Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom wales

A nice hotel close to town centre

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Historic importance with good facilities rooms are nice. Excellent food and nice bar free parking
Cons: The location of room we had asked for a room with garden view or in front of hotel but we were given a room at the back of hotel and free wifi
Location: Easy access to town for shopping and restaurants and easy access to dales
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel .staff are friendly and efficient
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom staffs

Hotel below Avarage however close to venue

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Hotel was very nice and clean inside and out. Over heard a member of management rude about a customer who only needed some help and they we're not rude themselves did complain and they dealt with it immediately. I did see this customer at a venue I was at after I complained this is how I no it was dealt with( I do not no this person personally)Room cost £150 was not worth it. Bed uncomfortable and duvet was two sheets with a blanket In between never had that before in a hotel. Breakfast did not taste very nice did not say anything as I had already complained about a member of management.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Essex

Disturbed by wedding guests

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Position in the town and ambience
Cons: Upgrade of bedrooms to include aircon or other comfort cooling arrangement. Reorganisation of layout to keep guests at late functions away from rooms
Location: Harrogate very pleasant town. Other things to see around
I had visited the Old Swan many times a number of years ago. My parents held their Silver Wedding Party there 50 years ago. So I was especially looking forward to staying there However, on this visit, our bedroom was extremely hot with no way of cooling it except by opening the window. One could not open the window more than 6 inches because the sash was blocked by a piece of wood presumably for security. Result extremely unpleasant heat During our stay, which was on a Friday not a Saturday, there was a wedding in the hotel. Just below our window were some tables outside the bar. These were occupied by wedding guests talking loudly until 2 20am. Options either to swelter with the window closed in an attempt to keep out noise OR open window and hear noise, as if conversation taking place in our room. As a result we could not sleep until about 3 00am One of the most uncomfortable nights I can remember. When we raised this at reception on checking out, we were told that it was difficult to do anything as those talking were guests in the hotel. Whether they knew they were keeping us awake I do not know If intending to stay here, ensure you are allocated a room high and on the back - not just above the bar - and that there is no wedding or other late function
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver Island

Pricey hotel with no Olde Worlde character.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Everything. .There are loads of old beautiful Yorkshire buildings ,this is not one of them
Location: Only there for one night for wedding.Harrogate and area has always been one of our favourite places.Beautiful countryside and a great selection of ver
Shabby hot bedrooms,small with no character, "lovely" views of the trash cans .Noisy outside.Lounge very dingey and uncomfortable. This used to be a splendid hotel with loads of charm.Needs a lot of cleaning up. The staff need some form of training from management. We didn't eat there because of reviews we heard from other guest.Not a nice experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom MentUK

Traditional Harrogate hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2014
We were in Harrogate for the international Gilbert and Sullivan festival which will now be an annual three week long Event. The hotel staff were seemingly unprepared for a major influx of mostly elderly visitors. Every day and night we shared the venue with a noisy wedding with pounding music until 12:30 a.m. And a bar full of noisy revellers until late. We were unaware of this when we booked or would have chosen domewhere quieter. Breakfast was also a problem as the staff struggled to provide a service. Half an hour to poach 2 eggs was typical. Internet was expensive and sporadic. Lift was very slow. Our room was spacious but dark and in need of renovation. We will look for somewhere else next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Aprilfrom Oxford

Lovely hotel, uncomfortable bed

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our two nights at the Old Swan. The staff were very friendly and the service was excellent. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was great too. A couple of things to mention: the bed and pillows were rock hard, so we spent a couple of rather restless nights and had stiff backs in the morning. Also the window of our room faced out over internal rooftops, which didn't matter to us as we didn't go to Harrogate to spend time in the room looking out of the window, but if a view is important you should probably ask for an outward-facing room. The room itself was fine and the bathroom looked new and was clean. I wouldn't rule out staying here again, but I'd bring my own pillow!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Morahf Al-Bizrifrom Manchester

Never Again

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staying in many type of hotels no stars 5 stars around the world and in the UK this hotel stand out; it is tired and in need serious renovation, staff training, and education about customer service, the hotel has dirty walls, doors and doors handles you need to wash your hand after touching them, No air conditioning, or a fan, could not sleep due the hot atmosphere, food is dreadful I asked for eggs for Breakfast one pouched egg came in the middle of a large plate like a pebble had to take a photo of it was unbelievable that it was served in a 4 star hotel, never again will I book this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Johnfrom Scotland

Rather warm

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were on top floor and it was sweltering. Some relief when we had to evacuate during the night for a fire alarm!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The old swan hotel front of house looked shabby good do with a makeover..Food was excellent along with the service just generally the place need a bit more modernisation.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom U.K

Busy hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2014
We were initially allocated a dreadful room, a view of a roof not the garden as promised .Eventually moved to a better room, bot the decor was tired, the window frames had mould and had not been painted for many years.The bathroom window would not open and had nofan. The breakfast was below standard, although the staff tried there best. On the whole a very disappointing stay.