Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom manchester

Pleasant and cheap

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Cheap, food, foyer reception
Cons: Heating, carpets, locking the spa when it's closed.
Pool was bad but the majority of the staff were nice, basic comfy clean room, well work under 45 for two including breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Royal Hotel is well-positioned for South Bay attra

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Entrance area, dining/entertainment areas and staff.
Cons: Upgrade required of Room 247 for a start.
Location: Good location for South Bay.
Beautiful entrance and staircase at The Royal Hotel, Scarborough. Helpful and efficient staff. Good buffet breakfasts. Our room (247) disappointingly basic, bathroom being particularly so. Evening entertainment good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A disappointing stay

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: The Christmas decorations, good location.
Cons: The staff attitude, the bedrooms, the facilities you book the hotel for.
Location: Good location.
We booked 2 nights at The Royal Hotel for a weekend getaway to relax in a lovely environment and take advantage of the facilities. We checked in and went to our room, only to find a tile was off the bath panel and grout was all over the bathroom floor. We returned to reception to complain and were quickly given an alternative room. The alternative room was much bigger (family room) which was appreciated however it was, like the previous room, very dated and in need of paint. The bathroom was very tired with scrape marks all over the bath where the sliding glass panel caught it and part of the flushing mechanism was broken on the toilet. The next day we got up for breakfast and were offered drinks, as the tea and coffee was sat in pots next to the entrance, they were cold (this was the same on the Sunday). The quality of the cooked breakfast was poor and after eating little, we left. On Saturday afternoon we got ready to use the pool and other facilities (main reason for booking this hotel over others in Scarborough) only to find you had to pay to use them! Undeterred by this, we went down to the basement to find a sign saying the steam room was not working, again undeterred we paid our money and got changed. After we got to the pool, we then realised that the whirlpool was also closed (there was no water in it), we had not been told this before paying the full price to use the facilities. An overpriced hotel which did very little but let us down, we will not be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sarahfrom Middlesbrough

Another great stay

Posted Nov 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Repeat visit. Staff just as helpful and friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Leicester

Royal?

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: Very little - most unmemorable
Cons: Decor and guidance by reception staff.
Location: Good views and access to South Bay. Activities - very little in-house guidance.
lift out of order, pool out of commission, excessive queuing for breakfast, one teabag per guest.... The list goes on, still, it was good to meet up with old friends. Shame about the decor!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lisafrom houghton le spring

would not stay here again

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very unhelpful staff and poor quality food for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sarahfrom Middlesbrough

Great location and service

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Restaurant staff really knowledgeable about gluten free food. 'Irena' (not sure on spelling!) who works on reception was particularly helpful and friendly - remembering me on my next visit. Have since stayed again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nottm

lovely hotel in the right place

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: where it is situated,the look of the staircase and the relaxed atmosphere
Cons: having stayed there 9 times maybe some of the furniture in the rooms need upgrade or refurb,,as i work for a company who refurb hotels i am aware this
Location: the location is spot on ,close to the town and close to the beach
the royal is a lovely old hotel with loads of character,glad to see they are finally spending some money on it as the cracks are starting to show,we have stayed there about 9 times,never had a bad room yet,the food has always been good and the lounge atmosphere is very relaxed ,happy to sit there and watch the world go by of an afternoon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by karenfrom Stockton-on-Tees

good for the price you pay.

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
we have used this hotel before and we like it because of its central position to the town. The rooms that we have had have always been clean and of a good standard for what you pay. The breakfast is o.k. but I would recommend that you take your own preferred tea bags as the ones that the hotel use are not very good. The parking can be a bit of a nightmare and if you are not lucky enough to get a spot in the £3 sections then you can end up paying upto £10 for the long stay car park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Angela

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com