Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Hotel with charm and convenience

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Location: It is conveniently located just a few blocks outside the old city wall, less than 10 minutes walk from York Minster and entrance to the Shambles.
The Grange is a charming older hotel conveniently located just a few blocks from the York city wall and the Minster. While an old building, the amenities have been updated as much as possible (but no lift and lots of up and down stairs), with a very attractive bar and restaurant (we didn't eat), and a comfy and inviting lobby and adjoining guests' sitting room (red leather chairs, pictures of horses and dogs on the walls, very cozy and Brit). Our room was clean and neat, and relatively spacious (for England), with a comfortable bed and sparkling bathroom and shower. It had a small cooling unit which was just adequate for us, but it was a hot day for Yorkshire and thus may have been unusually taxed; it was not clear to us whether every room in the hotel has this type of system, so be sure to clarify. The staff was very kind and attentive -- keeping our bags before check in and delivering them to our room, providing advice (and ice!), arranging a cab to the airport, and just being all-around pleasant (par for our experience with just about everybody we met during our two weeks in Yorkshire). We would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stratford upon avon

Lovely hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
We Stayed at this lovely hotel for one night in July 2014. We would have liked to have stayed the whole weekend. The rooms are really nice & the staff are really friendly, nothings too much trouble for them. Short walk into York so very good location to go exploring.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jenny from durham

Nice hotel close to city centre

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Whilst the serving staff were polite are cortious, they desperately need training. We sent one steak back once and the other twice and it was still not as requested and the starter had to be returned at the second send back we abandoned our meal! The waiting staff need to remember that we are not 'Guys' and other such young peoples comments. They also need to be made aware! Only one porter to help with luggage and he was helping at breakfast does not bode well when both the men on our party have doggy knees! Our room also had a drain smell not too bad though and the room was good and clean. Would stay again but NO food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DAVE from SHROPSHIRE

ANOTHER NICE BREAK

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Overall a good atmosphere full of character
Cons: Nothing major
Location: 5 mins to Minster....this is York so lots to do....
Great location literally 5 minutes away from the Minster and central York. Car parking facilities available, albeit first come basis but no problem in June. Staff excellent, breakfast excellent, room clean etc etc
3 out of 5
by wanderer from Columbus, OH

Falty towers

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Lots of character and quiet location but still close enough to sights
Cons: The wait staff really need to be trained properly.
Location: Don't miss the free guided tours by local historians, about two hours in length, not strenuous at all but so much information and very entertaining.
Nice building with loads of character, staff friendly but dining experience bordering on laughable. Very young inexperienced wait staff that really need to be properly trained and supervised. Perhaps the hotel should plant someone to observe the conversations occurring in the restaurant and breakfast area, we heard one couple be offered tea coffee and toast three times but none arrived. We asked about the restaurant and were almost pushed to the bistro downstairs as our best option, making us feel like second class citizens. We were tired and hungry so went with this option, we waited 50 minutes to have our starters which were very nice but then they brought the wrong main course, staff did apologize and again were very nice but it all just seemed a bit chaotic. Real shame because this could be an amazing hotel if only the staff were better trained and supervised.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK Hotel near town

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Generally all ok.
Cons: Not for me to say
Location: Masses to see in the City of York
Pleasant 3 night stay, poor service in lower cafe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tanya from Brisbane, Aust

Close to the town centre

Posted May 13, 2014
All of York's tourist attractions were only a short walk from the hotel. We dined in on our one night stay and had a lovely experience. Food and service was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Brisbane, Australia

Very good hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2014
The hotel is in a good location - only 5 minutes walk to the York CBD and 10 minutes walk to the railway station. Premium room was clean and very well equipped. Beds were ok (2 singles thrown together to make a double) but pillows were a little lumpy. TV reception was poor. Overall a good hotel. Be aware that there are no lifts so that may be a problem for some if you are given a room on the top floor. Only complaint was that they charged me for newspapers at the end of my stay. I don't mind paying but I like to be told up front that there is a cost associated with items that are being offered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Willie from Quad Cities, Illinois

Solid hotel in a good location.

Posted Apr 2, 2014
In my view this is a good 3 star hotel, but not 4 star. Furnishings tired, no elevator, difficult tight parking, had to change rooms as the hot water did not function. Good breakfast, other meals just average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Quite small, friendly, clean
Cons: menu in the evening could be expanded to include lighter dishes and salads
Location: close to Botham Bar Good location near the cathedral
personal. staff are very friendly. The rooms are good with good facilities and clean. The communal rooms were very comfortable with good local information and a daily newspaper