Ratings based on 254 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Posted Oct 7, 2014
I was in town for a stressful visit so I chose it for the pool and gym. There was no gym, the "heated" pool was freezing and I was unable to swim, and the coffee in the lobby I took for the 2 hour drive to Boston airport was cold.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northampton, MASS

Needs renovation and repair.

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Hotel is old and hallways smell of heavy air freshener. Carpets are stained. Pet friendly but we were charged $20 per night for our dog plus tax. Seemed excessive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Posted Aug 26, 2014
While we had difficulty finding the entrance and the room smelled a bit stale, it was clean and overall, pleasing. The staff greatly improve the rating as they were all friendly and accommodating!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Rooms were spacious.
Cons: Fix the rooms and replace carpeting throughout hotel for smell.
The location is great - right off I-91 and close to Northampton. Rooms are large and indoor pool is nice. That said, the restaurant is sub-par (food was either undercooked or undercooked). The rooms need some significant work - wall paper was peeling, cracks on the walls, mattresses were too bouncy. Perhaps worst, the carpeting throughout the hotel smelled: old and mildew like smell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Fitchburg, MA

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The location was ideal for my business visit.
Convenient location. Near highway, and center of Northampton. Very pleasant and knowledgeable staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Convenient to highway and downtown Northampton

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Very convenient location to highway - room was good size
Cons: Bed could have been more comfortable - overall d├ęcor was a little worn and tired.
Location: Ea.sy to get to off of I91; short drive to downtown Northampton and Smith college
The lobby and pool area were both attractive. Our room was clean and included a sofa and coffee table, large walk in shower. Carpet in common areas was worn and tired looking. A fresh coat of paint would help the rooms and hallways.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

used as a homeless shelter

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
When I made a reservation, the website said that there were only 2 or 3 rooms left available, so I was expecting the hotel to be full of people. When I arrived, there were only 3 or 4 cars in the parking lot, so i thought that everyone staying there were either in the city or did not check in yet. The room and the lobby were clean and it has a really nice indoor pool and restaurant, so I thought that it was a nice place to stay at, but at 9:00 at night I saw that no more cars came in the parking lot. The restaurant was empty, there was not a single person in the pool area, there were no people in the lobby or in the hallways, so it felt like I was the only person in the entire hotel. Then I wondered if there were homeless people there. The hotel was supposed to be booked, so there were probably no cars because the homeless do not own them, there was probably no one in the pool because they are not allowed to use the pool, and the restaurant is probably empty because they can't afford to eat there. There is also no complimentary breakfast probably because the homeless would take all of the food from it. Then I looked online for the names of the hotels that house homeless people and found out that the Clarion hotel has a state-financed program for the homeless. Then I was afraid of leaving my room at night and was worried about my car in the parking lot. When I checked out, the people who worked there lied and said that there are no homeless there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Shimon from New York

Adequate

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
I've stayed here before and always been satisfied. The front desk is very accommodating to early check-ins and room changes. However this time, as compared with the last times, the room (B137) was in bad need of some maintenance. The toilet was loose on the floor. The shower faucet control was stuck on shower. The A.C. cover was broken. None of these things prevented me from enjoying my stay or having a good night's sleep, but they do not give a good impression. I haven't noticed this with other rooms, and I've stayed there at least 4 times.
3 out of 5
by JT from New Hampshire

not worth the price they charge

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: decent clean room. Plenty of parking as the A section lot was empty all four nights we were there which also made the place very quiet where we were.
Cons: better water pressure in the shower. better checklist to ensure all features of the room work before you check someone in to it.
Location: Traffic to get to downtown Northhampton (Main Street) was very congested from the motel.
We picked this location from the internet. It is close to I-91 but the northbound entrance to I-91 is blocked in Northampton. So getting back on highway north was a pain. Water pressure in the room, especially the shower was dismal. Television required housekeeping to come down and hook it up (signal and power) after we checked in and tried to use it. It was reasonably clean and we stayed four nights having already booked and paid but like I said, the cost per night was higher than I thought the place was worth. We'll try somewhere else next time we come to visit people in that area. Would have been nice to have some sort of coffee shop nearby but the interstate, a auto salvage yard across the street and some professional office buildings were all there was in the vicinity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Linda

Friendly staff

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Only thing I didn't like was the construction on the I91South ramp right outside my window which started late at night. That was beyond the hotel's control. Everything else was very pleasant. I would return.