia confirmation led to no breakfast when considered included for the high price charged. location on edge of York, convenient to get to but beware c£15 taxi into city centre. reception staff helpful and pleasant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stoneage from Surrey

Good hotel located several miles outside York.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: The spaciousness of our room and the public areas, the breakfast and the grounds.
Cons: There were minor issues such as a tap that kept turning before water came out, thin toilet paper and hard pillows.
Location: Further from the Park & Ride and York than the prior information suggested. A good bus service opposite the hotel but no return buses after 7.00 pm.
The hotel staff were welcoming and the room was spacious and well appointed. The public areas were very attractive. The hotel was further from the centre of York than expected and the Park and Ride a longer walk than we were given to understand.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by metee from Thailand

Hotel close to York with free parking.

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Convenient
Cons: Not sure stay 1 night it was Ok.
Location: Great
We had visit York for the first time we think this Hotel outskirts of the city that very bad traffic.The breakfast was nice friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Derek from Slough

Overall a pleasant stay, but the bed ...

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall a pleasant stay, but the bed was hard and uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by CParr from Oxford

Great service & lovely food

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
All in all this was a great stay, the only thing I would have changed would have been the bed, very uncomfortable!. Everything else was totally spot on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by George from York

Great nearly perfect

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great clean room, only gripes were non-functioned sink plug hole and been given someone elses room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com