Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Goole

Perfect for York

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The fact that it was close to York centre and free parking
Cons: Nothing
Location: York centre has shopping, tourist attractions such as the Minster and a good range of pubs and restaurants.
Stayed one night for my birthday and chose this hotel because of the good reviews. Got a good deal (note that York is expensive in the Summer and around special occasions such as the races and New Year). Also chose this hotel as they have free parking which is rare in York. Hotel is within 15 minutes walk of the centre which was perfect for us. It is in a quiet location although there are extensive building works being carried out on neighbouring properties and they start around 8am. The hotel is graded as 4* and you can see this by the decor inside the main building. We stayed in the cottage outside in one of 2 rooms. The room is a good size and the bathroom has toiletries provided in the shower. I found the staff welcoming and chatty which i like and they are quick to point out special deals for future visits which I also like. The breakfast menu is good and we chose scrambled eggs and smoked salmon which came with a little bit of fruit as well as some lemon and lime. In addition there was a round of toast and good coffee. I would stay here again definitely and recommend it to friends and family
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for money, but not really 4 star

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Have stayed at many 4 and 5 star hotels across Europe, and also at The Groves on several occasions in the last few years. There's nothing wrong with it at all - friendly staff, clean, well-kept comfortable rooms, good choice for breakfast (full English, continental etc.) but think of it as a 3 rather than 4 star hotel. It's simply a matter of comparison. Nevertheless I intend to enjoy staying at The Groves in the future - it has everything you could want for a short stay in a great city, and its leafy location, 10-15 minutes walk from the Minster, is ideal for exploring York. Do go and see for yourself - just don't expect it to be 4 star.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent place!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Nice building, friendly staff, spacious room, amazing breakfast. There's also a bar here and we watched the World Cup final here with other guests. It's in a quiet neighborhood and only ten minutes walk to York minster, even though it looks far on the map
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Relaxed, Friendly Hotel close to York City Centre.

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: The Groves is a very friendly, small Hotel Guest House in a quiet location and has private parking.
Location: A pleasant 10 min walk to the centre of York.
We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. Our room, although not large, was nicely furnished and very clean, as was the rest of the Hotel. There was a good choice at breakfast and the food was excellent. It was nice to stay away from the centre of York, yet only a short walk in. We would certainly stay in the Groves again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southport

Nice quiet hotel within walking distance of York

Posted Jul 2, 2014
A very friendly place in quiet surroundings. It's around ten minutes walk to the Castle walls surrounding York centre. The staff are friendly and helpful and it makes a very pleasant change from the usual modern hotel room only chains we both generally stay at.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family weekend in York

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Very nice hotel, extremely friendly staff and high standard of cleanliness. Within easy walking distance of Minster and Shambles. Free parking is a bonus
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JAN from YORKSHIRE

not too far to walk into York but not on a bus run

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Characterful, Arts & Crafts Style
permission to use the car Park on day of departure until lunch was an added bonus
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to station

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Staff friendliness and attention to detail
Location: Close to the centre of York, with an abundance ok places to visit. In a quiet leafy road.
Very welcoming staff, bedroom extremely comfortable and at bathroom spotless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jackie B from Austin, TX

Delightful

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Groves is a very well run establishment geared to serve their guests. Our room was spacious and well appointed. I loved the 4 poster bed, the comfortable seating area and the extra large shower. All of this along with the delicious breakfast and courteous staff made our stay perfect. we hope to return soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tom from Haddington, East Lothian

Lovely hotel away from the hustle and bustle

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel in a quiet location and a 10 min walk to the city centre and York Minster. The pleasing thing about walking down to the centre for your evening dinner were the array of lovely pubs serving excellent local ales. The staff at the Groves were very attentive and to be honest nothing was too much trouble, the breakfast staff were extremely polite and there was an excellent choice of breakfast options on the menu. ( the continental with the fruit and croissant was gorgeous). It really made a difference booking a hotel which did not charge for parking and/or breakfast, and not having to drive for a couple of days without the worry of parking fines or being towed away was great. Talking to one of the staff they advised that the current owners have had the Groves for approximately 10 years and I can say, they have made a fantastic job of the decor. Most importantly my wife and I had three nights peaceful sleep in a comfortable bed in a lovely room with en-suite shower We will return and highly recommend the Groves.