Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

value for money

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: central position, good breakfast friendly hosts
Cons: there was no shelf in bathroom no where to keep toilet bags, full length mirror would be good
Location: york is a fab place with lots to do, sightseeing shoppng
had a great stay, went to the races, close to centre of york
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location to walk into town

Posted May 2, 2014
Friendly staff and secure parking. Great breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room we stayed in was very small with a tiny wardrobe we managed as was only for a weekend . I found most of the breakfast was cold you had to order it the night before but still had to wait quite a while for it . The staff were friendly bed linen and towels were nice and fresh
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M from London

Quite pleasant

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Pros: The cleanliness, rate and location
Cons: The breakfast times and also the quantity of it.
Location: Close to Walmgate. 10 minutes walk to old city centre with Minster, the Shambles and nice restaurants.
Nice clean inn a couple of meters close to the old city walls. The room was very spacious and at the back of the hotel which made it very quiet. The bathroom was clean and supplied with everything one might need. The tv was the smallest one I've ever seen but worked fine. The bed had a very hard mattress but I didn't mind. The staff was friendly but not overly welcoming as I might have liked. Breakfast was very basic and had to be ordered the night before. Getting only one piece of toast was a bit disappointing though. Overall I would come again as the location is very nice and the price is good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Simple beds need replacing way to hard

Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was great apart from the beds way to hard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Diane from North Wales

Friendly inn

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Pros: It was v clean, our car was safe and secure in the locked car park, the bar was lovely, breakfast was just how i wanted it, v quiet both day and night
Cons: Tv was v small in our room
Location: 5 minutes walk into the city - ideal
2 night stay was just what we wanted/expected after researching reviews.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian from Southampton

Great City Centre pub with accommodation

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff and a clean comfy room that is offered at a more than competitiive rate.
Cons: Parking is secure but make sure you leave your keys with the landlord as getting out in the morning is a bit of an event; parking needs to be improved
Location: Right on the doorstep of the city so all the attractions it offers are within walking distance.
Needed a good comfortable room for two nights, close to the city centre and this delivers. Very clean rooms, excellent bed and lovely breakfast, freindly staff and cheap beer in the bar. This is a CAMRA pub so lots of choices of beer. Even though it is very close to the city centre, only 50 yards away from the city walls and a few minutes walk, this is very quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Bob and Ros from Wolverhampton

Convenient location

Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Just outside city centre, pub had great atmosphere and freshly cooked breakfasts were good. Secure car parking gave peace of mind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Just what we wanted

Posted Oct 4, 2013
Pros: Liked the fact that It was a pub!
Cons: Food in the evenings would be good
Location: There was so much to do in York. Restaurants great.
Four of us stayed for a long weekend to see the Steam Engines at the museum and look round York. Just outside the city walls, great location. Great breakfast, limited menu at night but very good value.