Ratings based on 249 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Friendly staff, good food and close to town centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely, characterful hotel - Middletons, York.

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Breakfast, massive beds and full of character buildings.
Cons: All hotels need maintenance, so whilst the decorator painting at 8am was doing a sterling job, it did make our room smell painty early in the morning!
Location: City of York is the best city in the world. Visit the Minster for culture, Harkers for lunch, Betty's for tea and the Judges Lodgings for dinner!!
Very close to city centre - literally 5 mins walk. We stayed in 2 different beautiful rooms - the superior room is considerably bigger than the standard double but both comfy with well-stocked tea trays! Helpful and friendly staff. Very tasty breakfast - my husband especially liked the kippers (not for me, but he loved it!) Would definitely recommend a stay here. We will be coming back. Ta!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chesterfield, Derbyshire

Lovely hotel, close to York centre

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Can't say enough nice things about this hotel, the staff were so helpful and friendly, beautiful rooms, so clean and tidy, definitely stay again. If you want a brilliant place to stay while in York, this is the place for you, don't even think about it, book it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wales

Friendly hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: I thought it had a lovely relaxed ambience.
Location: Close to all amenities.
The ambience was lovely and the staff friendly and very helpful. The food was delicious and the bar staff Kumar and Rosie were very welcoming. My room was warm and comfortable the bath was especially gorgeous and filled up quick smart! The pool was small but charming.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Suffolk.

Close to town

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Proximity to city of York.
Cons: D├ęcor in some areas, extra staff for breakfast time.
Location: This location is easy for all things to do in York and if you want to drive out plenty of things to do nearby.
Slightly upset as website did not say swimming pool was out of action, also charges for car park very expensive and was not expecting that on top of our room rate. Room could have been updated very poor bathroom area .Breakfast was adequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An Excellent Hotel in All Respects

Posted Dec 14, 2014
A great hotel, excellent location in super surroundings with lots of history. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We met the owners who were really nice people and incredibly passionate about the hotel. The hotel rooms including the public area were extremely clean and tidy and well presented. We'd definately recommend this to anyone and we'll be staying there again on our next visit to York.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Janfrom Oxted

Historic city centre accommodation

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
A very enjoyable experience - thoroughly recommendable. Right in the centre of town in a wealth of historic comfortable buildings
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Johnpaulfrom St. Helens

Mini break

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was my fourth visit to this hotel which has recently undergone a refurbishment which is a huge improvement. Wonderful friendly and curtious staff. Generally a great and relaxing place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Johnfrom coventry

nice place

Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, clean tidy and friendly staff.... found the car park access slow and annoying
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels.com