Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tunbridge Wells

Large hotel in central Harrogate

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Our premier double room was large, well equipped and the bathroom was clean.
Cons: We never saw any doormen, concierge staff, carpets hoovered round the edges in the dining room, French Restaurant reopened, nicer & chilled juice
Location: Take 36 bus to Crimple Hall Antiques, Garden centre & cafe at Pannal (2.7 miles). Visit Konak Meze - great Turkish food and Hales Bar - oldest pub.
Our room was ok but the rest of the hotel in need of refurbishment though we could imagine that once upon a time it was THE place to stay in Harrogate. Due to its size and the large car park the hotel seemed popular with big groups, coach tours, etc. but there wasn't much atmosphere throughout but luckily there is no shortage of restaurants, coffee shops, etc. all within easy walking distance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Very good location a little tired in parts

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location,
Cons: Makeover - paint and carpets warn in places.
Location: Vey central to Harrogate where there is lots to see and do
Was ideal for one night, good breakfast, excellent location for Harrogate so could walk everywhere. Hotel tired in places needs some money spent on brining it up to compete with other 4 star establishments.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N E Lincs

Leisurely break with family

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Location and view from room. Leisure facilities.
Cons: Redecoration and refit of rooms.
Very good location close to town. Staff helpful and pleasant. Hotel is classic in design and could do with updating in general certain parts looked tired, especially as another hotel chain is opening soon next door. Our bedroom/bathroom were clean and very big in size. We only stayed one night and didn't eat in hotel so cannot comment on the food. I thought it was a fair price for accommodation in Harrogate and would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel rich in history

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Glad to see such a wonderful old building being looked after and updated. Having breakfast in the ballroom under the enormous chandeliers was a huge treat. We stayed here a couple of years ago and it's been refurbished to a high standard since then.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired hotel in need of a major spring clean

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Room was shocking and not cheap. Tired and living on former glories. Initial room uninhabitable in heat wave as resembled sauna. Moved to twin room with fan which was just about passable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Traditional convenient hotel near to town.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Good breakfast and friendly waiting staff.
Cons: Air conditioning for summer is essential.
Location: Betty's tea rooms, nice shops and Harrogate's attractions.
We stayed there for a formal dinner that was hosted in the hotel so it was convenient. The room was more spacious than we expected with a good sized bathroom. There was no air conditioning and the windows did not allow much air to circulate. There were apparently fans in some bedrooms but we didn't think to look. The lift stopped working late at night so we had to walk up to the fourth floor (one of us in heels). The fire alarm went off twice around 8am on Sunday and apparently this was due to a fault. The breakfast was very good and the staff were very polite and accommodating (making porridge to order and bringing a delightful selection of cheeses which were tastefully displayed on a plate when I asked if they have cheese). Expensive for what we got. Car parking was at extra charge and there were not many spaces when we arrived. Once this hotel was clearly the height of luxury but perhaps could do with bringing up to today's expectations in terms of interiors and air conditioning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Edwardian Grand Hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Easy walking distance of the town centre
Cons: Black pudding without having to ask for it
Location: We were there the weekend before the Tour de France and the whole place was enjoyably cycling-mad. We also enjoyed Knaresborough and Fountains Abbey.
We enjoyed our weekend at the Majestic. Important to arrive in time to bag a place in the car-park - which we did. After that, all went well. Very friendly reception staff, good bedroom with a view over Harrogate, handsome public rooms. Breakfast is in a magnificent dining room and the staff manage to keep things moving and turn round tables fast even when lots of guests turn up at the same time. Astonishingly for a hotel in the north of England, black pudding was not on offer as normal part of a cooked breakfast. However, when I asked about this, the helpful waiter offered to order some for me. I probably did rather well out of this because it arrived freshly cooked rather than having hardened on a hot-plate. The indoor swimming pool was appreciated. Only slight drawback was that they were erecting marquees at the front of the hotel for a forthcoming show - spoilt the view but temporary and couldn't be helped.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ste from Durham

Central location to the town centre

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Liked the lovely concierge gentleman who greeted us.The hotel was central to the town centre. Walking through the hotel is a calming enviroment
Cons: A good clean in the rooms is required
Location: The hotel is close to the town centre. 5mins walk to the gardens and turkish baths. Plenty of bars and restaurants close by too, however its hilly!!
As soon as we pulled into the car park we were greeted buy the concierge gentleman who was really helpful.the car park was full but he help create a space for us. We were an hr early for check in but I asked if we could leave our car in the car park whilst we went into town for a late lunch and a little wander, which was fine. The lovely concierge man pointed us to the side entrance and direction to the town centre. We returned for around 4-430pm. Check in took 20mins as a hen party of 8 had arrived and another couple were in front of us and there was only one person on the desk! Room was spacious and wiped clean. There was a huge crack that ran along the skirting board and was full of dust. Looked like it had been touched for months! The windows were old and either open or closed - couldnt be left on draft to let a little air in as it was stuffy. The shower was was hot and clean.The tile flooring had water/rust stains buy the toilet and radiator. The bed was comfy but squeeked at the slightest movement. Not a bad nights sleep considering we had another hen party adjacent too! We didnt have breakfast as we had an appoint at the Turkish baths (5min walk away) on the Sunday morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Unfortunately our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 4.15 (dispite a 3pm checking offered) we had to wait until 5.30 which was a little annoying as we only had one night here. A great location for a visit to Harrogate but the new premier inn being constructed at the from kind of spoils the view. This is a stunning period building but is a 3* at the most.