Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Derbyshire

Comfortable hotel in a convenient location.

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: The staff, the building, the food and the atmosphere.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: It is very conveniently situated quite close to the Minster.
This proved to be an extremely comfortable and relaxing hotel. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The building itself is elegant and interesting. The food was excellent and good value for money. A highlight for us was a cream tea in front of the open fire in the morning room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Poole

Friendly hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Nice friendly hotel well positioned for easy access to the town and all its attractions.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kent

REVIEW - GRANGE HOTEL

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Helpfulness of staff. More assistance with most things and made to feel welcome.
Location: Very close to York city so lots to do.
Not a good one, not worthy of it four star. Beware that there are no lifts and no help either. Reception staff did not call for assistance and even when rang bell at the car park no one arrived. Room was spacious and bed was comfortable - tv work only occassionally and often got stuck or played in black and white (this made no difference to us but thought may mention it). Did not stay for breakfast as a bit pricy and so many lovely places to eat close by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn, NY

Nice English ambiance

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Ambiance
Cons: Willingness to accommodate guests needs.
Location: York is an interesting city with many historic venues like the Minster, the Viking museum, Castle Howard, Castle museum, etc.
The Grange sent two of our party to another hotel which was extremely inconvenient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel for heavier sleepers

Posted Sep 5, 2014
This hotel has good character, pleasant staff, a convenient location with free parking and the facilities in the room were useful and in working order. My rating is low due to high noise levels from both inside and outside the hotel, tired mattress and furnishings, grubby carpet, grit in the breakfast and poor coffee. I can get breakfast and coffee elsewhere - which I did on day two - but for a room in this price range the hotel should provide a more comfortable bed and make some moderate effort to minimise the noise their guests experience throughout the night. Unfortunately for me, a very poor night’s sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Realreviewer25from Manchester

Great stay in a "non-chain" hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here on an 1 night trip to York with my wife, on a dinner bed breakfast booking. We really enjoyed it; both the hotel & York. Its what I would class as a "character" non-chain hotel. If you want standard fittings, rooms to be the same size, non-creaking floorboards and modern taps, this isn't the place for you. We loved the older local feel of the place, it fitted with York. Stand out was the restaurant - the evening meal was excellent (choice and quality), and also the staff. OK they didn't have the polish of a high quality hotel, but they were very helpful, friendly and actually smiled. Location is 5 minutes walk from the Yorkshire museum etc. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stevefrom Nottingham

come rain or shine

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
we went on the night it decided to give us 30 days of rain in one night.when we arrived York was flooded and the hotel was flooding, to the staffs credit they where all smiling and while a team was out the back bailing it was business as usual out front. the service was first rate and the staff work as a great team. I will have to return on a day when nature is not adding to their work loads. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to York.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom E

No lift. No air. No fans.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Two seniors get third floor room with no lift. Room was hot but had no air conditioning, were told that fans had all been given out and there were no more. Said continental breakfast did not count for us, wasn't up to standards of Midland Hotel in Manchester. On checkout no one around to help drag bags back down steps. Bathroom was small for money -except for the poster bed- high off the ground- not much here to write home about.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Nice hotel, but a bit dated

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Close to York tourist sites Breakfast included Wifi availability
Cons: Air conditioning on the third floor.
Location is very good to walk to all the sites in York. Car parking is convenient. Hotel and the neighborhood are quiet. Breakfast is very nice. Carpeting is quite old and dingy. Biggest challenge was the temperature of the room on the third floor. The room was very hot, despite evening temperatures in August being in the 60's F(18 C). We had a very tough time trying to sleep in the heat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to York centre

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Decent restaurant onsite and car parking at rear of hotel