Ratings based on 247 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Posted Aug 26, 2014
While we had difficulty finding the entrance and the room smelled a bit stale, it was clean and overall, pleasing. The staff greatly improve the rating as they were all friendly and accommodating!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Rooms were spacious.
Cons: Fix the rooms and replace carpeting throughout hotel for smell.
The location is great - right off I-91 and close to Northampton. Rooms are large and indoor pool is nice. That said, the restaurant is sub-par (food was either undercooked or undercooked). The rooms need some significant work - wall paper was peeling, cracks on the walls, mattresses were too bouncy. Perhaps worst, the carpeting throughout the hotel smelled: old and mildew like smell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Fitchburg, MA

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The location was ideal for my business visit.
Convenient location. Near highway, and center of Northampton. Very pleasant and knowledgeable staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Convenient to highway and downtown Northampton

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Very convenient location to highway - room was good size
Cons: Bed could have been more comfortable - overall d├ęcor was a little worn and tired.
Location: Ea.sy to get to off of I91; short drive to downtown Northampton and Smith college
The lobby and pool area were both attractive. Our room was clean and included a sofa and coffee table, large walk in shower. Carpet in common areas was worn and tired looking. A fresh coat of paint would help the rooms and hallways.
3 out of 5
by JT from New Hampshire

not worth the price they charge

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: decent clean room. Plenty of parking as the A section lot was empty all four nights we were there which also made the place very quiet where we were.
Cons: better water pressure in the shower. better checklist to ensure all features of the room work before you check someone in to it.
Location: Traffic to get to downtown Northhampton (Main Street) was very congested from the motel.
We picked this location from the internet. It is close to I-91 but the northbound entrance to I-91 is blocked in Northampton. So getting back on highway north was a pain. Water pressure in the room, especially the shower was dismal. Television required housekeeping to come down and hook it up (signal and power) after we checked in and tried to use it. It was reasonably clean and we stayed four nights having already booked and paid but like I said, the cost per night was higher than I thought the place was worth. We'll try somewhere else next time we come to visit people in that area. Would have been nice to have some sort of coffee shop nearby but the interstate, a auto salvage yard across the street and some professional office buildings were all there was in the vicinity.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by John F. Wells from Seattle

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was very unhappy with the response to a plumbing issue in the bath room. The shower control required the use of great force to turn on and if my wife had been with me she would not have been able to operate. In addition the tub drain was very slow to drain so that while showering the tub would fill with water. This was brought to the attention of the hotel staff when I first tried to use the shower and also the next day. NO ACTION WAS TAKEN! Upon check out I discussed this with staff once again with no adjustment. The circumstances were in my opinion potentially dangerous as the water hot water temperature was also excessive and would be dangerous to seniors, children or handicapped.
3 out of 5
by unhappy stay

$50 a night not $300

Posted May 25, 2014
Old, smells, run down, dark, falling apart, staff not focus, plastic cups at breakfast and waitresses no where to be found most of the time. Ripp off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Adriane from from Florida

Convenient and comfortable

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
I really enjoyed staying at the hotel. The staff is excellent and we were able to enjoy a complimentary, full breakfast for two of our three days. The rooms are nice and quiet with all amenities available. The pool is terrific. The only drawback is that they don't have a gym, although the desk staff told me they are working on it. The hotel is too close to the interstate for me to feel comfortable about going outside to run or walk, but that was my only disappointment. It is located within five minutes of downtown Northampton and ten minutes of our destination, Smith College. I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from boston, MA

Great hotel in the 5 college area.

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: The hotel is close to Smith and Hampshire Colleges, and not far from Amherst, UMass, and Mt. Holyoke. The have a lively lounge with live music.
Expedia messed up my pre-paid reservation and the staff at the hotel couldn't have been more helpful! Even though none of it was their fault (they never received the reservation from Expedia), the staff at the hotel resolved our problem. The room was great, comfortable bed, lovely pool.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff but facilities need updating

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The front desk folks are lovely as is the woman who tends the bar at The Loft and the server in the breakfast area. They were the highlights. The hotel was mostly empty. When you first enter it smells musty. The room was clean and fairly bare-bones. The tub did not drain well and it was difficult to regulate the temperature in the room. I would not eat breakfast at the hotel. The self-serve breakfast was seven dollars and our bill with tip came to over $17. The next day we ate at Sylvester's down the road and had an absolutely amazing breakfast for about the same money. All in all we would not stay here again