Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach good price

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Close to beach
Cons: Carpets cleaned, coffee in room. Not just the coffee pot
This hotel is just a place to stay. The beds are clean. Be sure to check to see if AC and heat are working when you first check into your room. We have had problems with this in the past. Also there are no elevators to 2nd floor. Make sure you are able to carry your luggage up to the room. This is a cheap place to stay,I would recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mesa AZ

Not a 5 star hotel but very nice.

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: The rooms, the staff. The newness of the hotel
Cons: Heating the pool
Location: Some fabulous restaurants nearby. Lots of things to do ...walking on beach, snorkeling,riding horses on beach, ATVs, fishing trips,swimming.
The hotel was clean, well maintained, everything freshly painted. The rooms were large and comfortable with some nice inlaid touches.The decks were large too. The pool was not heated but clean. Hotel staff were very accommodating. Coffee maker in room but no filters or coffee, but there was fresh coffee made in the lobby. Hotel is 3 stories and no elevator. View from the 3rd is great especially the sunsets! The hotel is not on the beach but across the street from a big sandy lot which is on the beach so it's a bit of a hike through the soft sand to get to the beautiful beach and it goes on forever.We walked for miles Great restaurants nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel would stay there again

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Good condition just a walk to the beach clean staff is nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom santa teresa, nm

NIce, But...

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Clean, and veiw
Cons: Coffee, and frig.
Location: nice spot everything was close
Was a nice clean place, great veiw. However, need some of the normal stuff you expect for that much money. A refridgerator for one! And what is the purpose of having a coffee pot in each room with cups, and NO COFFEE!? The wine and beer shop needs to be open before 5pm. Unless there is a Frig in each room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Its good for the price clean no restaurant the beds bad like sleeping on the floor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom traveler

Dorothy, it's not Kansas, but a lot more fun!

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: View.
Location: Loved the location.
The hotel is pretty, and very close to the beach with a great view. Staff is friendly. That being said, you get what you pay for. This is a nice looking motel 6. Patio door didn't lock, pool felt slimy on the bottom (but looked clean). The rock waterfall was dry. Room came with coffee maker, but not coffee, and they didn't provide coffee filters. They do have coffee after 0700 in the lobby. You had to purchase your ice by the bag. No fridge. Would I stay there again? Yes. You're not on vacation to stay in your room, and the price coupled with the view and proximity to the beach made it well worth it. The room was still comfortable and appropriately sized.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Liverpool England

Dated Hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: The restaurant
Cons: Complete makeover
Location: The hotel is located in Puerto Panesco , its not the hotel's fault but I would not recommend travel through Sonora for any British due to corrupt cops
We stayed here as a stopover destination on our way down to Guaymas in Sonora and it was our first experience of a a Mexican hotel. The staff in the onsite restaurant were really nice and helpful but the hotel looked really dated and had a 70's feel about it and was really hard to find. The hotel cannot be held responsible and is in no way to blame but If you are British and travelling this way by car through Mexico and Sonora come prepared to deal with corrupt cops and make sure you have enough American Dollars to bribe them, otherwise you are at serious risk of loosing your car and your liberty. We were stopped in Sonoyta on the way to Puerto Panesco by two Mexican cops one stayed behind our car with an automatic machine gun while the other "suggested" we pay him a sixty dollar fine for not stopping at a stop sign for a full four seconds!! The Americans know about all this and the area is well known for it so check out the web yourselves before travelling. Overall we found that sadly travel through the Sonora district in Mexico was very intimidating, lots of police and military road blocks, lawless and full of corruption. Being British we are not used to seeing so many guns especially very big machine guns mounted on the back of Jeeps. This area of Mexico is not in anyway like America which we have travelled all over for many years, this the first time in life I was scared to go out through the fear of being stopped at gun point for no reason other than corrupt cops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tucson, AZ

Thoroughly Pleased with Laos Mar Hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location. Easy access to the beach and you couldn't beat the price.
Cons: The decor and furnishings need to be updated.
Location: The hotel sits back about 100 yards (meters) from the beach. Not too far to walk. The Malecon is only a 5 min drive.
After reading other reviews on this hotel, i didn't know what to expect. But, we were thoroughly pleased with our choice. This hotel was one of the first built at the beginning of the boom in Puerto Peñasco. Despite its age, it is clean and comfortable. Keep in mind, this is Mexico,...not the US. Hotels aren't 5-star quality always,..at least not in the under $100 range. Hotel was easy to find, using Google Maps and following Sandy Beach signs. We checked in quickly and without incident. The room was clean and the A/C worked well. Ceiling fan really helped to keep the room comfortable despite the oppressive humidity. Beds were hard as a rock,..but we have found that that is the norm for this type of hotel in Mexico. Despite the property not being directly on the beach, we still had a great beach view from our balcony. Pool area was a little worn, but clean and filled with salt water! TV was an older 19" model, but worked and we had about 20 cable channels with at least 3 in English. WiFi in room was flawless; I'm sitting in our room typing this review! There is a wine bar on property, but we rarely eat where we stay. Great Italian seafood place is just 5 min up the beach from here. Malecon is less than 10 min drive,..and we can walk to the restaurant at the Playa Bonita Resort next door. What else can I can say,...we were thoroughly pleased with Laos Mar Hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jborquezfrom Obregón

Hotel excelente

Posted Sep 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excelente, pero en la página de hoteles, deberían mencionar el precio total.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Treyfrom Alb

Decent hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Decent hotel, 2 blocks from the beach though. More families (kids) here than next door.