Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New England

Convenient to an event we were attending.

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: We have stayed at the Autumn Inn numerous times and have never been disappointed with our visit.
We greatly enjoyed our stay. It has a comfortable setting with a very friendly and accommodating staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan

Nice hotel within walking distance of downtown

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pleasant hotel within walking distance (less than a mile) of downtown Northamption and Smith College. Staff was very helpful. Rooms were clean and nice. We didn't take advantage of continental breakfast, but appreciate that coffee and tea were available at all hours. Reasonably priced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Handy if you want to be close to Smith.

Posted Mar 10, 2014
This is a motel, not an inn. It would have been ok if it didn't smell as if the whole place had been sprayed with chemicals/perfumes. The room and bathroom were clean, the place was functional. The person at the desk didn't mention that our room was upstairs.... not a problem, but we had driven around to the other side seeking it. The breakfast of cereals, yogurt, beverages and DIY toast and waffles was adequate. The place was functional, just not really appealing. It is walking distance to the college.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frank from Atlanta, GA

Great Place to Stay in Northampton, MA

Posted Nov 12, 2013
The Autumn Inn is a great place to stay when you visit Northampton. Being form the South it gave me a great feel of what it like to live in New England.
2 out of 5
by Bob

Poor room quality

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Quality of rooms and amenities
Room had crawling bugs, poor HVAC, poor lighting and flimsy towels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Debby

Nice, clean hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Quaintness, cleanliness
Location: The town of Northhampton was very nice. We stayed on a Friday night and there a lot of people walking around main street. There's also a park nearby.
My daughter and I were pleasantly surprised with the hotel. You can't judge a book by its cover. From the outside, the front of the hotel looks nice but the back was not as nice. However, that was the only negative we had. The room was clean and had all of the amenities that any nice hotel offers (coffee maker, iron, hair dryer, toiletries, etc). The staff were very nice and the free breakfast was very good. I'm not sure if the people who rated it poorly are used to something else but it was the same items as most hotels offer. We enjoyed everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marie from Boston

Quiet, clean and comfortable inn

Posted Jul 3, 2013
Pros: See above
Cons: Better quality towels
Location: Northampton is a lively town, full of unique shops and excellent restaurants. The best part is all of the independent bookstores.
The Autumn Inn is a comfortable, quiet inn. There is a certain old-fashioned feel to it in a good way.There are upgrades like the flat screen TV's and nice bedding. The towels could be of better quality especially since they suggest using them more than one day for the sake of the environment. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast is more than adequate with cereal, juice, milk, waffles and muffins. They also have wine and beer available for extra money. The pool is lovely, nestled in the trees and away from it all. The walk to the center of town is about ten minutes through a very pleasant wide avenue full of beautiful older homes. We'll definitely be back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from Natick, MA, USA

Good Stay

Posted Apr 23, 2013
Pros: Away from highways, and high class appearance.
Cons: Bath had no place to rest the soap, and towel hooks were inconveniently located.
Location: To dine in Northampton, walk 1/2 mile from the Inn, because the parking in town is a problem.
Clean and well-furnished room in an older but well-appointed motel. I would give it a 5 except the price is high enough that it must be compared against the better motels. The door was thin enough that sounds from the hallway penetrated too easily.
2 out of 5
by Sue from New Brunswick Canada

Disappointing

Posted Feb 15, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The bathroom.
Location: Not right off the highway as we had hoped for, but okay for parking.
We were disappointed in the comfort level. Bathroom floors felt icy cold. Bathroom was very small and room was very basic with bathroom door directly off the bedroom. Top lock on the door was installed backwards so of no use but there was a deadbolt. It was kept clean, but really felt like an old outdated bedroom. For a 2 1/2 star inn/motel it didn't measure up and I wouldn't take a chance on reserving a motel in that area with the name hidden as I wouldn't want to end up here again.