Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired hotel in need of a major spring clean

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Room was shocking and not cheap. Tired and living on former glories. Initial room uninhabitable in heat wave as resembled sauna. Moved to twin room with fan which was just about passable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Traditional convenient hotel near to town.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Good breakfast and friendly waiting staff.
Cons: Air conditioning for summer is essential.
Location: Betty's tea rooms, nice shops and Harrogate's attractions.
We stayed there for a formal dinner that was hosted in the hotel so it was convenient. The room was more spacious than we expected with a good sized bathroom. There was no air conditioning and the windows did not allow much air to circulate. There were apparently fans in some bedrooms but we didn't think to look. The lift stopped working late at night so we had to walk up to the fourth floor (one of us in heels). The fire alarm went off twice around 8am on Sunday and apparently this was due to a fault. The breakfast was very good and the staff were very polite and accommodating (making porridge to order and bringing a delightful selection of cheeses which were tastefully displayed on a plate when I asked if they have cheese). Expensive for what we got. Car parking was at extra charge and there were not many spaces when we arrived. Once this hotel was clearly the height of luxury but perhaps could do with bringing up to today's expectations in terms of interiors and air conditioning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Edwardian Grand Hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Easy walking distance of the town centre
Cons: Black pudding without having to ask for it
Location: We were there the weekend before the Tour de France and the whole place was enjoyably cycling-mad. We also enjoyed Knaresborough and Fountains Abbey.
We enjoyed our weekend at the Majestic. Important to arrive in time to bag a place in the car-park - which we did. After that, all went well. Very friendly reception staff, good bedroom with a view over Harrogate, handsome public rooms. Breakfast is in a magnificent dining room and the staff manage to keep things moving and turn round tables fast even when lots of guests turn up at the same time. Astonishingly for a hotel in the north of England, black pudding was not on offer as normal part of a cooked breakfast. However, when I asked about this, the helpful waiter offered to order some for me. I probably did rather well out of this because it arrived freshly cooked rather than having hardened on a hot-plate. The indoor swimming pool was appreciated. Only slight drawback was that they were erecting marquees at the front of the hotel for a forthcoming show - spoilt the view but temporary and couldn't be helped.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ste from Durham

Central location to the town centre

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Liked the lovely concierge gentleman who greeted us.The hotel was central to the town centre. Walking through the hotel is a calming enviroment
Cons: A good clean in the rooms is required
Location: The hotel is close to the town centre. 5mins walk to the gardens and turkish baths. Plenty of bars and restaurants close by too, however its hilly!!
As soon as we pulled into the car park we were greeted buy the concierge gentleman who was really helpful.the car park was full but he help create a space for us. We were an hr early for check in but I asked if we could leave our car in the car park whilst we went into town for a late lunch and a little wander, which was fine. The lovely concierge man pointed us to the side entrance and direction to the town centre. We returned for around 4-430pm. Check in took 20mins as a hen party of 8 had arrived and another couple were in front of us and there was only one person on the desk! Room was spacious and wiped clean. There was a huge crack that ran along the skirting board and was full of dust. Looked like it had been touched for months! The windows were old and either open or closed - couldnt be left on draft to let a little air in as it was stuffy. The shower was was hot and clean.The tile flooring had water/rust stains buy the toilet and radiator. The bed was comfy but squeeked at the slightest movement. Not a bad nights sleep considering we had another hen party adjacent too! We didnt have breakfast as we had an appoint at the Turkish baths (5min walk away) on the Sunday morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maggie from Essex

Nice hotel within walking distance of town.

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Friendly feel, large rooms
Cons: Breakfast. Plenty of variety but all cooked the same so gave no choice to how you would like your bacon, sausage etc. cooked.
Location: So many things to do, wish we could have stayed longer. Thriving town, lots of countryside, racing at Ripon, NT property nearby etc.
Had problems with a leak in the room, staff responded rapidly and gave us an upgrade to a new room. Reception staff very helpful and efficient. Didn't like queuing for breakfast especially as there were plenty of free tables. Nobody there to greet you on either morning so had to wait for someone to come. Did not seem enough staff to cope with the amount of guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by emma from sunderland

Close to the centre

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Very lovely hotel with a nice historic feel whilst managing to keep the rooms clean and modern. The grounds of the hotel are beautifully presented. Me and my boyfriend stopped here for one night and were pleasantly surprised with the size of the hotel and took it upon ourselves stock nosey around and were glad we did! Loads of historic features dotted about. If you do go here then the breakfast was amazing (although a little on the greasy side) and it's also worth going to the pool and sauna since its been paid for and can be used all day after departure.
2 out of 5
by Tony from Norfolk

Close to exhibition centre

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Employ a window cleaner ! , the windows in the dinning room were disgusting The garden at the Hotel was awful , do they not own a lawn mower ?
Location: Great location with plenty of good quality restaurants very close buy
We were very disappointed with our three day stay here We felt as we had booked through Expedia and subsequently got a good saving that we were put in a sub standard room which was very tired and shabby . The staff in the dinning room were very poor , no interaction what so ever ! However the bedroom cleaning staff were lovely always spoke and met you with a lovely smile !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice facade, but that's all it is

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: The foyer was impressive and it's very central
Cons: Refurbish the shabby rooms and employ more staff to clear communal areas; don't be so cheap on water, etc
Location: Harrogate is lovely, the people friendly and the local boutiques are delightful. A walk through the gardens to Harlow Carr is well worth it.
I booked this hotel on the strength of the rooms shown online and the swimming pool, plus the benefits of room service etc which the local Premier Inn could not offer. I wish I had stuck with the budget option because at least the standard of decor is consistently acceptable, the price would have been more palatable and you know what to expect. The first impression was created when we learnt check in times had changes so were delayed (without explanation or apology) and on reaching the first room allocated, found it was a very shabby dark twin, rather than the plush double we had seen and booked. The second room available (two hours later) was slightly lighter and larger but still a twin and had not been touched since the 80s, complete with peeling paint, water stains on the ceiling and a very fetching Elastaplast coloured bath room. The hotel was full so we lumped it, but I could not have eaten in that space - I struggled to sleep on the lumpy bed with the delightful brown dust ruffles. The reception staff were professional and polite, but the duty manager who dealt with the initial complaint did not seem sympathetic, as evidenced by her failure to provide a better room and stem the issue at that point. Finally, I overheard one of the staff say that the latest HO email was "just more on how to save money" which was clearly taken to heart - no replacement for our complimentary water after the first night, dishes left on every landing for long periods, no porter on duty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel review

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Very friendly staff and good food. Good sauna, hot tub and pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Great stay, close to town. Friendly helpful staff, good breakfast choice, comfortable room. Would happily return