Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A disappointing stay

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: The Christmas decorations, good location.
Cons: The staff attitude, the bedrooms, the facilities you book the hotel for.
Location: Good location.
We booked 2 nights at The Royal Hotel for a weekend getaway to relax in a lovely environment and take advantage of the facilities. We checked in and went to our room, only to find a tile was off the bath panel and grout was all over the bathroom floor. We returned to reception to complain and were quickly given an alternative room. The alternative room was much bigger (family room) which was appreciated however it was, like the previous room, very dated and in need of paint. The bathroom was very tired with scrape marks all over the bath where the sliding glass panel caught it and part of the flushing mechanism was broken on the toilet. The next day we got up for breakfast and were offered drinks, as the tea and coffee was sat in pots next to the entrance, they were cold (this was the same on the Sunday). The quality of the cooked breakfast was poor and after eating little, we left. On Saturday afternoon we got ready to use the pool and other facilities (main reason for booking this hotel over others in Scarborough) only to find you had to pay to use them! Undeterred by this, we went down to the basement to find a sign saying the steam room was not working, again undeterred we paid our money and got changed. After we got to the pool, we then realised that the whirlpool was also closed (there was no water in it), we had not been told this before paying the full price to use the facilities. An overpriced hotel which did very little but let us down, we will not be returning.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Leicester

Royal?

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: Very little - most unmemorable
Cons: Decor and guidance by reception staff.
Location: Good views and access to South Bay. Activities - very little in-house guidance.
lift out of order, pool out of commission, excessive queuing for breakfast, one teabag per guest.... The list goes on, still, it was good to meet up with old friends. Shame about the decor!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nottm

lovely hotel in the right place

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: where it is situated,the look of the staircase and the relaxed atmosphere
Cons: having stayed there 9 times maybe some of the furniture in the rooms need upgrade or refurb,,as i work for a company who refurb hotels i am aware this
Location: the location is spot on ,close to the town and close to the beach
the royal is a lovely old hotel with loads of character,glad to see they are finally spending some money on it as the cracks are starting to show,we have stayed there about 9 times,never had a bad room yet,the food has always been good and the lounge atmosphere is very relaxed ,happy to sit there and watch the world go by of an afternoon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Hanksyfrom Barnsley

Great location but tired hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
This a good hotel in a good location but is in need of renovation. Work Is currently been carried out which is good to see. Breakfast was good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Have to pay for pool

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pool and gym is an additional charge and not worth it, tea and coffee at breakfast is served in small flasks and tastes like cheap truckers café tea!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Derbyshire

Seen better days

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The bar and lounge area was comfortable and had a nice atmosphere. Entertainment quite good. Staff helpful and friendly
Cons: Rooms need a refit as does the whole place.
Location: Good view of the sea and right next to cliff lift, shops, bars and restaurants.
Hotel conveniently situated but shabby Room very small for a standard double and bed was hard and uncomfortable. We woke up with aching backs. Room also very hot even though window open. We ate in the dining room one night and my meal was good but my husband had mince and potato pie which was horrible. Breakfast ok-not much choice and had been standing around in the buffet servers too long.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified travelerfrom thurnscoe

Poor standard

Posted Sep 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed there some years ago and what a change! Reception staff too rushed to be really helpful. No electricity in the bathroom and no main/bedside lamps working. It would have been better to board the windows up rather than put up with the "view" ,noise and rattling of the rotten window frames. The breakfast was the usual buffet and fairly good but by that time we couldn't wait to leave. Parking is a nightmare and very expensive. We didn't sample the restaurant
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not very good

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Please do not stay here no Matter what the price. It looks good. But that's all a front You will not enjoy it was extremely poor and the worst hotel I have ever exsperianced
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom W

Nice hotel perfectly located to the beach and bars

Posted Sep 3, 2014
The hotel is nice and clean and located centrally to everything Scarborough has to offer. It's on the main strip for the night life but no trouble or loud noise at all. We stayed in room 437 which was clean and pleasant.