Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant stay

Posted Aug 17, 2014
We usually don't stay at a guesthouse, but we chose this place based on the price and reviews because we found other hotel options to be limited in Akureyri. We were very glad we did. The guesthouse itself is very cute, and much thought has been put into its decor. Rooms are clean, and comfortable enough, albeit small. The only inconvenience we knew about ahead of time was that the bathrooms were shared, but there seemed to be plenty as we never had to wait to take a shower or use the toilets. The bathrooms themselves are equipped with hair dryers and even Q-tips. In the dining room, they offer free coffee and tea all day. Breakfast is fairly basic, but with some nice touches like homemade jams. Dinner (which you can get for an extra charge) was a nice surprise. The food was solid, and they even bake their own bread. Finally, as an added bonus, there is a fairly sizable hot tub with a great view. This establishment clearly cares a lot about its guests. They seem to have thought of everything. We had a wonderful time. Tips: The guesthouse is part of a network of Icelandic farm experiences (similar to an agritourismo in Italy), and they offer horseback riding tours, which I highly recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Leif Ö

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jenfrom California

Clean and comfy

Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lots of cozy touches. Easy to find off of Rte 1 right before Akureyri central.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Emilyfrom Toronto, Canada

Unique guesthouse; noisy doors

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a unique and friendly guesthouse, just a 10 minute drive outside of Akureyri. We heard great reviews, all of what we read incredibly accurate. We arrived in the evening after about a 7 hour drive. The owner gave us a choice of two rooms as we were originally assigned to a room with two single beds (we chose instead a "single room" that actually had a double bed). Bed was comfortable, but my boyfriend had a really hard time sleeping because you can hear every time the shared bathroom and bedroom doors close and lock. (It is actually quite loud, and sound carries quite a bit.) Breakfast is included and was delicious - great variety of offerings. The guesthouse is beautiful with handmade crafts in the common areas, which are for sale. There is also a great living room and hot tub, both overlooking the bay. Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to really enjoy these features. I would recommend this as a place to stay if you are looking for somewhere to spend some time, as opposed to just sleep. However if you are just looking for a good, quiet night's sleep, I would not recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Icelander vacationersfrom NY

Wonderful Dinner

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
A nice enough hotel. Staff were lovely. We knew bathrooms would be shared, but Decided we prefer to have private baths. The dinner was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Druzgalfrom Charlottesville, VA

Nice accommodation outside Akureyri

Posted Jun 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice location. Wish we had time to do the horseback riding! Everything was clean and comfortable. Nice breakfast too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John Ringströmfrom Norrköping

Väldigt vackert

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Väldigt fint hotell med otrolig charm och vacker omgivning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

First time at guest house

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
First time at guest house, shared bathroom took a little getting used to, there were 2 per floor per wing, so wasn't too bad. Extra towels in the bathroom, the shower had jets but that part broke. Very nice view of the snow capped mountain and lake at the hot tub outside, convenient shower stall next to the hot tub, though you can still smell the horses :) Breakfast is provided, home made jams are very yummy. Note, no dinner service during low season. Hotel is filled with DIY decors, very cute and homy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Birgitte Ensbyefrom Køge, Danmark

Alt i alt vidunderligt sted

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Jeg tror, det er det hyggeligste og rareste sted, vi nogensinde har boet. Bad på gangen betyder intet, når omgivelser, værelser og opholdsrum samt personalet er så perfekt. At sidde i den varme 'tub' efter en lang dag var bare vidunderligt og med den skønneste udsigt. Det trækker heller ikke fra, at morgenmaden ikke var overvældende, men til gengæld var næsten alt hjemmelavet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2014 on Hotels.com