Ratings based on 556 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pelsall

Lovely hotel. Close to city

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The location is great to explore the city. Bus stops right outside.
Very enjoyable stay. Lovely comfortable room. Breakfast was brilliant with everything you could want for breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonable hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Restaurant very expensive food quality very average staff friendly over all 7 out of 10
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom sussex

York visit for half term

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: My children loved the pool. It was a bit chemically strong but overall clean and tidy.
Cons: Check the chlorine levels in the pool. Also very minor, the teas/coffees in the rooms needed a few more milks and drinking chocolate, 4 cups, 2 items
Location: York by bus, was a treat, stops outside 8 minute journey, 5 of us for £7.50 return. Half term viking adventures through out the city.
Staff were helpful and friendly and went out of their way to help. Big hotel, but clean and tidy. As for any large hotel you notice minor bumps and scrapes to the decor but overall great place to stay. Breakfast was excellent and had choices for my gluten free partner. My daughter is Autistic and they were great with her.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A good place to stay in York

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: The staff were naturally courteous and pleasant.
Cons: Nothing much, everything was fine for us.
Location: This hotel is a 15 to 20 min walk to central York and all the things you can do there.
We had a very nice stay at this hotel with no problems at all. Just one point to note when booking through Expedia you can get breakfast included but there is no free in-room WIFI. However you can get free WIFI in reception areas. A 15 to 20 mins walk gets you into the centre of York.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sheffield

Lovely hotel and facilities did it for me.

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Facilities Breakfast
Cons: Wear and tearing to sofa and table.
Location: 30 mins walk to york centre
Lovely break facilities were so nice and relaxing. Only down sides was our room needed a little tender loving care, table and sofa worn. And quite a walk from york centre would have took 30mins walking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Doncaster

Nice hotel close to York Racecourse

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Very nice hotel and a pleasant stay for one night. Most hotels have free Internet, however this hotel doesn't, which is why I cannot give it full stars.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

York Marriott

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Bed not fit to sleep in, springs coming through mattress. Food very expensive for what was mediocre fare at best. Salmon being passed off as Sea Trout, expensive steak tasteless. On the plus side the staff tried their best in what is clearly a very tired and bland hotel. very surprised as i thought i would be safe booking into a Marriott.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wakefield, UK

Lovely hotel close to centre of a beautiful city!

Posted Jan 12, 2015
The staff were very welcoming and helpful, the room was lovely, lots of space and very comfy! Only a 5-10 minute drive from the centre of York, allowing for easy access to tonnes of sights, shops and museums.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Lovely hotel, large family room, but noisy

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: breakfast buffet, late check-out times, out of town but convenient location
Cons: sound-proofing of rooms near machinery
This is a nice, fairly modern hotel set right next to the race course. The staff were very friendly and the room I was assigned (a family room) was large and spacious with two double beds and a good bathroom. Unfortunately, just outside the window was the air conditioning system which was very noisy throughout the night. If you are sensitive to noise you might want to request a quieter room at booking. The breakfast buffet was particularly good, with high quality sausages, bacon and eggs cooked to order (as well as more healthy options). Of especial note was the late serving of the breakfast and the generous check-out time, much appreciated on the Sunday morning after the Saturday night before. Would definitely stay here again but would be wary f certain rooms due to the noise we experienced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Christmas shopping in York

Posted Dec 16, 2014
This was a great base for exploring York, great grounds overlooking the racecourse. We used the regular bus service (every 10 mins) to pop back and for to the city for shopping and eating out. Loved the Christmas market and the Advent service in the Minster