Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montclair, New Jersey

Convenient location but strong smell

Posted Jun 26, 2014
The hotel is a bit dated. My husband and 2 kids booked a room at the Autumn in to be near friends and downtown Northampton. We did not last the night. There was a strong chemical orange smell in the lobby and in the room. The kids weren't so much bothered with the smell but my husband and I were and I started having an allergic reaction where my eye was watering. We figured we'd stay the night and find else where to stay (after opening the windows). I went down to tell the staff that we would be checking out the next day and the manager/staff was amazing! She offered to find us other accommodations that evening nearby at the Marriott for a comparable price (a little more but still reasonable). I can't say enough about the excellent customer service. She should get an accommodation for her understanding and for going above and beyond by making the other accommodations! I would not recommend the Inn if smell bothers you, they may be covering up another smell, but otherwise it was reasonably price and the staff was excellent. I just wouldn't take kids there. The pool wasn't working either which was really upsetting for the kids on vacation.
3 out of 5
by John from Boston, MA

The Inn had great curb appeal.

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: It's convenience to where we were going but then it was still a good way out of town so walking down town was not a possibility.
Cons: The cleanliness of the rugs.
Our room was not ready and when we finally got in, it was a full bed. The room was a good size but the rug was what I would call filthy. I was happy we were only staying one night. The free breadfast was similar to others offering more than just pastry and coffee. All staff we encountered were very nice and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A second rate and second choice place.

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: Almost everything.
I asked for a downstairs room months before my stay but was given an upstairs room and the hotel was booked up. I've stayed here before but have never been happy here. It's in need of updating by about 30 years.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

College Graduation

Posted May 13, 2014
We were in town for our daughter's college graduation. The graduation was in Amherst and at first we were concerned about staying in Northampton considering the traffic getting in and out of Amherst over the weekend. But we wound up being so happy that we were out of the center of activity. The Autumn Inn was a perfect, quiet spot for us to unwind. Every single staff member was beyond helpful and friendly. The rooms were just right, comfortable beds, refrigerator in the room and a nice hot, strong shower. Wonderful stay. If we ever have a reason to be in the area in the future, we would definitely stay at the Autumn Inn again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ASH from Cambridge, MA

Good location to stay with granddaughter

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: See above
Location: Went to movie at the Music Academy. Fabulous A to Z toy store. Interesting museums in Northampton and Amherst. Three bike rides on the bike trail.
We stayed in the large first floor room. It was an excellent arrangement for us and our 8 year old granddaughter. There was room for her to play and to set up a little corner of her own toys. Convenient to bicycle path and downtown stores and restaurants. Good place to store our bicycles under the overhang on a rainy day. Excellent breakfast with lots of choice for both generations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New England

Convenient to an event we were attending.

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: We have stayed at the Autumn Inn numerous times and have never been disappointed with our visit.
We greatly enjoyed our stay. It has a comfortable setting with a very friendly and accommodating staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan

Nice hotel within walking distance of downtown

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pleasant hotel within walking distance (less than a mile) of downtown Northamption and Smith College. Staff was very helpful. Rooms were clean and nice. We didn't take advantage of continental breakfast, but appreciate that coffee and tea were available at all hours. Reasonably priced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Handy if you want to be close to Smith.

Posted Mar 10, 2014
This is a motel, not an inn. It would have been ok if it didn't smell as if the whole place had been sprayed with chemicals/perfumes. The room and bathroom were clean, the place was functional. The person at the desk didn't mention that our room was upstairs.... not a problem, but we had driven around to the other side seeking it. The breakfast of cereals, yogurt, beverages and DIY toast and waffles was adequate. The place was functional, just not really appealing. It is walking distance to the college.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frank from Atlanta, GA

Great Place to Stay in Northampton, MA

Posted Nov 12, 2013
The Autumn Inn is a great place to stay when you visit Northampton. Being form the South it gave me a great feel of what it like to live in New England.