Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A disappointing stay

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: The Christmas decorations, good location.
Cons: The staff attitude, the bedrooms, the facilities you book the hotel for.
Location: Good location.
We booked 2 nights at The Royal Hotel for a weekend getaway to relax in a lovely environment and take advantage of the facilities. We checked in and went to our room, only to find a tile was off the bath panel and grout was all over the bathroom floor. We returned to reception to complain and were quickly given an alternative room. The alternative room was much bigger (family room) which was appreciated however it was, like the previous room, very dated and in need of paint. The bathroom was very tired with scrape marks all over the bath where the sliding glass panel caught it and part of the flushing mechanism was broken on the toilet. The next day we got up for breakfast and were offered drinks, as the tea and coffee was sat in pots next to the entrance, they were cold (this was the same on the Sunday). The quality of the cooked breakfast was poor and after eating little, we left. On Saturday afternoon we got ready to use the pool and other facilities (main reason for booking this hotel over others in Scarborough) only to find you had to pay to use them! Undeterred by this, we went down to the basement to find a sign saying the steam room was not working, again undeterred we paid our money and got changed. After we got to the pool, we then realised that the whirlpool was also closed (there was no water in it), we had not been told this before paying the full price to use the facilities. An overpriced hotel which did very little but let us down, we will not be returning.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Leicester

Royal?

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: Very little - most unmemorable
Cons: Decor and guidance by reception staff.
Location: Good views and access to South Bay. Activities - very little in-house guidance.
lift out of order, pool out of commission, excessive queuing for breakfast, one teabag per guest.... The list goes on, still, it was good to meet up with old friends. Shame about the decor!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nottm

lovely hotel in the right place

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: where it is situated,the look of the staircase and the relaxed atmosphere
Cons: having stayed there 9 times maybe some of the furniture in the rooms need upgrade or refurb,,as i work for a company who refurb hotels i am aware this
Location: the location is spot on ,close to the town and close to the beach
the royal is a lovely old hotel with loads of character,glad to see they are finally spending some money on it as the cracks are starting to show,we have stayed there about 9 times,never had a bad room yet,the food has always been good and the lounge atmosphere is very relaxed ,happy to sit there and watch the world go by of an afternoon.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Derbyshire

Seen better days

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The bar and lounge area was comfortable and had a nice atmosphere. Entertainment quite good. Staff helpful and friendly
Cons: Rooms need a refit as does the whole place.
Location: Good view of the sea and right next to cliff lift, shops, bars and restaurants.
Hotel conveniently situated but shabby Room very small for a standard double and bed was hard and uncomfortable. We woke up with aching backs. Room also very hot even though window open. We ate in the dining room one night and my meal was good but my husband had mince and potato pie which was horrible. Breakfast ok-not much choice and had been standing around in the buffet servers too long.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not very good

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Please do not stay here no Matter what the price. It looks good. But that's all a front You will not enjoy it was extremely poor and the worst hotel I have ever exsperianced
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom W

Nice hotel perfectly located to the beach and bars

Posted Sep 3, 2014
The hotel is nice and clean and located centrally to everything Scarborough has to offer. It's on the main strip for the night life but no trouble or loud noise at all. We stayed in room 437 which was clean and pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom staffordshire

Hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Good location and clean, breakfast good.
Cons: Staff could be welcoming and more helpful.
Location: Close to shops and beach plenty of good places to eat.
Hotel rooms basic but clean, good location for shops and beach. Breakfast was very good. Hotel staff at reception could have been better very cold and not welcoming or helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom edinburgh

lovely old grand hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: breakfast excellent. staff very friendly and helpful. VG location
Cons: evening entertainment could be longer - 45 minutes seems a bit short! Couldn't believe they wanted you to pay to use the spa! Should incl in room rate
Location: Elevated position so great views to south bay. Just next to cliff railway, so can use that to go to front or walk through nice park
Stayed for just 2 nights at end of August. Hotel better than the reviews suggested it might be. It must have been so grand in its day. We didn't have evening meal at the hotel but breakfast was very good indeed. Gluten free toast on request. Our room was not in a good location - no view, just walls of the hotel, but we hadn't paid for a sea view. Would if we stayed here again. Excellent location - very close to the town and cliff railway.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Very disappointed . Have stayed before and was happy but hotel gone down hill. Bathroom was dirty, pool facilities filthy and extra cost even though as resident . Won't stay again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by The Yorkiesfrom Huddersfield

location good but ....

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
extremely small room on a slope. Single room with double bed and no where to move. Main light in room had 2 bulbs lit and poor dressing table lamp meant you were unable to read at all.Shower fitting coming off wall so darn't use the shower. Good TV. Not going to that hotel again sadly as it used to be good - will not be recommending to anybody.