Ratings based on 679 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Southsea, UK

Elegant hotel next to the train station

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: The location; the impressive entrance hall; the pool / leisure facilities.
Cons: The room decor. Seemed a bit ordinary and underwhelming for the price - and by comparison with the rest of the hotel.
Location: Access to the City Wall just across the road. Ten minutes' walk to the Minster and all the shops and restaurants of the historic old City.
My son and I enjoyed a lovely stay in the Royal York Hotel over February half term. The communal areas of the hotel are very impressive, in particular the reception lobby with the imposing staircase. Our room, however, was a little bit tired and could benefit from being spruced up a bit. Very comfortable bed, though, and good bathroom. The pool in the hotel (with jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and adjacent gym) was a definite bonus. We had a 'room only' deal but £10 for breakfast (£5 for a child) was a bit steep (although the choice was excellent) and we decamped to try out the many many nearby cafes and eateries on the other mornings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cheshire

full of character, a+ staff convinient location

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Lovely hotel, staff were spot on and food was amazing. Convinient for your stay in York . Had lovely room facing the York wall and thanks to the complimentary wine :-) beautiful building and all the facilties ( sauna / pool / jacuzzi added more to our stay. Only negative is the squeaky bed but overall amazing !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northants

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: Convenience for both the city and railway
Cons: see experience
Location: would go back again, but probably try a different hotal
Booked for a weekend break and convenience for the railway station. Ok enough but showing signs around the edges of needing some internal investment into the rooms (dado rails removed and walls in a poor state as a result, cobwebs in the room. Initial impact was we'd been given one of the lower rated rooms to reflect the price paid through the offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great weekend stay

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: Distance for the station and the railway museum. The elegance of its decor and friendly staff.
Cons: The shower.
Location: Immediately outside the impressive York station and outside the city wall. Easy walk from the town centre and the National Railway Museum.
Immediately outside York station with plenty of eating and drinking places a short walk away. The rooms we had were comfortable and warm. The beds were very soft and warm. My only complaint is the fixed 80s shower head in the bath and the time it took for hot water to get to it and the other taps. The rest of the hotel is extremely clean and elegant. The staff were polite and very helpful. We finished every day with a few drinks in the York Tap, a real ale bar on the station immediately opposite the Hotels station enterance. We got there before we could enter the rooms but the hotel had a secure luggage store which we made free use of that day and on the day we left on an evening train.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Yorkshire

Lovely hotel in the heart of york

Posted Jan 26, 2015
I stayed here for one night on Saturday 24th January 2015 with my boyfriend to celebrate my birthday. Overall the hotel was lovely and the receptionists were very efficient and pleasant. Our room (111-standard, double) had lovely decor/ furnishings and although quite small was perfect for us due to us only staying one night. The room was also clean and all amenities were in full working order. However, the only problem was that our room was cold and when getting changed to go for our evening meal I must admit it was rather nippy! The room did not have a fitted radiator but a portable heater instead and due to the high ceilings this did not do much. We did not mention this to the hotel staff as we were only staying one night and knew we could bare the cold. Overall, despite the heating issue we had a lovely stay and I definitely recommend this hotel as we will definitely return soon......we may just request a different room if we were placed in room 111 again aha :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom birmingham

good location near everything

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: stuff in front desk
Location: train station
Good looking outside and felt ok when i stayed there for one night. Close to everything, really good location. If the stuff in front desk nicer will be better. Room big enough with big washroom.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Essex UK

Great location, grand but room heating problematic

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Public space and atmosphere
Cons: Proper air handling and temperature control in the bedrooms
Location: Right next to the station, the best location in York
It's a great location for meetings - accessible from the station platform with train indicator board inside the foyer. Big on Victorian style and atmosphere with welcoming and professional staff. Despite the room radiator being turned off it was impossible to lower the temperature sufficiently to sleep well, even in January with the window open so far as the safety catch allowed. Room not terribly luxurious especially the bathroom but it's an OK trade off if you are there just for one night. The option of black pudding at breakfast always sets a hotel apart from others in the same price band!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Lovely hotel, great location

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Well presented and great staff. Excellent location.
Location: The highlight for us is the railway museum. Also did Jorvik which is ok. Went to the Chocolate story with a 2for1 voucher - worth doing at half price!
Had a lovely stay here. Very convenient if you arrive by train as it's literally next door to the station. Walking distance to all attractions - I woukd alway get the train and not bring a car to york as it is difficult to drive round and park, but perfect for walking. Hotel were great with our two year old - provided a cot, high chair available in the restaurant. Paid a little. It more than I usually would for a weekend away, but york is expensive for hotels, I have paid just a little bit less for pretty poor hotels in york, worth paying a little bit extra.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Stoke on Trent

Not the experience we were expecting.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
We were put in the "Garden Wing" extension to the hotel. Room size and condition could not be further from the hotels 4star rating !!!! Very very disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Norfolk

Excellent staff, disappointing room.

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: the staff
Cons: condition of the bedroom
Location: Next to the rail station and very close to the centre of York with all its facilities.
We arrived later than expected after a difficult journey. Staff were very helpful and attentive and welcoming, particularly the receptionist and restaurant manager. The reception and lounge, restaurant and bar were attractive, but our room was small, ugly and needed decoration. Our room was also in the Garden Suite which was a long walk from the reception, etc. Quite expensive in the hotels but there are lots of places to eat and drink nearby. I would recommend this hotel, but with certain reservations.