Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from staffordshire

Hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Good location and clean, breakfast good.
Cons: Staff could be welcoming and more helpful.
Location: Close to shops and beach plenty of good places to eat.
Hotel rooms basic but clean, good location for shops and beach. Breakfast was very good. Hotel staff at reception could have been better very cold and not welcoming or helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

lovely old grand hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: breakfast excellent. staff very friendly and helpful. VG location
Cons: evening entertainment could be longer - 45 minutes seems a bit short! Couldn't believe they wanted you to pay to use the spa! Should incl in room rate
Location: Elevated position so great views to south bay. Just next to cliff railway, so can use that to go to front or walk through nice park
Stayed for just 2 nights at end of August. Hotel better than the reviews suggested it might be. It must have been so grand in its day. We didn't have evening meal at the hotel but breakfast was very good indeed. Gluten free toast on request. Our room was not in a good location - no view, just walls of the hotel, but we hadn't paid for a sea view. Would if we stayed here again. Excellent location - very close to the town and cliff railway.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Very disappointed . Have stayed before and was happy but hotel gone down hill. Bathroom was dirty, pool facilities filthy and extra cost even though as resident . Won't stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better somewhere else

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Ok but do not need evening entertainment to be included in my payment
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birkenshaw, West Yorks.

Adequate budget hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Grand old staircase and charm of the place harking back to former glory days. Breakfasts - plenty and very nice. Bar prices reasonable.
Cons: More staff and customer care training. Add little extras like soaps/gels in bathrooms. Staff the leisure centre during opening and don't charge guests
Location: Great prime location, handy for shops and beach, promenade.
Room recently refurbished but small, not a problem if you are only there for one or two nights but a bit inconvenient when you are staying for 8 nights. A small wardrobe but not room for a chest of drawers so most of our clothes remained in the suitcase under the bed. No soaps or shower gel in bathroom, unusual even for a budget hotel, so take some with you. Staff are mostly friendly with one or two exceptions in need of customer care training or a different job! Breakfasts were good, a buffet with all the usual stuff, very nice if you get there early, and those that complained were leaving it till later when some of the food was drying out under the heat lamps and there was a queue to get in, no such problems between 730 and 815 every morning. You have to pay extra for the pool and spa - it's not worth it. The pool is small, the spa pool was closed throughout and the leisure centre isn't staffed throughout which can be inconvenient. In fact, you can't always get in as the door shuts and locks and staff at main reception seem reluctant to assist. No hotel parking but multi storey is 5 minutes walk away. If you are leaving the car parked during your stay, park it between 6am and 930am and it will cost £3.50 for 24 hours. If you arrive in the afternoon as we did, it is £6.50 for 24 hours, so take the car out after breakfast and then straight back in again and pay the lower price. In summary, ok budget hotel that skimps too much on little extras that can make a big difference.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leics.

This hotel was a disappointment

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Not much.
Cons: This hotel needs cleaning, re decoration and refurbishment. Staff need better training, and management need to be realistic in advertising.
Location: Within easy walking distance of train station and shops, beach and promenade are very accessible. Very few eating places open evenings nearby.
We decided to pay the extra eighty pounds over the four day stay for a superior room with a sea view, which is the exact description from the website. Room 422 was probably the very furthest room from which to catch a glimpse of the sea, being on the corner of the hotel behind the front facing rooms. As to being superior, after checking in we opened the door of our room to find two filthy pigeons sitting on the window frame, having got in through the open window. Upon the door opening, the pigeons took flight around the room. On the way to reception to report this I met two maintenance men who came and removed the birds, and cleaned up their mess, with towels which they replaced. The room itself was large, but had seen better days, with water stains on the ceiling and an ancient bed. The towels provided were small and thin, the tea and coffee making tray did not include even a basic pack of biscuits. We were asked at breakfast whether we wanted tea or coffee, and after choosing tea were given a flask containing luke warm water. this happened two out of the four mornings. The one redeeming feature of our stay was evening dinner on our final evening, which was a tasty, well cooked meal served with cheerful efficiency by different staff members. All in all, a bitter disappointment and a salutary lesson in taking descriptions on hotel websites with a large pinch of salt.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Not the old Scarborough Royal

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Location. Breakfast.
Cons: See our experience above.
Location: Stephen Joseph Theatre. Scarborough Cricket Ground. Wide range of eating places of varying quality.
The hotel is obviously conveniently located for everything. It is clearly in need of refurbishment to restore it to anything remotely close to its old standards and to what one now expects for the price charged. Particular concern was cleanliness in bedroom and bathroom. Lack of convenient parking is also a drawback.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

needs refurbishing

Posted Aug 4, 2014
would not use again needs some money spending on it
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from r

Very old hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2014
The rooms are very nice but old the condition of the hotel is poor only one lift for all the floor 5 in total had to move rooms as the first room didn't have a window second room better but water damage on the wall paper
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nr London

Royal Hotel Scarbourough

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: No fuss - clean and near beach and town centre
Cons: Some ventilation in the dining area as this was very stuffy but it was very hot.
Location: Near the sea front, train and bus station and town. Parking was available close by. Easy access to places like Whitby and York etc by bus or train
As we made a very late booking the room was a little small but very clean and adequate. The breakfast was very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The dining room was a bit warm and stuffy but then the weather was unusually hot. Scarbough was really nice and the hotel is situated in an ideal place to get to all facilities. I would be very happy to stay at the Royal again. Parking was easy with the hotel permits. Very good for family or the elderly.