Ratings based on 540 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wakefield, UK

Lovely hotel close to centre of a beautiful city!

Posted Jan 12, 2015
The staff were very welcoming and helpful, the room was lovely, lots of space and very comfy! Only a 5-10 minute drive from the centre of York, allowing for easy access to tonnes of sights, shops and museums.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Lovely hotel, large family room, but noisy

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: breakfast buffet, late check-out times, out of town but convenient location
Cons: sound-proofing of rooms near machinery
This is a nice, fairly modern hotel set right next to the race course. The staff were very friendly and the room I was assigned (a family room) was large and spacious with two double beds and a good bathroom. Unfortunately, just outside the window was the air conditioning system which was very noisy throughout the night. If you are sensitive to noise you might want to request a quieter room at booking. The breakfast buffet was particularly good, with high quality sausages, bacon and eggs cooked to order (as well as more healthy options). Of especial note was the late serving of the breakfast and the generous check-out time, much appreciated on the Sunday morning after the Saturday night before. Would definitely stay here again but would be wary f certain rooms due to the noise we experienced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Christmas shopping in York

Posted Dec 16, 2014
This was a great base for exploring York, great grounds overlooking the racecourse. We used the regular bus service (every 10 mins) to pop back and for to the city for shopping and eating out. Loved the Christmas market and the Advent service in the Minster
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Epsom

Close to amenities required

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: The heating in the restaurant and in the reception areas worked perfectly with real radiators. The pool and jacuzzi were fabulous too.
Cons: The rooms need the heating to be in working order especially in the winter months.
Location: A short bus ride into the main walled area of York, the Cathedral is nearby and the railway museum is worth a visit.
After arriving at the Marrriott in York, we arrived in our room to find no heating, there was a electric heater, but the central heating would only blow out cold air. The room was changed and the new room appeared to be lovely and warm. We then tried to get the central heating to work but once again it only blew out cold air, not acceptable for a 4 star hotel by anybodies standard. The electric heater worked and we were offered another one.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Noisy

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: The health club opening hours.
Cons: Lots!
Location: Bit too far out of town to be ideal.
Going to sound a tad bah humbug, but stayed on a Sunday night and was put in a room directly above a wedding. Thus stuck with such gems as Whigfields Saturday Night blasting through the floor till midnight. Didn't complain because it's somebody's special day and all, but question why the hotel put me in that room!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice facilities, good service.

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Stayed two nights, great sleep, good food, clean room, comfortable bed etc. Would book again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Fyvie Aberdeenshire

One night stay

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Very pleasant staff, leisure suite, comfortable bed and good sized bathroom
Cons: Price! £169 without breakfast was worse than we have paid in London
Location: No real experience, but our function was at the National Rail Museum which was a fabulous venue
We were visiting York for a private celebration with friends. Hotel was very comfortable, and we enjoyed the use of the leisure facilities. Although 1 mile from city centre the hotel has an excellent relationship with streamline taxis and we got a taxi very quickly when needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Shropshire

good hotel overlooking Race course.

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: good staff and nice food but overpriced. Bus stop right outside hotel, so easy to get to city
Cons: make food and drink more reasonably priced, will get more people to dine after the first night.
Location: good location for race course city just a few minutes away, in car or bus. railway museum, minster also river trips. Lots of restaurant's in city
Nice Hotel dining room dated, food excellent unfortunately over priced wine (£8.25 glass of red) next day most guests use the Londis store over the road to buy wine etc. Leisure centre good and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Greater Manchester

Clean and lovely setting

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Lovely hotel, in a nice location right next to the race course, although I would have preferred it to be a little closer to York centre. Didn't taste the food as breakfast was a bit expensive so can't comment - we chose to go into the centre for breakfast. Rooms were lovely and clean and the bathroom very spacious, staff were very friendly. There were 6 of us (3 couples) and everyone commented on what a smart hotel and good choice it was. Only given it an overall 4 because we didn't sample the food or use the pool/spa facilities so cannot judge that side and also it was a little expensive for food £15.50 per person for breakfast so for 6 of us you can imagine we saved a fair bit by getting a taxi to a little cafe where breakfast was a third of the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: The facilities were very good
Cons: The room we stayed in
Location: York is a great city, and there are plenty of things to do there
We stayed over the Halloween weekend and was busy as you would expect. The room was on the third floor, and next to the lift. The room itself looked tired, and the bathroom was dirty. We were awoken during the night to the constant droning noise of the lift motor, and also gurgling from the baths drains. The kettle did not work either !!!. We have stayed in quite a few Marriotts, and generally found them to be good, but this one in York, was very overpriced for what it is. We did complain to the Management on departure, and to their credit, the duty Manager Sarah was very good and professional, and did offer us a discount on our hotel bill. We are normally the few people who moans to ourselves and do not complain, but this time we felt it strong enough to complain to the management and that's what we did.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2014 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at the York Marriott Hotel. I am sorry you ecountered issues during your stay, I will be sure to speak with the relevant team members regarding your comments thank you once again for your review Lisa Robinson Director of Operations