Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nottm

lovely hotel in the right place

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: where it is situated,the look of the staircase and the relaxed atmosphere
Cons: having stayed there 9 times maybe some of the furniture in the rooms need upgrade or refurb,,as i work for a company who refurb hotels i am aware this
Location: the location is spot on ,close to the town and close to the beach
the royal is a lovely old hotel with loads of character,glad to see they are finally spending some money on it as the cracks are starting to show,we have stayed there about 9 times,never had a bad room yet,the food has always been good and the lounge atmosphere is very relaxed ,happy to sit there and watch the world go by of an afternoon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Seen better days

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The bar and lounge area was comfortable and had a nice atmosphere. Entertainment quite good. Staff helpful and friendly
Cons: Rooms need a refit as does the whole place.
Location: Good view of the sea and right next to cliff lift, shops, bars and restaurants.
Hotel conveniently situated but shabby Room very small for a standard double and bed was hard and uncomfortable. We woke up with aching backs. Room also very hot even though window open. We ate in the dining room one night and my meal was good but my husband had mince and potato pie which was horrible. Breakfast ok-not much choice and had been standing around in the buffet servers too long.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not very good

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Please do not stay here no Matter what the price. It looks good. But that's all a front You will not enjoy it was extremely poor and the worst hotel I have ever exsperianced
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Nice hotel perfectly located to the beach and bars

Posted Sep 3, 2014
The hotel is nice and clean and located centrally to everything Scarborough has to offer. It's on the main strip for the night life but no trouble or loud noise at all. We stayed in room 437 which was clean and pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from staffordshire

Hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Good location and clean, breakfast good.
Cons: Staff could be welcoming and more helpful.
Location: Close to shops and beach plenty of good places to eat.
Hotel rooms basic but clean, good location for shops and beach. Breakfast was very good. Hotel staff at reception could have been better very cold and not welcoming or helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

lovely old grand hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: breakfast excellent. staff very friendly and helpful. VG location
Cons: evening entertainment could be longer - 45 minutes seems a bit short! Couldn't believe they wanted you to pay to use the spa! Should incl in room rate
Location: Elevated position so great views to south bay. Just next to cliff railway, so can use that to go to front or walk through nice park
Stayed for just 2 nights at end of August. Hotel better than the reviews suggested it might be. It must have been so grand in its day. We didn't have evening meal at the hotel but breakfast was very good indeed. Gluten free toast on request. Our room was not in a good location - no view, just walls of the hotel, but we hadn't paid for a sea view. Would if we stayed here again. Excellent location - very close to the town and cliff railway.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Very disappointed . Have stayed before and was happy but hotel gone down hill. Bathroom was dirty, pool facilities filthy and extra cost even though as resident . Won't stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better somewhere else

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Ok but do not need evening entertainment to be included in my payment
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birkenshaw, West Yorks.

Adequate budget hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Grand old staircase and charm of the place harking back to former glory days. Breakfasts - plenty and very nice. Bar prices reasonable.
Cons: More staff and customer care training. Add little extras like soaps/gels in bathrooms. Staff the leisure centre during opening and don't charge guests
Location: Great prime location, handy for shops and beach, promenade.
Room recently refurbished but small, not a problem if you are only there for one or two nights but a bit inconvenient when you are staying for 8 nights. A small wardrobe but not room for a chest of drawers so most of our clothes remained in the suitcase under the bed. No soaps or shower gel in bathroom, unusual even for a budget hotel, so take some with you. Staff are mostly friendly with one or two exceptions in need of customer care training or a different job! Breakfasts were good, a buffet with all the usual stuff, very nice if you get there early, and those that complained were leaving it till later when some of the food was drying out under the heat lamps and there was a queue to get in, no such problems between 730 and 815 every morning. You have to pay extra for the pool and spa - it's not worth it. The pool is small, the spa pool was closed throughout and the leisure centre isn't staffed throughout which can be inconvenient. In fact, you can't always get in as the door shuts and locks and staff at main reception seem reluctant to assist. No hotel parking but multi storey is 5 minutes walk away. If you are leaving the car parked during your stay, park it between 6am and 930am and it will cost £3.50 for 24 hours. If you arrive in the afternoon as we did, it is £6.50 for 24 hours, so take the car out after breakfast and then straight back in again and pay the lower price. In summary, ok budget hotel that skimps too much on little extras that can make a big difference.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leics.

This hotel was a disappointment

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Not much.
Cons: This hotel needs cleaning, re decoration and refurbishment. Staff need better training, and management need to be realistic in advertising.
Location: Within easy walking distance of train station and shops, beach and promenade are very accessible. Very few eating places open evenings nearby.
We decided to pay the extra eighty pounds over the four day stay for a superior room with a sea view, which is the exact description from the website. Room 422 was probably the very furthest room from which to catch a glimpse of the sea, being on the corner of the hotel behind the front facing rooms. As to being superior, after checking in we opened the door of our room to find two filthy pigeons sitting on the window frame, having got in through the open window. Upon the door opening, the pigeons took flight around the room. On the way to reception to report this I met two maintenance men who came and removed the birds, and cleaned up their mess, with towels which they replaced. The room itself was large, but had seen better days, with water stains on the ceiling and an ancient bed. The towels provided were small and thin, the tea and coffee making tray did not include even a basic pack of biscuits. We were asked at breakfast whether we wanted tea or coffee, and after choosing tea were given a flask containing luke warm water. this happened two out of the four mornings. The one redeeming feature of our stay was evening dinner on our final evening, which was a tasty, well cooked meal served with cheerful efficiency by different staff members. All in all, a bitter disappointment and a salutary lesson in taking descriptions on hotel websites with a large pinch of salt.