Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poole

Friendly hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Nice friendly hotel well positioned for easy access to the town and all its attractions.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

REVIEW - GRANGE HOTEL

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Helpfulness of staff. More assistance with most things and made to feel welcome.
Location: Very close to York city so lots to do.
Not a good one, not worthy of it four star. Beware that there are no lifts and no help either. Reception staff did not call for assistance and even when rang bell at the car park no one arrived. Room was spacious and bed was comfortable - tv work only occassionally and often got stuck or played in black and white (this made no difference to us but thought may mention it). Did not stay for breakfast as a bit pricy and so many lovely places to eat close by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Nice English ambiance

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Ambiance
Cons: Willingness to accommodate guests needs.
Location: York is an interesting city with many historic venues like the Minster, the Viking museum, Castle Howard, Castle museum, etc.
The Grange sent two of our party to another hotel which was extremely inconvenient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel for heavier sleepers

Posted Sep 5, 2014
This hotel has good character, pleasant staff, a convenient location with free parking and the facilities in the room were useful and in working order. My rating is low due to high noise levels from both inside and outside the hotel, tired mattress and furnishings, grubby carpet, grit in the breakfast and poor coffee. I can get breakfast and coffee elsewhere - which I did on day two - but for a room in this price range the hotel should provide a more comfortable bed and make some moderate effort to minimise the noise their guests experience throughout the night. Unfortunately for me, a very poor night’s sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from E

No lift. No air. No fans.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Two seniors get third floor room with no lift. Room was hot but had no air conditioning, were told that fans had all been given out and there were no more. Said continental breakfast did not count for us, wasn't up to standards of Midland Hotel in Manchester. On checkout no one around to help drag bags back down steps. Bathroom was small for money -except for the poster bed- high off the ground- not much here to write home about.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel, but a bit dated

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Close to York tourist sites Breakfast included Wifi availability
Cons: Air conditioning on the third floor.
Location is very good to walk to all the sites in York. Car parking is convenient. Hotel and the neighborhood are quiet. Breakfast is very nice. Carpeting is quite old and dingy. Biggest challenge was the temperature of the room on the third floor. The room was very hot, despite evening temperatures in August being in the 60's F(18 C). We had a very tough time trying to sleep in the heat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to York centre

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Decent restaurant onsite and car parking at rear of hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Hotel with charm and convenience

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Location: It is conveniently located just a few blocks outside the old city wall, less than 10 minutes walk from York Minster and entrance to the Shambles.
The Grange is a charming older hotel conveniently located just a few blocks from the York city wall and the Minster. While an old building, the amenities have been updated as much as possible (but no lift and lots of up and down stairs), with a very attractive bar and restaurant (we didn't eat), and a comfy and inviting lobby and adjoining guests' sitting room (red leather chairs, pictures of horses and dogs on the walls, very cozy and Brit). Our room was clean and neat, and relatively spacious (for England), with a comfortable bed and sparkling bathroom and shower. It had a small cooling unit which was just adequate for us, but it was a hot day for Yorkshire and thus may have been unusually taxed; it was not clear to us whether every room in the hotel has this type of system, so be sure to clarify. The staff was very kind and attentive -- keeping our bags before check in and delivering them to our room, providing advice (and ice!), arranging a cab to the airport, and just being all-around pleasant (par for our experience with just about everybody we met during our two weeks in Yorkshire). We would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stratford upon avon

Lovely hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
We Stayed at this lovely hotel for one night in July 2014. We would have liked to have stayed the whole weekend. The rooms are really nice & the staff are really friendly, nothings too much trouble for them. Short walk into York so very good location to go exploring.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Saustin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com