Ratings based on 398 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick trip to York - just one overnight stay.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Location, clean & tidy. Staff friendly.
Cons: Ribeye steak was swimming in butter! Maybe fine (but very odd), but no mention on menu!!! No ice available - amazing.Staff friendly/effficient.
Location: Everything that York has to offer - right on your doorstep. Hotel mid-way between two main bridges, so couldn't be better.
Hotel a bit grey & foreboding from outside but brighter and clean inside. Also excellent location and lovely views from bar over river. Pleasant, clean room. Good aircon in room - just as well, since no ice available in hotel - our American friends were taken aback, to say the least. Car park a bit cramped - so get in early.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cockermouth

Short break in York

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and SMILED - makes such a difference. Breakfast was good - real orange juice and fruit salad.
Cons: Don't put people in rooms next to lift shafts.
Location: Location is perfect with major attractions within walking distance.
We had two wonderfully quiet nights' sleep at this hotel (eventually). Staff were welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was very good, although the dining room tables and chairs were looking a little worse for wear. The room was comfortable - bathroom was what you might describe as 'bijou' but surprisingly adequate for purpose. Location was fantastic, plus on-site parking. BUT major drawback was that our room (801) was right next to the lift shaft, and we became increasingly irritated as the evening went on, trying to listen to a TV prgramme, but being interrupted by a constant loud drone as the lift went up and down all evening. Earplugs solved that one when we eventually went to bed around midnight, but why should we have to resort to earplugs when we have paid for peace and quiet? - maybe i've missed the point of what hotels are for, but constant irritating noises do not feature on my list of requirements. People are, after all, paying a considerable sum of money for the pleasure; rooms next to lift shafts should have a reduced rate and be clearly marketed as rooms where some noise may be experienced, or used as storage areas. Shame about this because it would otherwise have been the perfect hotel for our requirements. We would recommend this hotel but, if coming back, would be very choosy about the room we picked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Great location

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: The location of the hotel was excellent and the view from the room very pleasant. The breakfast provided a good selection of items.
Cons: Just what I've already highlighted.g
Location: Location was perfect. Very close to all the major historical sites, shopping and eateries.
I was rather disappointed with the room which cost approx £188 per night. There was no wardrobe simply hangers on hinges fixed to the wall. There were only two small drawers situated in a unit under the hangers. Also the toiletries were minimal - not even a small bottle of moisturiser.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kirsten from Geelong, AUS

Clean hotel close to everything you need to see/do

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Cons: The free wifi is limited (not good for loading a new book onto your Kindle) and wasn't exactly simple to log into, unlike other hotels.
The staff were super friendly and helpful, even letting us check in early. The location was great, with all the main attractions and sights within easy walking distance. The beds were comfortable and the shower was incredible - hot, powerful and with a big shower head. I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lin from Toronto

Lovely and reasonably priced

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Was pleasantly surprised. Good prices for this wonderful location. Beds are comfortable. No complaints. Would recommend it to everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christine from Devon

A short trip to York

Posted Jun 11, 2014
I stayed for a long weekend with my elderly father. Hotel situated very close to all amenities and the railway station so perfect for our needs. Décor was contemporary white accented with smart and bright primary colours. Room was quiet as we stayed at the road side of the hotel. All staff were friendly and welcoming. The only thing that would have improved the stay for us would have been a more traditional evening meal, in a dining room instead if the bar and grill on offer.
2 out of 5
by Catherine from Prestwick

expensive

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: not very much
Cons: see above
standard of room is 1 step up from a Travelodge, £123 per night without breakfast is a disgrace, not worth the price, we had to ask for extra milk and teabags, we had a cup of tea when we arrived and not enough left for another that night, would not stay again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JJ from Scotland

Comfortable, clean hotel and close to city centre.

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Plenty of choices at breakfast.
Location: Within walking distance of railway station and also the city centre.
A bit of noise from the pubs across the river on the Saturday night but was quiet on Sunday as it was raining all evening!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Seekers in york

Posted May 26, 2014
The hotel is close enough to the Railway Station to walk even for someone like myself who has difficulty in walking. It was by the river to give good views of the the river craft going up and down the river. Close to all the local attractions and not far to walk to the Barbican Centre where we went to see the Seekers. The whole experience was excellent of the weekend and would use the hotel again as the price was excellent. Breakfast could have been a little warmer though. The hotel also catered for disable people and the staff were understanding of the fact. Customer service was really good and the staff were very pleasant
1 out of 5
by Val from teesside

Awful

Posted May 11, 2014
Found a caterpillar on the bed. Window view was of the restaurant roof, went to go for a meal and restaurant was closed so ended up in the bar where the waitress couldn't understand any English after repeating ourselves 4 times at the end we had to point and when the meal came we were shocked to see the portion size especially for the price of it we would of got a better meal for half the price at Mac Donald's. The steak wasn't cooked to how we asked for it. Breakfast was no better sausages were half cooked and cold. What was suppose to of been a anniversary weekend away turned into a nightmare and well should if just stayed at home instead.