Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.K

Busy hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2014
We were initially allocated a dreadful room, a view of a roof not the garden as promised .Eventually moved to a better room, bot the decor was tired, the window frames had mould and had not been painted for many years.The bathroom window would not open and had nofan. The breakfast was below standard, although the staff tried there best. On the whole a very disappointing stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North Yorks

Old hotel hanging on to its past,good location

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Location and quiet area
Cons: Mainly structural but that would cost too much
Location: Quiet location on Swan Rd, very close to best area of Harrogate I.e. Montpellier, Valley Gardens etc.
Stayed here a couple of times mainly due to its location near centre of Harrogate and Montpellier area. It's old and large and although many bedrooms improved old fixtures and fittings like windows, very creaky floors and no air conditioning make it feel dated. It claims nice gardens but at rear of hotel it's just a rough grass area and large gravel car park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good location. Plenty of character

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Location was good. Plenty of character
Cons: They need to provide free internet.
Location: Near enough to town but because it stands in its own grounds feels like it's not if that makes sense. Near to lovely valley gardens. Close to theatre.
Impressive from outside. Staff very nice. Our room was quite enough, clean and spacious. Very surprised to find you had to pay for internet. Thought all hotels provided it for free these days. The hotel is lovely inside even though it's old. Would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Bournemouth

City break

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: The building itself is old but well cared for and has history within its walls.
Cons: The bedrooms over the bars and halls are very noisy at night, especially at the front of the hotel. We had to purchase ear plugs.
Location: Central Harrogate. Fountains Abbey Slightly further afield Whitby. All excellent tourist attractions.
A central hotel for Harrogate and the surrounding area. An excellent base for visiting local tourist sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robbie from Sheffield

Lovely Old Hotel

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: I liked the age & character of the hotel, the grounds, the staff were friendly & efficient & the food was excellent.
Cons: Hard to think of any improvements that could be made without appearing picky
Location: Harrogate is a beautiful old spa town with loads of places to visit & large open spaces. Plenty of good shops.
My wife & I recently stayed at The Old Swan, just for 1 night for a family wedding. The Hotel dates from the 1700's & is a grand old hotel. It is bigger than I expected & is set in lovely grounds - ideal for wedding photo's. The staff were friendly, courteous & efficient. Check - in is not normally until 2.00 pm, but we managed to get in earlier, which was good. We had drinks & bar snacks, which were nice, but we didn't have evening meal because we were at the wedding. Our room was large with a big bed and an excellent en-suite, all very clean & tidy with t.v., tea & coffee facilities & a trouser press. We had full English breakfast the next morning that was excellent. Agatha Christie was found at this hotel when she went "missing"
2 out of 5
by Sue from Ormskirk. Lancs

A large Hotel in centre of Harrogate

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: The Hotel has character and although a bit tired was pleasing on arrival. The staff were wonderful - well done to them all.
Cons: Housekeeping needs to be improved. Description/type of room needs to be assessed eg. ' Executive Room'. Should be as described and priced as such.
Location: Location of Hotel perfect ! Harrogate is lovely and plenty of shops and endless restaurants.
We stayed 1 night in what was described as a executive room. This was so disappointing and was nothing like expected and paid for. We had to request milk and coffee facilities on arrival and later in the evening had to request a hair dryer. It was nice to have complementary dressing gowns but only 1 pair of slippers provided. Not bothered about this as an easy oversight. We decided to eat our evening meal at the Hotel as menu appeared lovely and was described as Fine Dining. What a terrible disappointment. The food was not particularly hot and and overall tasteless. Not Fine Dining at all ! We decided not to have Dessert or coffee. The one good comment we could make was the young staff were really a credit to the Hotel and very polite and professional. We did have to complain to Manager on checking out! What a shame.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Banjo from Manchester UK

Old style hotel. Free parking.

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Walking distance to main centre & nice and quiet. The main road A61 is currently being resurfaced so this hotel is great as you can't hear the night works.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand old hotel in excellent location

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Location, breakfast.
Cons: They have a real problem with the floorboards throughout the hotel. The creak and groan constantly. Noise is intrusive.
Location: Hotel is literally a few minutes walk from the historic centre of Harrogate. Betty's Tea Rooms is a must.
Only stayed one night. Room fine with usual amenities. No view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, good service

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Service friendly staf
Cons: Internet
The hotel is obviously geared to conferences and high volume occupation. Stayed three nights but couldn't get booking in restaurant unless booked. the main problem was internet connnection. At £5 per hour or £10 daily very unimpressed. The free half hour turned out to be about ten minutes before cut off. All other aspects no complaints
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Val from West Yorkshire

Could have been better.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: The outer appearance of the hotel and its position is lovely.
Location: In a nice quiet position, away from the town centre.
Check in was quick and easy. The room was a nice size for a one night stay. However the housekeeping was not up to standard. The drinking cups had old coffee stains inside, and the bedside table and a chair were very dusty. The staff were unfriendly, and gave you the impression they were on auto pilot. We asked for well done fried eggs for breakfast but when they came they were almost raw. Taking everything into consideration we would not use this hotel again.