Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location. Faded grandeur?

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Location: Superb location. Clifton Road is a fast, busy at times road. Shame really.
Great welcome, and our second visit to this hotel - so we are very pleased with it. If I had to give a critical view - perhaps a little makeover in some small areas? But we will return in the future. Lovely lounge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal location

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Car parking, real fire in sitting room, good selection for breakfast.
Cons: Find a soluion to the gap under the door of room 32
Location: 5 minute walk to centre and all the historical sites, restaurants, shops etc
Within walking distance of sights and shopping district. Private car park is a bonus. Welcome and check in at the hotel was efficient. My twin room was on the 2nd floor and my mum is quite a fit 81 year old. Better to double check beforehand as there is no lift. Room 32 was very comfortable but the 1 inch gap under the door meant that there was a cold draft blowing through and noise from other doors opening and closing was irritating. Plenty hot water, lovely toiletries, tea/coffee making facilities made our stay comfortable. Carpet could do with a clean. Very pleasant lounge with a real fire added to the traditional atmosphere and a successful stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Derbyshire

Comfortable hotel in a convenient location.

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: The staff, the building, the food and the atmosphere.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: It is very conveniently situated quite close to the Minster.
This proved to be an extremely comfortable and relaxing hotel. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The building itself is elegant and interesting. The food was excellent and good value for money. A highlight for us was a cream tea in front of the open fire in the morning room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Poole

Friendly hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Nice friendly hotel well positioned for easy access to the town and all its attractions.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kent

REVIEW - GRANGE HOTEL

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Helpfulness of staff. More assistance with most things and made to feel welcome.
Location: Very close to York city so lots to do.
Not a good one, not worthy of it four star. Beware that there are no lifts and no help either. Reception staff did not call for assistance and even when rang bell at the car park no one arrived. Room was spacious and bed was comfortable - tv work only occassionally and often got stuck or played in black and white (this made no difference to us but thought may mention it). Did not stay for breakfast as a bit pricy and so many lovely places to eat close by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn, NY

Nice English ambiance

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Ambiance
Cons: Willingness to accommodate guests needs.
Location: York is an interesting city with many historic venues like the Minster, the Viking museum, Castle Howard, Castle museum, etc.
The Grange sent two of our party to another hotel which was extremely inconvenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Choifrom Seoul, Rep. of Korea

Excellent Hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful and Conforable Room, Good Location, Kind Staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lindafrom Worthing

Comfortable and friendly

Posted Sep 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was perfect for our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable with plenty of space and the bathroom was also clean and spacious. A 5-10 minute walk to the centre of York . The only slight downside was the stairs, most rooms were up at least one flight if not two and for older people there was no lift.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Hamishfrom Aberdeen

enjoyable stay in York

Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was excellent in every way. Room was clean, breakfast was good along with service. A bit pricey but you get what you pay for. Would go again as it not far from city and my family who live not far away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel for heavier sleepers

Posted Sep 5, 2014
This hotel has good character, pleasant staff, a convenient location with free parking and the facilities in the room were useful and in working order. My rating is low due to high noise levels from both inside and outside the hotel, tired mattress and furnishings, grubby carpet, grit in the breakfast and poor coffee. I can get breakfast and coffee elsewhere - which I did on day two - but for a room in this price range the hotel should provide a more comfortable bed and make some moderate effort to minimise the noise their guests experience throughout the night. Unfortunately for me, a very poor night’s sleep.