Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom glasgow

Booking not acknowledged, your problem, not ours!

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: n/a
Cons: Custome service.
Location: n/a
Booked through expedia, arrived to be told, no booking registered. Unhelpfull staff, 'this is your problem, not ours'. Expedia help (very good) revealled that the hotel central reservation system had the booking but the local hotel didn't. Whilst this is understandable that attitude displayed by the staff was very dissapointing..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Milton Keynes

A very sophisticated venue

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: For a special occasion it is the place to stay
Location: The location is rural , for a longer stay a car would be essential. We unfortunately stayed only one night ,therefore could not explore .
This venue was excellent . We stayed New Years Eve and had a wonderful time . The staff were attentive without being intrusive . The menu was innovative and thank goodness it was NOT a taster menu, no one could have left the table feeling they could eat more. The room was clean and well stocked with coffee etc and also beautiful toiletries. A wonderful experience !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Neilfrom Plymouth

Nice hotel and dining - not for tight budgets

Posted Dec 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Building looks very inviting and the staff very helpful and welcoming. I stayed on business and was surprised there was a bath only in the room and cooked breakfast only from 0730. Broadband was decent but TV channels very limited. Food was good but pitched at the fine dining market with prices to match, also the bar specialised in wines and spirits with a poor choice of beers.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Give it a miss

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Not a lot, though the location was quiet.
Cons: Get Alex Polizzi in.
I met 3 members of staff and not one of them appeared to want to be doing their job. My bedroom was in the roof with no shower and an interconnecting door to the bathroom to another bedroom which was disconcerting. There were cobwebs hanging, a stained carpet, no shaving mirror. The TV had restricted reception, I couldn't even get Sky News. When I asked to be transferred to a room with a shower I was told they were all booked, but, was told I could use a shower in the staff area which appeared to be through a kitchen - I refused for obvious reasons. The a la carte menu was on the small side without a steak on the menu. I didn't bother having dinner in the hotel - got a nice steak in the pub down the road. In the morning I was abruptly asked if I was having breakfast. When I answered in the affirmative the girl was relieved that I didn't want a cooked breakfast. The buffet breakfast wasn't exactly inviting. Two choices of cereal, croissants, half slices of ham, cheese slices that didn't look appealing at all and yoghurt. The place was more than a bit tired. I would not recommend this hotel and I would not go back at a future date. It was a disappointing experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Susanfrom Derbyshire

Great hotel

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Business trip, lovely room, very quiet hotel, friendly staff, food great but rather expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom hants

Lovely location and hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: Location, building, ambience, welcome, service, food
Cons: Some redecoration....but not too much.
Location: Just pretty and quiet
Booked at last minute....chose from reviews. Great kerb appeal and enticing at dusk...equally good in daylight as I left. Great room, in roof, Gunnings. Very welcoming and friendly. Quirky certainly! Very enjoyable diner and cooked breakfast. Will certainly return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Review888from uk

Food poor

Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was ok but a lot of road noise from passing traffic, not helped by the crack in the window pane. The restaurant staff were pleasant but had not been trained.The wine arrived with the cork half poking out through the foil. The first course scallops were over cooked. The second course duck was very tough. Good range of cheese but some biscuits not fresh. The single bread roll I was offered was good. They had run out of bacon breakfast time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by LedNeonLtdfrom Newport

Excellent value

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
A lovely hotel with great staff and a welcome change to the chain hotels that we are more accustom to. More work required in the area do we can visit again. Thank you :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lubbyfrom West Midlands

Lush

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely cosy and posh, needed my partner tho propper romantic