Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Braintree, Essex

Photo far from reality

Posted Jul 26, 2015
The hotel seen better days, on arrival there was no parking space, the bathroom smelt of urine and the cleaners left window opened to air it a bit. Later on that night we have discovered that the WC soil pipe was leaking. The room was big and spacious even for our Borzoi. However the hotel staff did not inform us of any dog friendly areas in the hotel and did not know whether we could dine on a bar with a dog or not so we did. Dinner was lovely and to my surprise my long drink was served in a pint glass. The gardens were full of equipment from previous event and we could not use hotel grounds to exercise the dog. Also we were told that the breakfast will be served at 7am but was served at 8am so we were delayed for our next appointment. The breakfast and car parking charge were refunded on our departure due to our complaints. We would not have booked the hotel if we would have known we could not use the grounds. Over all experience was not to bad but we will not be returning nor recommending the hotel to our friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Nice hotel to stay for Crime Writing Festival

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Cons: To not have loads of marquees and stuff going on all over the gardens which effectively barred me from one of the hotel's key features.
Location: Pump House museum is nice, BED is good to eat at for a bit of an unusual place to eat. Jamie's is nice but totally overpriced.
Hotel was very nice. Single room comfy not poky - 4th floor so good view as well. Excellent shower and nice breakfast. This was not one of the newly fitted rooms but in spite of that it was lovely - I did worry a bit when read about all the comments of tired decor and so on. The staff were really helpful (brought me two extra pillows as I like to be propped up high) and found out info on how to get a bus to RHS Harlow Carr near Harrogate. The ony thing that marred it was the fact that the HOme and Gift show was on two days after I was there so they were busy setting up marquees in the garden. THis meant I was not able to walk around the gardens (one of the reasons I chose this hotel) which was a big shame, especially as the weather was lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Lovely place, well situated, but pre-book the spa

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Fantastic room and warm service. We really enjoyed our stay but were disappointed by the spa as we tried to book as soon as we arrived only to be told it was fully booked and that we could therefore not have a treatment. Only the spa packages guarantee a treatment and there was no way of booking online that we could see. This was disappointing as we were looking for a spa when booking our break. Otherwise as I say it is a great place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York

Could be amazing, unfortunately it's not!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Outdated room and very old bathroom. Temperamental hot water. No air con. Flat pillows. Not enough car parking spaces. Stale croissants at breakfast. Downstairs is quite grand but rooms are a disappointment. I understand they have some updated rooms so if you get one of those, your experience maybe different. Best thing about this hotel is it's located over the road from Lucia.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

The Majestic

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: Pool
Cons: lots
Location: good location for town and conference centre
Shabby elegance in need of a good upgrade. They need to sort their plumbing as I was awoken 3 nights on the trot with a noise problem coming from the pipes which were very loud Food very average, but a lovely pool which was why I booked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Very nice traditional hotel, close to the city centre. Stayed for two nights and took the dog. Lovely grounds to walk around and not far from valley gardens which is good for dog walking and has a lovely play area for kids. I would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nottinghamshire

OK hotel close to town centre

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Traditional decor
Cons: Pool area
Location: Central location
We had a one night stay but changed rooms due to booking a premium room and being allocated one looking out onto a brick wall and very small. Used the pool area which could do with updating. Thought the price for the room was expensive. We often visit Harrogate and sometimes stay but I don't think we would stay there again unless the price was really good, but in general Harrogate is not cheap for anything. Maybe next time we will look at hotels further out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marske by the sea

A lovely hotel with character and history

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: The character
Cons: Dinner menu
Location: Ideally situated to explore Harrogate. Lovely walks through Valley Gardens.
Two things I would mention. I thought charging residents for parking was excessive. As I am a vegetarian the dinner menu was very limited
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Hotel nice and comfortable. Check in and check out service very poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

nice hotel

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: room a bit dusty in air, but maybe just because old hotel
Location: in town centre loads to do.
nice place with great location, would stay again. Drinks not overly expensive for a hotel, about same as town bars.