Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Willie from Quad Cities, Illinois

Solid hotel in a good location.

Posted Apr 2, 2014
In my view this is a good 3 star hotel, but not 4 star. Furnishings tired, no elevator, difficult tight parking, had to change rooms as the hot water did not function. Good breakfast, other meals just average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Quite small, friendly, clean
Cons: menu in the evening could be expanded to include lighter dishes and salads
Location: close to Botham Bar Good location near the cathedral
personal. staff are very friendly. The rooms are good with good facilities and clean. The communal rooms were very comfortable with good local information and a daily newspaper
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelly

Lovely hotel, great location.

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Great hotel, very helpful staff and a very nice 10 min walk from the City Walls. The hotel's Ivy restaurant is a lovely place for a romantic dinner.
2 out of 5
by June from West Yorkshire

Disappointing stay

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Stayed here overnight on a bed breakfast and evening meal basis at the weekend. Was really looking forward to it as we'd stayed twice before and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Unfortunately, our small room was poorly appointed - dark wallpaper, no bath, very small bed and looked out onto a wall. As we were only staying one night we decided to accept it rather than try and change the room but our disappointment was further compounded by the evening meal which was nowhere near as good as we'd had before. We ate in the Brasserie and I had the worst French Onion soup ever and a poor steak. The breakfast the next morning was very good and matched the quality on our previous stays. On the whole I didn't think this stay was good value for money. We paid £180 for the deal which didn't include wine with the meal and had a per person cap of £29 for dinner. This meant we paid £122 for bed and breakfast and it just wasn't worth it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great beds

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
beds were amazing slept really well, hotel was clean friendly and in a great location for walking into town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Mrs T from Whitby, North Yorks

One of our best stays in York!

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything about the Grange was 100%, I would recommend the hotel to all. Staff all very professional and friendly, public rooms clean and very comfortable, the lounge had a lovely welcoming open fire and lots of squashy sofas to sink into at the end of a long day's retail therapy! Our room overlooked the front of the hotel, onto the main road, but road noise was kept to a minimum by the glazing and, as York has very low levels of traffic at night this didn't trouble us. The bed (two twins linked together) was very comfortable and we slept really well. The room itself was bright, airy and warm, with lovely furnishings and fluffy towels to make us feel very comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful, lots of choice on the cold buffet, home made granola especially worth a mention and plenty of hot options to choose from the waiter service menu - all quality products and excellent value for money. We didn't eat in the main restaurant, but the menu choices I saw were also great value for money and, seeing the number of diners there, I would certainly give it a go next time. For us the parking arrangements and the proximity to the city centre were also two important points - I think we have found our favourite York hotel after much searching!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robert and Val from London

It's a great place to stay

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the Grange Hotel over the Christmas holiday. It's a lovely, charming place to stay. We had a great time. The hotel was well decorated for Christmas and a choir sang Carols on Christmas Eve. We had lunch in the hotel on Christmas Day and the food was delicious. In the evening when we found that we fancied something to eat but most cafes and restaurants in York centre were closed, the hotel provided a lovely buffet for us. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. We would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in York.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

soft beds

Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
While this hotel is a great location for anybody wanting to stay in york and not use the car which i fully recommand . I did find the bed exceptional soft , but overall the hotel was good and the staff friendly . I would say one of the better hotels in york
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by KellyD

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com