Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An unexpected gem

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything. The staff were exceptional in offering lift to local swimming pool when no taxi was available
Cons: Only only one night the food wasn't up to the high standard of other nights.
Location: Walks, or in my case runs, in beautiful and tranquil countryside. Easy access to middlesborough but feeling of being in a different world.
Situated in a delightful village yet within easy reach of middlesborough (which is definitely no for after work). Excellent value. Food very good (except for one night). Rooms clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Guest at a wedding ceremony

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Breakfast!
Cons: The staff seem a little low spirited and didn't have the corporate manners that I'm afraid we require nowadays. A little unkempt, even!
Location: It seems to be a walkers and cyclists favourite place to explore the countryside from.
Booked a family room and was pleased to find a double and single bed in a large room with en suite. There was plenty of space for I adult and two teens. Unfortunately the decorating throughout the hotel is very dated. "It's like Granny's house", exclaimed one teen!! I did feel like we stepped back to about 1985. The room was very clean and bathroom was perfectly usable and well maintained, again, showing it's age with decor. The WiFi was a joke, a device on a dressing table that you pull a lead out of and insert into your computer, the instructions said!! No use for us iPad users. Our generation wants a free WiFi password please... I wouldn't recommend this hotel because of short comings listed but if you don't need WiFi and aren't bothered about a dated look, then it will suit you fine. I think they are resting on their laurels a bit as their location makes it a perfect place for walkers to join local rambling paths etc.. You can find better appointed hotels for the same money. Breakfast was very good, local bacon and sausages. Coffee throughout event and at breakfast, absolutely dreadful! Been through a yucky filter for hours. Surely everyone has freshly made coffee nowadays!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by sjpfrom England

Worst place ever

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
This has to be the worst place we have ever stayed in, I know only a 3 Star but seemed like a prison cell, rooms were so hot that it was unbearable. Really, really old and run down. This was the only place available fairly close to the Yorkshire moors as seems the weekend we decided to go all the nice places were full, hence had to stay at this below 3 star quality hotel. Only decent thing was the breakfast, otherwise would never recommend this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by RichyJfrom Telford

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Service was friendly and the hotel had no issues to complain about.Room was a bit small but tidy.Shower was not very powerful though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by tonypembfrom Middlesbrough

Christmas

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
We booked for Christmas day including lunch we weren't disappointed the accommodation was nice but a little dated. Christmas lunch was really good too much for us to finish. Breakfast on boxing day was good with a huge choice. I would recommend this hotel/pub
4 out of 5
by Tonyfrom Lancashire

Miserable reception staff!

Posted May 23, 2013
Pros: Nice clean room!
Cons: Reception staff miserable!
Location: Beautiful locations!
Staff at reception have very poor attitude, if they don't like working there.....don't!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andy

Business travelers avoid

Posted Jun 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
Room clean but grossly overpriced room and food, uncomfortable mattress, decor which has never been in fashion, a strange smell in the room, no internet in room, no/very little gprs phone signal on vodaphone, t-mobile and orange can't confirm other networks, broken 13A socket where kettle plugged in. The shower sounded like it had a bumble bee stuck in the head. A complete disaster for the business traveler and one to avoid.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Poor Value

Posted Jun 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
I thought the hotel was poor value for money, the bed was lumpy, pillow hard, curtains ineffective, the room stank of cooking fumes and the powershower was so noisy you needed ear plugs. The food was poor, the smoked haddock was dry and overcooked the risotto was like rice pudding and the poached egg was solid...clearly been left lying under a heaterlamp. The mussel starter was excellent to be fair. I told the waitress how poor the food was and she thought I was joking!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Lincolnshire

Wainstones Hotel - Ideal for North Yorks Moors

Posted Apr 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
Wainstones Hotel, is situated in the quiet picturesque billage of Great Broughton with excellent links to the North York Moors, coast line and the A1. The rooms are sizeable and clean with all the usual amenities. Breakfast is subsatantial and ideal for those exploring the moors and mountains with long walks. The bar/restaurant is nicely presented with excellent food. Drink selection appears a little limited, but sufficient for our needs. The stay was made pleasant from arrival, with helpful and courteous staff, always attentive but never over bearing with easy checking in and out. It was our first visit to the north york moors and we will certainly be back and staying at Wainstones again.