Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Tony from Norfolk

Close to exhibition centre

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Employ a window cleaner ! , the windows in the dinning room were disgusting The garden at the Hotel was awful , do they not own a lawn mower ?
Location: Great location with plenty of good quality restaurants very close buy
We were very disappointed with our three day stay here We felt as we had booked through Expedia and subsequently got a good saving that we were put in a sub standard room which was very tired and shabby . The staff in the dinning room were very poor , no interaction what so ever ! However the bedroom cleaning staff were lovely always spoke and met you with a lovely smile !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice facade, but that's all it is

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: The foyer was impressive and it's very central
Cons: Refurbish the shabby rooms and employ more staff to clear communal areas; don't be so cheap on water, etc
Location: Harrogate is lovely, the people friendly and the local boutiques are delightful. A walk through the gardens to Harlow Carr is well worth it.
I booked this hotel on the strength of the rooms shown online and the swimming pool, plus the benefits of room service etc which the local Premier Inn could not offer. I wish I had stuck with the budget option because at least the standard of decor is consistently acceptable, the price would have been more palatable and you know what to expect. The first impression was created when we learnt check in times had changes so were delayed (without explanation or apology) and on reaching the first room allocated, found it was a very shabby dark twin, rather than the plush double we had seen and booked. The second room available (two hours later) was slightly lighter and larger but still a twin and had not been touched since the 80s, complete with peeling paint, water stains on the ceiling and a very fetching Elastaplast coloured bath room. The hotel was full so we lumped it, but I could not have eaten in that space - I struggled to sleep on the lumpy bed with the delightful brown dust ruffles. The reception staff were professional and polite, but the duty manager who dealt with the initial complaint did not seem sympathetic, as evidenced by her failure to provide a better room and stem the issue at that point. Finally, I overheard one of the staff say that the latest HO email was "just more on how to save money" which was clearly taken to heart - no replacement for our complimentary water after the first night, dishes left on every landing for long periods, no porter on duty.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice facade, but that's all it is

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: The foyer was impressive and it's very central
Cons: Refurbish the shabby rooms and employ more staff to clear communal areas; don't be so cheap on water, etc
Location: Harrogate is lovely, the people friendly and the local boutiques are delightful. A walk through the gardens to Harlow Carr is well worth it.
I booked this hotel on the strength of the rooms shown online and the swimming pool, plus the benefits of room service etc which the local Premier Inn could not offer. I wish I had stuck with the budget option because at least the standard of decor is consistently acceptable, the price would have been more palatable and you know what to expect. The first impression was created when we learnt check in times had changes so were delayed (without explanation or apology) and on reaching the first room allocated, found it was a very shabby dark twin, rather than the plush double we had seen and booked. The second room available (two hours later) was slightly lighter and larger but still a twin and had not been touched since the 80s, complete with peeling paint, water stains on the ceiling and a very fetching Elastaplast coloured bath room. The hotel was full so we lumped it, but I could not have eaten in that space - I struggled to sleep on the lumpy bed with the delightful brown dust ruffles. The reception staff were professional and polite, but the duty manager who dealt with the initial complaint did not seem sympathetic, as evidenced by her failure to provide a better room and stem the issue at that point. Finally, I overheard one of the staff say that the latest HO email was "just more on how to save money" which was clearly taken to heart - no replacement for our complimentary water after the first night, dishes left on every landing for long periods, no porter on duty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel review

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Very friendly staff and good food. Good sauna, hot tub and pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Great stay, close to town. Friendly helpful staff, good breakfast choice, comfortable room. Would happily return
2 out of 5
by Nye from suffolk

Close to town centre

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Lots the list could go on.....
Location: The location was the only thing that was good . Lots of great places to eat.
What the hotel looked like on the internet , was not at all what it was like especially the rooms. What room i thought i had booked was nothing like what we got. The room was drab, paintwork was all chipped. Bathroom was like something from the 70s and stank of urine. The swimming pool was like something from butlins , not at all what it looked like on the gallary pictures , and the saunas were separate. So me and my Husband couldnt even sauna together. Very dissappionted. Did mention this to the hotel staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in central Harrogate

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Pros: Character
Very nice hotel large clean rooms. Very old building but the furnishings are superb. I'd stay again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by colin smith from hull

great hotel

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
spot on
2 out of 5
by Q & E from Madeira

Not so Majestic

Posted Dec 18, 2013
We arrived at the hotel to be given a room which was already in use by other guests. The second room we were allocated was small and cramped, the upholstery on the chair had holes in it, the bath was tiny, the bathroom was freezing and had no curtains or blind so the cold wind came in through the old metal window frame. The TV was right next to the side of the bed so you couldn't watch it and the wardrobe felt like it was going to fall over when you tried to open or close the doors. As it was late and the hotel was full due to all the Christmas parties we stayed in the room but moved the next day. Although the next room was much better it was very tired and very used looking and in need of redecorating. The bed (and the one in the other room) was sagging in the middle and far too soft. The shower was dreadful - no power, tiny shower head and luke warm water. Not one day during our stay either for a bath or shower was there any actually hot water. Every day the key card for the room stopped working after lunchtime and every day we were assured it wouldn't happen again. As we we were on the 4th floor at the end of the corridor it was a real pain. The swimming pool area is in a freezing cold annex, the changing rooms looked more like public swimming pool ones and were tatty and cold. The Jacuzzi was in a totally dark corner area, had just luke warm water not hot as you would expect and was closed off for some of the stay. The breakfast was not bad.