Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from E

No lift. No air. No fans.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Two seniors get third floor room with no lift. Room was hot but had no air conditioning, were told that fans had all been given out and there were no more. Said continental breakfast did not count for us, wasn't up to standards of Midland Hotel in Manchester. On checkout no one around to help drag bags back down steps. Bathroom was small for money -except for the poster bed- high off the ground- not much here to write home about.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel, but a bit dated

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Close to York tourist sites Breakfast included Wifi availability
Cons: Air conditioning on the third floor.
Location is very good to walk to all the sites in York. Car parking is convenient. Hotel and the neighborhood are quiet. Breakfast is very nice. Carpeting is quite old and dingy. Biggest challenge was the temperature of the room on the third floor. The room was very hot, despite evening temperatures in August being in the 60's F(18 C). We had a very tough time trying to sleep in the heat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to York centre

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Decent restaurant onsite and car parking at rear of hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Hotel with charm and convenience

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Location: It is conveniently located just a few blocks outside the old city wall, less than 10 minutes walk from York Minster and entrance to the Shambles.
The Grange is a charming older hotel conveniently located just a few blocks from the York city wall and the Minster. While an old building, the amenities have been updated as much as possible (but no lift and lots of up and down stairs), with a very attractive bar and restaurant (we didn't eat), and a comfy and inviting lobby and adjoining guests' sitting room (red leather chairs, pictures of horses and dogs on the walls, very cozy and Brit). Our room was clean and neat, and relatively spacious (for England), with a comfortable bed and sparkling bathroom and shower. It had a small cooling unit which was just adequate for us, but it was a hot day for Yorkshire and thus may have been unusually taxed; it was not clear to us whether every room in the hotel has this type of system, so be sure to clarify. The staff was very kind and attentive -- keeping our bags before check in and delivering them to our room, providing advice (and ice!), arranging a cab to the airport, and just being all-around pleasant (par for our experience with just about everybody we met during our two weeks in Yorkshire). We would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stratford upon avon

Lovely hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
We Stayed at this lovely hotel for one night in July 2014. We would have liked to have stayed the whole weekend. The rooms are really nice & the staff are really friendly, nothings too much trouble for them. Short walk into York so very good location to go exploring.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jenny from durham

Nice hotel close to city centre

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Whilst the serving staff were polite are cortious, they desperately need training. We sent one steak back once and the other twice and it was still not as requested and the starter had to be returned at the second send back we abandoned our meal! The waiting staff need to remember that we are not 'Guys' and other such young peoples comments. They also need to be made aware! Only one porter to help with luggage and he was helping at breakfast does not bode well when both the men on our party have doggy knees! Our room also had a drain smell not too bad though and the room was good and clean. Would stay again but NO food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DAVE from SHROPSHIRE

ANOTHER NICE BREAK

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Overall a good atmosphere full of character
Cons: Nothing major
Location: 5 mins to Minster....this is York so lots to do....
Great location literally 5 minutes away from the Minster and central York. Car parking facilities available, albeit first come basis but no problem in June. Staff excellent, breakfast excellent, room clean etc etc
3 out of 5
by wanderer from Columbus, OH

Falty towers

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Lots of character and quiet location but still close enough to sights
Cons: The wait staff really need to be trained properly.
Location: Don't miss the free guided tours by local historians, about two hours in length, not strenuous at all but so much information and very entertaining.
Nice building with loads of character, staff friendly but dining experience bordering on laughable. Very young inexperienced wait staff that really need to be properly trained and supervised. Perhaps the hotel should plant someone to observe the conversations occurring in the restaurant and breakfast area, we heard one couple be offered tea coffee and toast three times but none arrived. We asked about the restaurant and were almost pushed to the bistro downstairs as our best option, making us feel like second class citizens. We were tired and hungry so went with this option, we waited 50 minutes to have our starters which were very nice but then they brought the wrong main course, staff did apologize and again were very nice but it all just seemed a bit chaotic. Real shame because this could be an amazing hotel if only the staff were better trained and supervised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Cathy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK Hotel near town

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Generally all ok.
Cons: Not for me to say
Location: Masses to see in the City of York
Pleasant 3 night stay, poor service in lower cafe.