Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kendaml

Great location in lovely town of Helmsley

Posted Jul 19, 2015
We had a great time at the Black Swan and will definitely return again sometime
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Nice hotel, excellent location for exploring moors

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: bed very comfortable & quiet location with nice garden & lounges to relax in
Location: Close to Rievaulx Terrace & Abbey, & Nunnington Hall, White Horse, Mouseman workshop & Helmsley is a lovely village
We stayed one night, very comfortable rooms and staff extremely helpful, lovely lady taking orders at breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Character hotel in lovely small town

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: It was full of charm and character - the staff too!
Cons: The only thin that would improve it, it a pool, but there are spa facilities close by
Location: The hotel is in the middle of a small town - plenty of unique shops and eating places to explore. Also a castle with visitor centre, and walled garden
Had a lovely night away with bed, breakfast and evening meal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from York

A relaxing weekend in the country

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: The food was really good, the staff friendly and helpful, the lounge areas very comfortable with log fires and the location excellent. Free parking.
Cons: The bed was uncomfortable (very firm lumpy mattress). Bathroom door didn't shut, shower head too low, grout coming out of floor tiles.
Location: A country town on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors. Sutton Bank and its White Horse, Helmsley Castle, Rievaulx Abbey, Farndale all close by.
An excellent hotel in a lovely Yorkshire Moors town. The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful and the food wonderful. The hotel is a bit pricy for a 4 Star with rates nearer top London prices than what you would expect in the country. It was also a pity they don't allow a B&B booking at weekends so it is not possible to eat out elsewhere. The bedoom was fine with nice location overlooking the town square but the bed was uncomfortable (very firm lumpy mattress). The other members of our party all had comfortable beds so we were unlucky. Perhaps best avoid room 3? The building is very old with uneven floors which is very quaint but it meant our bathroom door wouldn't shut. Also the shower over the bath had a shower head at head height which made it difficult to use. Some of the grout was coming loose from the floor tiles, the basin hot tap had the cap missing and there was a spindle coming out of the wall with unknown function. Overall the bathroom could do with a revamp. Parking was convenient right outside the front door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elaine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Diane from Leeds

Fabulous !

Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels
Just all Fabulous!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ian from settle

Great food & service.

Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels
1st class hotel.Excellet food & service was second to none.Would go back any time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

Midnight talk

Posted Oct 20, 2014
We've stayed here before and it was lovely. However this time the experience was a little less pleasant. We stayed in room 19 and was awaken by the corridor door every 20mins or so till the early hours in the morning. However our room was warm and the special feature was the hotel staff slagging of colleagues and guests below our window at the end of their shift. Nice!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place

Posted Aug 31, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel is in a wonderful location, in the centre of a market town, overlooking the square. The North York Moors are beautiful and we were lucky with the weather. The hotel has retained an old world character whilst providing comfort and the hottest hot water ever!! The staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts delicious. The orange and grapefruit segments freshly prepared were much appreciated, as was the healthy goody bag for our journey home. My only regret is that we didn't have time to enjoy the afternoon tea.......too busy enjoying the outdoors!