Ratings based on 241 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Suffolk.

Close to town

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Proximity to city of York.
Cons: DĂ©cor in some areas, extra staff for breakfast time.
Location: This location is easy for all things to do in York and if you want to drive out plenty of things to do nearby.
Slightly upset as website did not say swimming pool was out of action, also charges for car park very expensive and was not expecting that on top of our room rate. Room could have been updated very poor bathroom area .Breakfast was adequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An Excellent Hotel in All Respects

Posted Dec 14, 2014
A great hotel, excellent location in super surroundings with lots of history. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We met the owners who were really nice people and incredibly passionate about the hotel. The hotel rooms including the public area were extremely clean and tidy and well presented. We'd definately recommend this to anyone and we'll be staying there again on our next visit to York.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A good retun visit.

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
A welcome return visit,a huge refurbishment nearing completion. Staff helpful and informed.Food a joy, locally sourced ingredients,served piping hot,(the plates too.) We look forward to returning and would not look to stay elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant hotel

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Friendly and comfortable
Cons: Quicker room cleaning
Location: Central location
Comfortable and welcoming. Our room was large and comfortable. Very good public rooms and retairant. Staff a bit pressured. Our room was not tidied until 2 and a Cole of drink orders were forgotten. But overall to be recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great restaurant, room a little dated

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The communal areas of the hotel are absolutely lovely. We really enjoyed chilling in the reception/bar area at night and over lunch. The restaurant attached also served some tremendous steaks on a Friday night! All staff were very curteous and helpful. Our room (a 'family' room) was a little bit dated I must say. That would be my only complaint! Great access to the train station and all the tourist spots. I would certainly stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Switzerland

Interesting hotel convenient for city activities.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Our suite of rooms, the space, the character of the buildings.
Cons: Better selection at breakfast.
Location: Interesting walks on city walls, river cruises, ghost walks, York Minster and the brilliant Railway Museum.
Bedroom with separate lounge area meant we had lots of space. The restaurant served good food but we found it a little expensive. Breakfast was disappointing in comparison to the evening meal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Andersfrom Oslo

Sjarmerende hotell med sentral beliggenhet

Posted Oct 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotellet var sjarmerende med gamle bygninger og fin hage. Betjeningen var hyggelig og imøtekommende. Rommene var romslige, men ikke helt moderne standard. Beliggenheten var stille i en tilbaketrukket gate men allikevel sentralt ift sentrum.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Paulinefrom Tynemouth

weekend break

Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Unbelievable that this hotel is classed as 2*. Lovely room and excellent service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cumbria

Lovely hotel close to everything

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to castle museum and Cliffords tower. Loads of bars and restaurants to close from
Excellent staff in an immaculate hotel. Great breakfast and perfect location.