Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for the Royal Hall Theatre

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Large Rooms, decent sized pool with sauna and hot tub. Great breakfast. Parking costs £5 extra which is fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lincolnshire

Good location

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Good hotel. Pool area very tired. Rooms very clean and comfy beds. Room was small compared to picture on the internet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Good Central Location

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: dated decor
Location: very central for HIC, shops, restaurants, station etc.
All the things that people have written about this hotel seem to be accurate - it's been a very grand hotel but is now a bit dated and old-fashioned and could do with a major refurb - having said that it's still very pleasant, rooms are spacious and well equipped. We found it very convenient to walk into town and to the station, breakfast was great - would happily stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Essex

Grand old hotel close to Harrogate town centre.

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Its grandeur, the beds and choice at breakfast.
Cons: The decor in some places. Attention to detail in rooms (see lampshade issue)
Location: Only a few steps from Harrogate town centre.
Pleasant stay over the weekend in this spacious hotel. Our "standard double" was an adequate size with a comfy bed. Cleanliness was good except for the lampshade full of dead flies to the point they were blocking the light. Some parts of the hotel are showing its age but we enjoyed the choice at breakfast and the staff were helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cheshire

Short break

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Room, food, position of the hotel in the town.
Cons: English speaking staff, being given a good room without having to complain and the parking fee.
Having booked a premier I was disappointed on arrival to be given a small basic room which was quite dark. I asked to change and was given a lovely room with two large wi does a and excellent lighting. The bathroom was very unusual. The toilet was so high I could not reach the floor, the side of the bath was also high but the hand basin was disproportionately shirt! The room was very clean. The food was excellent but watch the plates as they are so hot. Breakfast was good but it is difficult to ask for anything in the restaurant as so few of the staff appear to speak English.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Hemel Hempstead

Unclean and out of date. Avoid!

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Room 138 had been nicely refurbished.
Cons: Including room 138, everything could be improved.
Location: Location excellent for bars and shops in Harrogate.
Room 212 is a disaster. Filthy wallpaper, dirt around the fixtures and fittings and the most disgusting radiator in history. Upon a complaint we were given a new room (138 which was nice) and promised a partial refund - by Carolina (Duty Manager perhaps?). This was organised in the short term to our relative satisfaction but the third party arrangement with Expedia seemed to be lost on the hotel staff and the fact we had pre-paid was missed. Thus, it was virtually impossible to obtain the promised partial refund, and when it did come it was at a lesser level to that promised so as the hotel did not lose out in their relationship with Expedia! Carolina was the helpful member of staff that we were impressed by (some others on front desk were very cheerful too), but alas, she alone cannot secure them even a moderately good review. The pool (relative USP in Harrogate) and changing rooms are also to be avoided due to being unclean and dated.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Too Hot, Bad Service, Poor Show

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed for 4 nights in October. With the heating turned off and both windows open 24/7 my room was still like a sauna. Poor service to. :-(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with a spa.

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: The spa
Lovely hotel, great staff!mwill defiantly return!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Newcastle

Faded grandeur more faded than grand in rooms

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Reception area and setting lovely. Unfortunately room and bathroom in need of update and refurbishment. Loo didn't flush well all looking a bit tired. Had a lovely stay in Harrogate and was only there one night didn't eat in hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom yorkshire

Dated..Old..

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Very impressed with the downstairs , beautiful decor and looks very grand. Sadly the same can't be said for the rooms. We did see 3 of them because the first and second room we were showed were dismal old fashion and smelly.. unfortunately by the time we were shown the 3 room we had given up hope and just accepted it. It was marginally better than the first two but the bed and pillows were awful and the shower was cold. Not impressed for £140.00 a night. We expect a certain amount of luxury for that price.. Just wanted to go home to my lovely bedroom and its free... Sorry would not recommend to anyone.