Ratings based on 450 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Family stay

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Great location, huge family room, great staff, kids loved the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from perth

Nice hotel away from the bustle, good breakfast.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Nice large rooms overlooking the racecourse.
Cons: The seats in the room were either very low or swivel chairs, something more comfortable would be good, also two of them.
Location: Very good location, plenty to do in York and district.
Enjoyed a short break to celebrate my Mother and Fathers Diamond wedding. A bottle of champagne was delivered to their room with compliments of the Hotel, very nice of them .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Dear Gow Many thanks for your fantastic feedback. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and congratulations to your Mother and Father. I hope we can weclome you back soon. Kindest regards Mark Leyland.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the marriott standard expected

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Rude receptionist Smell of wee in the bathroom Old and dated Not enough staff serving during breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Dear Guest I am very sorry that we did not exceed your expectations. I will be sure to look into this further. Kindest regards Mark Leyland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Pleasant Stay despite one or two minor irritations

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: In the main the staff were friendly and helpful, especially the Restaurant/Bar Manager who was always polite and cheerful.
Cons: See overall experience above re Reception Staff.
Location: The Minster is a must; a magnificent building with a wonderful history. An open deck bus tour gives a good overview of the City and its history.
Overall a pleasant hotel in a reasonable location within a short bus ride or 20 minute walk of York town centre. On arrival the receptionist was somewhat patronising in her tone by telling us that our room booking entitled us to complimentary breakfast. At £165 a night I thought that a breakfast was a reasonable expectation rather than a gift from the magnanimous hotel. Although the room was advertised as having bath robes and slippers supplied they were not in the room. On asking at the Reception Desk we were told that such items were not included in our class of room (Superior Guest Room with Garden View). On pointing out that the hotel's website said they were included arrangements were made to supply the robes but no slippers. Apart from a rather overcooked duck with dinner all other aspects of the hotel were very good and the staff friendly and helpful. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the room serviced to a high standard. Perhaps a 'customer service' refresher to one or two of the Reception Staff would be good, but overall we would recommend the hotel and would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Dear V S Many thanks for your recent loyal custom and also for taking the time to provide this feedback. I will be sure to review this in full with my team and my apologies for the issues you mention. I am glad to hear you will be returning and I am confident we will be able to create a more positive lasting impression on your next stay. Kindest regards Mark Leyland.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from midlands

Dreadful dissapointment

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Were nice young people in the restaurant keen and interesting
Cons: Cleanliness The reception is impressive the rooms are generally tired and obviously they sell rooms they do not have
The room was not what we booked They admitted it They had no rooms as described on our booking available at all Therefore what more do you need to say Room we did eventually have was small and dirty I have never used antibacterial wipes to clean a toilet in a hotel in my life until then!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Would stay again

Posted Aug 5, 2014
We stayed in four hotels on our trip and this was by far the best
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Dear Alan . Many thanks for your fantastic feedback. I am so pleased we were able to look after you and I do hope we can welcome you back soon. Kindest regards. Mark Leyland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Danville, California

Nice hotel with all the amenities

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros:
Cons: WiFi in room should be free
Location: Go to the pub down the street called The Fox and Roman. Eat at Rustique in the City Center for a great French meal.
Close to bus stop to take you to train station and City Center. Very helpful staff and nice room. Would definitely stay here again. WiFi in hotel lobby but they make you pay in your room so be mindful of that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Many thanks for your recent loyal custom and for your fantastic review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and I do hope we can welcome you back soon. Kindest regards. Mark Leyland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel and fitness facilities

Posted Jul 25, 2014
The hotel is good and happy to stay there again but I think £15 a night wi fi on top of a substantial room rate is a rip off. The website says there is free wired internet but this is no longer available. Marriott, match Hotel du Vin and give it free!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Dear Loyal Guest Many thanks for your recent custom and also for taking the time to provide this feedback. We offer complimentary WiFi in our public areas and I will be sure to review our website to see where the wired option is listed and amend this. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kindest regards Mark Leyland.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Middlesbrough

What a let down!

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Well located to visit racecourse.
Cons: Staff training in customer service and efficiency.
Location: Racecourse, Goddards, easy access to York tourist attractions.
On arrival we arranged an early morning call and newspaper. Neither arrived. It took three attempts to obtain tea and coffee at breakfast and there was a lengthy delay before smoked haddock and poached eggs arrived. In summary poor service and incompetence spoiled our experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Dear Christine Many thanks for your feedback. I will be sure to investigate this further today and I do apologise most sincerely for the impact these issues had on your time with us. I hope we can welcome you back soon to demonstrate these were isolated occurences. Thank you for your loyal custom. Kindest regards Mark Leyland.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Okay hotel, average location

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Hotel A/C was being changed when we stayed, so the rooms were very hot. Rooms were otherwise okay. Was misled by listing re hotel location - it is NOT city centre. Hotel is out past race course and distance to city is not really walkable. Bus just outside hotel is good and frequent, but we were disappointed as expected closer to city. Wouldn't bother again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Dear Ali Many thanks for your feedback. I am pleased to report the airconditioning system has now been fully replaced and working well in this warm weather. I am very sorry for the discomfort you faced. As you mention we are very proud of our racecourse location. We do have several maps on our website showing the distance from the hotel to key parts of the city centre and we do have an excellent bus service right outside the hotel for any guests who do not wish to walk into town. Again my sincere apologies if you were not aware of this prior to booking. I do hope we can welcome you back soon. Kindest regards Mark Leyland.