Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
single room under the roof, which is cozy but doesnt provide much view of outside. i'm always so surprised that most german hotels don't provide an extra pillow (or blanket) in the closet, and this was the case again. both people who helped me spoke excellent english and were very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Osman from Ottawa

Nice little hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Nice part of the city, friendly staff
It was a pleasant night at this hotel. Very close to small shopping and bakeries in a nice area of Kassel. The rooms were smaller then expected but for the price we paid (50 euro) it was best value for the buck. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Hypernation from Frankfurt

Cheap and solid - with a great view of Kassel

Posted Feb 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Astoria is a very tall hotel with a very wide view of most of Kassel. Its service and quality are impressive considering the price tag. Its situation close to Bebelplatz and Wilhelmshoehe Allee make it a great hotel for getting to either of the city's 2 main stations, and a tramline and several buses are right outside the hotel as well. Highly recommended for business or pleasure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Alexander from New York

Good choice in Kassel

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice and clean hotel in central Kassel. Very pleasant service. Single room is on the small side but very good for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by bio from seoul

Language

Posted Aug 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Considering price, it was great. But some receptionist can not speak English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Josh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Attractive neighbourhood

Posted Jul 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
The staff were very pleasant, particularly the two older women on reception. I liked my room opposite the Fridenkirche (I could tell the time from the clocktower) and the sound of the trams passing by did not bother me (they stop at night). Mattress comfortable,but I had to remove the nasty plastic mattress protector in order to get a good night's sleep. The bathroom floor was dusty, as I discovered when I dropped an earring, but there was a good response to my request that it needed to be properly cleaned. Breakfast was good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
A great hotel and an good price
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Smelly service

Posted Oct 19, 2011
I read a review before i booked this hotel saying that when they arrived it smelt like someone had just used the bathroom. I wrote it off as bad luck - i was wrong. We stayed on the 1st floor and it had an overwhelming sewerage smell. Maybe the pipes were old but it was seriously bad. Although a friend stayed on the 3rd floor and didnt seem to have the same problem. The service was pretty average also. The reception staff were not helpful and a little rude. If you took away those two factors then I guess the rooms were ok in size.