Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie & Eamonn from Southport

Great hosts and a wonderful guest house

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Nice warm welcome on arrival by Ian and Annette. Room well decorated and very comfortable. Excellent breakfast. Could not fault our stay there and would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Graham from Cambridge

Excellent accommodation.

Posted Feb 17, 2014
We had a very pleasant stay at Midway House. Ian and Annette we very welcoming and hospitable. Comfortable room and excellent breakfast. Would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly hotel, pretty walk to York City Centre

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: The hotel had a calm and relaxing feel. Loved the ease of parking the car.
Location: Walking distance to the Barbican and the City Centre
The best part of the stay is the lovely warm owners, they are just lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sarah from London

Warm welcome

Posted Nov 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a lovely stay at The Midway in November. Ian called in the morning to make sure he was there for our arrival, which put us at ease after reading some of the other reviews about strict check in times. Once there we received a very warm welcome and lots of advice about things to do in the city. The décor was a bit dated for my tastes but the room was very cosy, clean and spacious. We were on the top floor so couldn’t connect to the WiFi. But with the array of leaflets and very knowledgeable staff meant this wasn’t a problem. The hotel is in a very convenient location - the bus stop across the road takes you into the town centre in 10 minute so we left the car parked safely in the driveway for the whole of our visit. Breakfast was also excellent – by far the best fried eggs I’ve tasted. I would highly recommend this if you’re looking for somewhere cosy to rest you head and fuel before exploring the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by AK from Gloucester

Family Wedding Stay

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
I have just returned from York from a family wedding and after reading the reviews thought I would give the Midway a shot. The Hotel is in a fantastic location and service and comfort were top notch. I would highly recommend booking this place and will be back again. Hospitality at its best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daryl from Gold Coast, QLD, AUS

Midway house

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: Very friendly local hosts.
Cons: Maybe some more maps but that is being very picky and does not reflect how much we enjoyed the facility.
Location: Close to the river for a nice stroll into York. The wall is not too far and the Italian restaurant , Toto had great food.
Ian and Annette were wonderful hosts. The house is situated just out of York in Fulford and is nice and quiet but still close enough to walk to town. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Meggan from Prston

Close to York

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff were very friendly and the cooked breakfast was delicious. Nothing to much trouble. We were lucky to have brilliant weather and walked along the river into York which was lovely. The room was comfortable but small and the four poster bed wasn't even king size. A bit disappointed for the price we paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joy & John from Norwich

Stay in York

Posted Oct 1, 2013
We stayed in the room with the 4 poster bed . Food is excellent, Ian and Annette are excellent hosts , it is within easy walking distance of the city centre and the riverside walk A truly memorable stay would reccomend it highly.