Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Andrea from USA

Alfa is okay - could use improvements

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location is complicated. The hotel is in a foot zone, and we were hesitant to drive into the area. The hotel should advise the guest that they are authorized, and provide garage location and entry / exit instructions. There was a deaf guy at the desk one night and we had to park and go in and ask for entry. He was very rude, and seemed annoyed that we bothered him. Our room window faced a bar - about 20 feet away. It was VERY noisy till midnight. I was also under the impression that breakfast was included - it wasn't - cost $25 a day per person based on billing and exchange rate. I also was very sick one night and asked about medical care, the deaf guy was nasty and said Karlsruhe doesn't have medical care at night or on weekends. I speak fluent German and lived there 5 years (not Karlsruhe) and know that is nonsense. We spent $75 in taxis trying to find the right hospital. The staff was the downfall, the location challenging and should have more info on the website. Not recommended if you are looking for relaxation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by sam b from bristol

great location

Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
all good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Weird odor coming from the bathroom; likely the toilet is not vented ala Italy in general. Otherwise a clean hotel with a great included breakfast buffet. Wonderful location, large room, would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by len from Australia

Nice hotel close to city

Posted Jun 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel with secure parking, close to all the city sites, the earplugs in the room give you a idea that it might be noisy, as it was, but it is in the centre of the bar district. Room was closy and staff were very friendly and helpful, would stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Tiny rooms, great location

Posted May 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Alfa Hotel had realllllly small rooms, but we weren't in it much! The location is superb for walking to fun spots with tons of great places to eat very nearby. I'd stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Canadian from Canada

Central for Karlsruhe explorers

Posted Apr 4, 2013
Pros: Favourites -- were the central location in Karlsruhe, the friendly staff, comfortable room and the Bio Store across the way
Cons: The least favorite was all the noise that erupted outside in the evening, and continued all night long while we were trying to sleep.
We had a little trouble driving to the hotel as the streets around it are narrow and we weren't sure if they were one way streets or for walking only, however, once we arrived we found we could park our car in an underground parking area. The hotel is conveniently located and we could walk to all the major attractions in Karlsruhe. The staff were very friendly and always helpful. We had a three person room so it was nice and spacious. Across the street from the hotel was a nice sized Bio Store. This was great for us vegetarians as we were able to buy delicious healthy food. All throughout the day, it was quiet and we felt very comfortable. We would have been very happy at this hotel except for one thing. About the time we were ready for bed the neighborhood seemed to wake up! Then there were people laughing and talking loudly, music playing; and this went on all night long in the pubs close by. The hotel staff did supply foam ear plugs so guests could deaden the noise somewhat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Exceptional

Posted Jan 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great Customer service. Great location - close to everything. Spacious room. I chose 'no breakfast' option as I like eating out and there are many places to eat or buy food close to the hotel. Also, I think 10 euro for Karlsruhe is a little bit too much, but it depends on how much one needs for breakfast. If I get the same good price next time I will be definitely staying.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by David

Good but in a noisy area

Posted Jul 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
I stayed here while visiting Germany for the Formula 1 race. The hotel is a little confusing to get to the first time and the parking garage is hidden a little bit but overall the time I spend their was good. There is lots to do in the area but because it is a college near by it is rather noisy at night. The hotel service was very good and made me feel welcome by accommodating to my lack of German. The price of the hotel is very reasonable and the breakfast spread was very good.