Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bolton

Lovely guest house

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Location: twenty five minutes stroll into centre, lovely walk along the river,or on a bus route.
Excellent guest house, great hosts, everything there you could possibly need.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Lancashire

Leave the car at the hotel and take the bus

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: It's just a no frills basic b and b which you find in the U/K Remember you don't get all the facilities of a hotel.
Cons: A bar and evening meal would be an improvement
Location: Located on a very busy road, the A19 but the bedrooms at the back are quiet. Plenty of buses into York. Pubs and York attractions are easy to visit
On my check in I was told that I should not have made a booking using Expedia. As they charge the hotel too much and take a long time to pay the hotel. If this is so why does the hotel use Expedia in the first place? After all Ebay and Amazon don't sell for free. This made me feel like a naughty boy by using Expedia, but I do all my booking with Expedia and find them excellent. If they don't like Expedia why use them? If you book direct on the hotel website and use your credit card you will be charged 3% extra. Martin Lewis tells me that hotels should only charge you what the bank charges them. It would have cost me over £7 extra. If you check the ......Consumer Rights (payment surcharges) Regulations 2012 this amount is considered too much. Remember you cannot check in between 1400 and 1600, as it's siesta time in Yorkshire
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Setonclanfrom New Zealand

Lovely hosts

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had an upstairs room which was compact especially the bathroom where the shape of the roof made it difficult to use the toilet (especially for a male). The location is a little out of the main town but close to a bus stop and taxis were only 5-7 pounds each way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S'pore

Warm hospitality

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Annette was fantastic and we felt right at home. A good place to stay if you are attending a conference at the university. The city is also accessible via a lovely walk along the river.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Simonfrom Salt Lake City

Loved the owners

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful friendly and helpful hosts. Exceptionally clean (especially by English standards). We will stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Midway house

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie & Eamonnfrom Southport

Great hosts and a wonderful guest house

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Nice warm welcome on arrival by Ian and Annette. Room well decorated and very comfortable. Excellent breakfast. Could not fault our stay there and would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Grahamfrom Cambridge

Excellent accommodation.

Posted Feb 17, 2014
We had a very pleasant stay at Midway House. Ian and Annette we very welcoming and hospitable. Comfortable room and excellent breakfast. Would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly hotel, pretty walk to York City Centre

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: The hotel had a calm and relaxing feel. Loved the ease of parking the car.
Location: Walking distance to the Barbican and the City Centre
The best part of the stay is the lovely warm owners, they are just lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sarahfrom London

Warm welcome

Posted Nov 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a lovely stay at The Midway in November. Ian called in the morning to make sure he was there for our arrival, which put us at ease after reading some of the other reviews about strict check in times. Once there we received a very warm welcome and lots of advice about things to do in the city. The décor was a bit dated for my tastes but the room was very cosy, clean and spacious. We were on the top floor so couldn’t connect to the WiFi. But with the array of leaflets and very knowledgeable staff meant this wasn’t a problem. The hotel is in a very convenient location - the bus stop across the road takes you into the town centre in 10 minute so we left the car parked safely in the driveway for the whole of our visit. Breakfast was also excellent – by far the best fried eggs I’ve tasted. I would highly recommend this if you’re looking for somewhere cosy to rest you head and fuel before exploring the city.