Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Simon from Manchester

Basic Hotel near York

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: The restaurant had a good menu and food selection which was well cooked.
Location: Very isolated but picturesque location. There is an outdoor activity centre with quad bikes and Yorkshire Ambulance station are on the same site.
This is a budget hotel in a quiet location. There is plenty of car parking and the internet works well. The rooms are simple but clean and there is a restaurant with a reasonably priced quality evening menu. It is in the middle of nowhere but only takes 15 - 20 minutes to get to York.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Karen from East Riding of Yorkshire

country location,handy for York

Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Pleasant , comfortable. Shame the receptionist gave the game away as I was trying to keep it secret that I'd booked in rest of the family as a surprise, for his birthday. This despite my ringing up twice to make sure they knew this was to be secret. Food ok, but no longer the fine dining experience for which it was previously known. Comfortable rooms, similiar to Premier Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by SMW from Bolton

Excellent Staff. Comfortable clean rooms.

Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was great. I booked lots of rooms for 20 people. They were all extremely clean and the beds were really comfy. The staff were very helpful, especially Natalie, who sorted us all out. One of the showers didn't work very well but other than that everything was great. I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by ANW from Ontario Canada

Nice Location

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
It's a good basic hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Poor Service.. Disgusting Gym

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Well.. Iit took over 45 minutes to even take my drinks order.. where I was promptly told that the reason for the delay was that the chef was "going mental". I finally got my food but after an hour and a half. While I can accept that the Gym equipment will not be top of the range (It certainly wasn't) it looked like it hadnt been cleaned in at least a year, with dust everywhere and dead insects all over the windows and floors. The second night of my stay I was informed that despite the fact I had to come down to order my room service and collect my drink I still had to pay a £5 tray charge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Chris from Kent

Good price, nice bar, tricky parking

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Got a great price for a 3 day break in York at this decent hotel. Parking being included was key as it's a 8 mile drive to York BUT be warned the parking can get very very congested. Staff were nice and wifi was free. Tidy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by T.M from East Sussex

Nearly perfect!

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
We booked for 1 night only as we were attending a function in York on the following day. The rooms were comfortable and the staff were friendly and the food was very good. There was a large wedding going on that evening so the hotel was a bit noisy, but this didn't really spoil our stay. The only thing that would have made the stay perfect would have been access to the internet in the rooms, there was a computer in reception the hotel guests could use but wasn't useful for our needs, this wasn't made clear in the hotel details saying "free wifi at reasonable rates" !!! but we were unable to access this and we were unable to even get a mobile signal, which was somewhat inconvenient as we needed to be contactable.