Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom grantham

Excellent York

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Lovely place to stay, Great breakfasts. Ideal location of b & b to explore york from.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by MDfrom Suffolk

Breakfast

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
overall does what it says on the tin. Quality of breakfast was good however a 30 minute window at 0830 was restrictive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Ideal for a city break

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Just outside york but very convenient, easy walk into town. Lovely people, pleasant stay, enjoyable breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by D. Cookfrom Southampton

Good location, friendly staff but noisy room

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Never stayed here before and haven't visited the city for decades. Booked this accommodation having looked for ones with positive reviews. Our opinion: The good: Location - easy walk into city. The parking - free outside on their drive. The breakfast - good - not great - but good enough. The staff - friendly. The bad: Whilst the room was large, spacious and clean we were awake from around 6 every morning due to the noise from the pipes (situated about 12-18 inches from the beds' headboard.)Now you may think that most pipes rattle and make some noise and as a qualified plumber I'd agree to some extent. But these were the noisiest pipes I have ever heard in my life (and I've travelled all around the world). It sounded as if every time someone used the system it fired up the noise. Even ear defenders didn't stop us from being woken up with a jolt early mornings. To be fair other rooms may be better but this noise spoilt what could have been a positive experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kevinfrom Nottingham

Great B & B

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great b & b, very good sized bathroom, the room was big enough for the 2 of us and we enjoyed our stay. the breakfast was very nice and plenty to eat. We really enjoyed our stay. Great b & b, would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lancashire

Great Value Guest House

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The location is good and the price is right.
Cons: Only small fault we could find was the shower which was rather slow running - but that's nit-picking. Nothing could be improved really.
Location: 10 minute walk into York with all its attractions. Closest attraction is the Castle Museum which was well worth a visit.
Stayed 2 nights. Room was on the small side but had everything we needed - including hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Couldn't have asked for anything more for breakfast - huge choice. People who run it were friendly and helpful, telling us the best way into town etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta GA

English guesthouse a perfect budget stay in York.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Delicious breakfast cooked to order, pleasant location on a bus line, TV cable on flatscreen, refurbished bathroom.
Cons: Nothing can be done about this, but the attic room where I stayed the first two nights would be quite uncomfortable for a person taller than me.
Location: Moorgarth is less than two miles from the Minster, the Viking museum, the railway museum, and a fascinating monastery near the Mickelgate.
I wanted a quiet, convenient base for my York exploration. I could walk back and forth to the town to visit churches, museums and ruins of the city walls. The walking path was the lovely St. George Park with a river running through the center. The atmosphere at the Moorgarth was very cosy and homelike. A breakfast each day included eggs and meat cooked to order as well as coffee, yogurt, milk and orange juice. In the category of moderately priced lodging, this bed and breakfast is a really good deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A & Nfrom Falkirk

Value for money

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We found the Moorgarth to be very good for location and good value for money. Room was small and basic but clean with everything you would expect. Would recommend this hotel for people looking to explore York on a budget.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

So close but far enough

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Myself and the wife were looking for somewhere to stay weekend of 25/08/14. Anywhere within the City walls or close was in excess of £500 for 4nights. We found this little place a little bit further out, 15 to 20 min walk to centre, but not a problem. We were there during an extremely hot weekend so it was baking in the room even though it had high ceilings. So had to put up with the road traffic noise as had window wide open. Room and bathroom were exceptionally clean and tidy. Bed was not to my liking but I like a really firm bed so beggars can't be choosers!!!! I mark a B & B by their breakfast sausages, The Moorgarth goes to the top for this. Lovely herby, spicey bangers with a fresh to order breakfast. A cracking way to start the day, high five and thumbs up to Diane. So if you a place to stay that is exceptional good value without getting ripped off then the Moorgarth will be for you. If you want a quiet room then ask for a top floor or back facing room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom st andrews fife scotland

Since geust house close to city centre

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Had lovely stay at moorgarth very welcoming breakfast was excellent. Only downside was our room up four flights and had my 78year old mother with me . I mistakenly thought there was lift. Room was very spacious though for her and I and my granddaughter. Plus was at the back so no traffic noise.