Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Coventry

A lovely, comfortable Inn in a delightful position

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Location Atmosphere Staff Wines Food Sitting rooms Accommodation
Cons: Very little
Location: Pickering is a delightful N Yorkshire town, the jewel in its crown is the railway in my opinion but there are many things to see and do in the area.
This Inn/ Hotel is an absolute delight. We spent a weekend at the White Swan and could not have had a better experience.The buildings are old [ in the main part] but are superbly looked after and fitted out. Our room [12] was large and had a super bed - some 8 ft wide. There was a really good tea and coffee facility on a pull out tray - these little things make such a difference - and the radiators [ with thermostatic valves] were large enough for the cool weather. The bathroom was well fitted out and pleasant to use. The staff were excellent. The hotel was quite busy on the Saturday night but we had service from the staff which is by far the best and most efficient that I have had the pleasure of experiencing in all my years of visiting hotels. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was super - and the wine list was long and of quality.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edinburgh

Very central

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: The situation was good
Cons: A bit more attention to detail in the rooms would be good. The menu should be reviewed. A designated smoking area away from the bedroom windows.
Location: Pickering is a great base from which to explore this area of Yorkshire.
This is a typical village pub/hotel in the centre of the town. The rooms are comfortable, but there was no light anywhere near the dressing table in my room (2) and unfortunately the cigarette smoke from those smoking in the lane outside drifts directly up into the rear rooms of the hotel. The dining room menu reads well, but the food was slightly disappointing. Overall I felt that the room and meal were a bit over priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Juliefrom Hull

Very pleasant stay

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Very helpful, chatty staff. Excellent meal enjoyed in the restaurant, very good range of wine.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Perfect for access to the North York Moors Railway
From booking in to checking out, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We had only a couple of small issues but these were more to do with our penchant for early rising. There didn't seem to be any hot water at around 6am and we would have liked breakfast to be served from 7am, but again this is only down to our personal preference.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Annefrom Wiltshire

Weekend break

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: Service was good and staff were very helpful. Excellent breakfast. .
Room was small and fairly basic. The decor was a bit shappy and dated. There were no shelves or drawers suitable for clothes so we couldn't unpack properly. I expected a higher standerd for the price charged. Dinner was good but not outstanding and quite expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing weekend

Posted Oct 26, 2013
What a lovely hotel, very friendly staff, nothing wasn't too much for them and we had a lovely stay. Thank you all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bobfrom Scotland

Superb hotel in every respect.

Posted Jul 23, 2012
Pros: Beds and food.
Location: Pickering is a delightful small town with easy access to East Yorkshire resorts.
Exceptionally comfortable beds and excellent en-suite facilities. The food in the restaurant was outstanding and there was a wide selection of dishes. Rib-eye steaks were large and succulent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Harpenden

White Swan Inn - excellent food & great rooms!

Posted Jan 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
We stayed in one of the modern rooms in the courtyard and found it very comfortable with everything we could have asked for. We ate in the restaurant for the two nights of our stay (between Christmas & New Year) and the food was outstanding! Very original and truly delicious! Great atmosphere and good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2011 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable bed and the best breakfast. Only stayed for one night but it was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom London

white swan pickering-a modernised country inn

Posted Jun 5, 2010 on Hotels.com
relaxed and comfortable hotel with young enthusiastic staff who were very helpful.Comfortable but not big rooms .Fresh local ingredients made for excellent and tasty food at all meals.All of this set in th e lovely surroundings of the Yorkshire Moors.Not particularly cheap but hard to beat I think.