Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Louisefrom Belmont California

Great food

Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hostess provided the best breakfasts of our trip and promoted great conversations around the table.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Middleboro, MA

An architectural find!

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: The hostess was willing to share her knowledge of architecture with us.
Cons: Some of the interior decoration appears to be a work in progress, could be a 'turn-off' to some guests.
Location: St. Johnsbury offers interesting history as an old Vermont mill town-- lots of antique stores, book stores, organic markets.
A real find in American architecture of the early 20th Century, this Queen Anne, built in 1898, is being lovingly restored by its present owner. The guests can accept the occasional chipped paint on the baseboard and slightly off-center walls and floorboards when one considers the attention to detail being given by the owner to finding the authentic wood match of the paneling, the right wallpaper and drapery-style --all to fit the era of the house's origin. By evening I was buried in 'coffee table' books about this uniquely American home-architecture! Our hostess shared time with us over breakfast (my husband & I always enjoy this personal time with our B&B hosts). She sent us off with a delicious breakfast plus a bag containing the rest of that morning's freshly baked bread..Before departing St. Johnsbury, a quick trip around the town turned up an organic market where I found cheddar cheese and fresh apples to complete our snack-bag; we were now well-stocked for our journey to Quebec City!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Marcy, NY

Quaint Bed and Breakfast

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Close to everything downtown. Rate was great for the room and breakfast was amazing.
Cons: The mattress was a little springy and mildly uncomfortable, otherwise nothing.
Location: Make sure you look for the guest log book in the upstairs common room :-)
Beautiful old house, Maureen was extremely friendly and helpful. My husband and I stayed overnight while we were waiting to pick up our new puppies from the breeder the next morning. Close to the breeder's house and very convenient for us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

one night stay for business

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
I did not spend much time at the B&B, I only stayed one night and had to leave before breakfast. I am always kind of wary of staying at B&Bs when on business because sometimes they are 'too quiet' if you know what I mean, but this was the closest to my morning meeting. (The meeting was early enough that it prevented me from staying for breakfast.) In general the stay was great, the room was clean (as was the bathroom across the hall) but I didn't feel particularly welcome. The only way I was even able to find the hotel was by slow-driving past it several times, and on the last time I only realized it was the B&B because I saw a couple from Quebec doing the same exact thing, seemingly trying to figure out if this was the location or not- it is very different from in the picture, the house is a lot darker in person (a deeper green.) A lot of pipes banging and floorboards creaking kept me up in the night as well- I am a fairly light sleeper. I don't know, I feel pretty ambiguous about the stay. Probably wouldn't stay here again if I was in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jimfrom Tacoma

Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed it very much! Love the bed and breakfast experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington State

Stay anywhere else

Posted Oct 22, 2014
No directions. No sign. No response to phone call for directions. Nobody there to greet us. Keys taped to window door. No toilet in room. Breakfast good, bur skimpy. Sensed that owner put in her obligatory appearance. Unfortunately, St. Johnsbury doesn't seem to have many choices, but the Comfort Inn looked better than most.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was not fully restore Victorian as described. Also, rooms were not onsuite. There was one bathroom for all rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by lucyfrom Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Canada

Estabrook stay

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was quiet and comfortable overall, and the breakfast was splendid. The B&B owner appears to still be in reno/refurb mode, and the parking is limited. It had a shared bathroom which I didn't like.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Town house

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Good location for town old comfortable house not enough facilities had to share a bathroom But good home cooking