Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sunderland

cheaper than staying in Harrogate

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: setting, beer garden,based in lovely countryside....breakfast to die for and excellent dinner menu
Cons: drinks were very expensive - eg tiny bottle of prosecco, my favourite tipple, was £7 !
Location: not a lot for children but for 1 or 2 nights stay excellent and only a ten minute drive outside of Harrogate
set in lovely country surroundings very enjoyable at £70 per room per night and we didn't expect to get a beautiful breakfast - our waitress was particulary attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alanfrom Norfolk

Very very pleased Customers Thank You.

Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Totally looked after as soon as we arrived extra friendly staff.lovely food,views beautiful Shame it was only one night to quote a famous Arnold saying "We Will Be Back" thanks for everything.Alan & Maureen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by francesfrom chelmsford, essex

beautiful Yorksire

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
we had booked two rooms for ourselves and daughter and toddler. We had to provide our own cot because of 'health & safety' issues- a bit strange, we thought! However our rooms were lovely, especially the bathrooms & toiletries provided. Also a good selection of goodies on the tea tray. Breakfast was wonderful, freshly cooked and generous. Our evening meal on arrival was very good although we had to wait half an hour for our order to be taken- an age when there is a hungry toddler waiting too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom scotland

Excellent stay

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Good food
Cons: Nothing that I noted
Location: Didn't go anywhere
Meal at night and breakfast superb. Nice clean room with good biscuits and good surroundings for a couple of beers . Highly recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tfrom Elie Fife.

ONE NIGHT IN DARLEY

Posted Nov 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Yeah, Altogether pretty good. Just there for one night whilst at a show in Harrogate. somewhat further away from the showground than the 'Five Minutes' suggested when booking, and I made a bit of a pig's ear finding the place.Bed was smallest I'd seen since Cub camp 'bout 60 years ago, but it was a 'single'I suppose. Food good, overwhelmed by massive breakfast. Staff all pretty attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nottingham

Close to Harrogate

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location. The views are superb. The atmosphere is warm, personal and friendly. The food is good honest and wholesome.
Cons: The mattress was a little on the hard side.
Location: Beautiful countryside with stunning views. A short drive from Harrogate.
The welcome was as warm as the roaring log fire in the grate that greets you when you walk in. The food was excellent and I challenge you to find a better breakfast anywhere. All of the staff were attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The room was comfortable and spotless and had a brand new bathroom. The carpets were new and everywhere had a clean aroma. This cosy pub rivals any hotel.....at a fraction of the price. I'm not one for writing reviews normally but feel that this place deserves a mention. Would definitely stay again. I'm
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very friendly and helpful staff - single beds could have been more comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Margaretfrom Leeds

Good value for money and very friendly.

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We chose the Wellington initianly for its proximity to Ripley as the 6 of us were going to a gig at Ripley Town Hall.We were not disapointed it was a really friendly hotel the staff were excellent.The rooms were basic but clean.The area is very pretty. There were a lot of events in and around Harrogate the weekend we were there and taxis were thin on the ground but Christine managed to sort out a return 6 seater taxi at short notice. The food was excellent we dined and had breakfast. We would defenatly stay again as we do attend gigs at Riley a few times a year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good value food and location

Posted Oct 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have eaten here over the last 30 years when on previous holidays in a nearby cottage and elsewhere in Yorkshire, and the quality and variety of the food remains good, I am pleased to say. Enormous sandwiches! Friendly and helpful staff who even went out and got me yoghurts for my breakfast. Minor drawback re breakfast was the limited serving time to 8.30am Mon-Fri. My room was well separated from the bar and suffered little from noise other than people moving about upstairs. Bed, as with other places on this trip, had a firm mattress when I prefer a medium tension one. As has been mentioned in some reviews, there were/are problems with bathrooms - these are all currently being refurbished in turn; this work should improve matters. I was also told that the beds are soon to be replaced as well. WIFI good in the bar areas, but due to the stonework of the building, cannot be picked up in the further bedrooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom hull

Nice rural hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: The staff, the location
Cons: The menu, and possibly the pricing
Location: About 8 miles from Harrogate
Having read the mixed reviews, I was slightly doubtful I had made the right choice, but must say, this was great value for what it was, yes, it is accomodation attached to the pub, but we weren't bothered by any noise at all. yes, possibly the decor could do with updating or modernisation, but this is a period building, not a modern hotel. Renovation work was going on whilst we were there, but didn't impact on our visit at all, and shows they are addressing previous comments. Staff were very friendly, views and location were amazing. The only downside was the food, it was traditional pub fayre, and quite expensive for what it was, that said, the breakfast was great so on balance, no complaints The hotel does state wifi is available, but it was so sporadic, that I couldn't get on line...that said, it forced me to actually interract with people like the good old days, so no worries for me If your wanting am out of town location (close by to all local attractions) then this his would be for you, I would stay here again, and recommend it