Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, quiet

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Very welcoming, friendly staff nice hotel very clean and the rooms were spot on.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Riding of Yorkshire

Nice hotel, good location for York.

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: The hotel was clean and the rooms were an ideal size and presentable.
Cons: Just a bit more detail to the general tidyness of the place.
Location: The hotel is an ideal location for those wanting to travel into York, the bus stop is about a 10 minute walk and the frequency of buses is 15 minutes.
This hotel has recently been refurbished and during our stay there was a strong smell of fresh paint, the only other slight criticism was that the bedroom radiator did not have an individual thermostat, so it was impossible to turn the heat down on what was a very warm night. We found the staff at breakfast friendly and efficient and the continental breakfast was adequate. Overall, despite some previous reviews, my wife and I found the Black Bull met our requirements and we would certainly use the hotel again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Management in transition...

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: In the past, The Black Bull provided clean, comfortable rooms. The bar food was usually good pub grub and the pub atmosphere cosy.
Cons: They need a new manager and staff!
Location: York, Selby and the Designer Outlet are very short bus rides (or drives) away. The excellent Sang Thai restaurant is only a 5-10 minute walk.
Tricky review, this one. My parents and I have stayed several times at The Black Bull over the last 10 years, and always enjoyed our stay. We were therefore surprised and very disappointed on this occasion to discover that the current manager had just walked out a few days before my parents' stay and that because of this there would be no staff on site, no food and no pub opened up in the evenings! A kind but very hassled woman from a nearby village opened up each day and then just left my parents to it (though she said she had no way of knowing that I had paid until I showed her my Expedia receipt print-out). ! Luckily I live very close by, so providing breakfasts etc. wasn't a problem. The reason why I haven't left terrible ratings here is (a) I hope it is just a blip in what is normally a very nice little pub with rooms...and (b) because the woman allowed my parents to stay and if she hadn't it would have been very hard to find an alternative without notice. The Black Bull now seems to be closed, so I would recommend phoning before booking to find out what is going on.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eli from Lancaster

don't expect breakfast

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
Breakfast was not included as the kitchens were closed. We were not informed and ended up having to buy a sandwich from a local garage for our evening meal too..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by tracey from Liverpool

most enjoyable stay

Posted Feb 26, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely loved it. Hospitality was great. Food was good room was clean and very comfortable. Most enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great break ;-)

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
It's was a great break for me ;-) Staff was top class - bar - food Only one down side bedding could have been changed for me on my stay Hope to go back soon
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sam from Workingtob

eat, drink, just dont wash

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels
Landlady Samantha was great, service was great, breakfast was a decent standard. The room itself let the side down. We stayed in the family room and the 14" Telly was just not big enough for a 4 person room. The walls had damage and peeling paint from headboards, knocks. The room smelt musty and upon checking the bathroom it was very apparent as to why, the bathroom ceiling was completely covered in mould and that was just not acceptable. The toiletries provided were dispensers from a public convenience. The shower itself was falling to bits and when I got it positioned to my height the spray went over the top of the cubicle. All problems are easily fixed which makes it worse, just smacks of lazyness to me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

A warm welcome from lovely staff

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: The location and the breakfasts
Cons: A lick of paint in the room
Location: Shopping village nearby the happy haddock fish and chips lovely and access into York very easy
Our family had a lovely time here over the Jorvik Viking weekend the staff were very helpful with advice on places to see and things to do. There would make every effort to accommodate our boys with breakfast and the pub has some lovely specials on there black board. It's easy to get into town from here and near the shopping village !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice pub, cold rooms.

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels
Very friendly greeting in a nice cosy pub atmosphere. The bar and restaurant was very pleasant with nice surroundings. The food was really good, nice hearty food. The downside unfortunately was the quality of the rooms. The bed and facilities were fine, it was simply the temperature. It's quite an old building and not well insulated. Coupled with the snow when we arrived it made for a very cold evening. The room included plug in heaters but these added little warmth and actually caused the electric to trip on a couple of occassions. If the room was warmer then it would have been very good value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

black bull

Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels
Room a little tired but then again it was very reasonable