Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Thoroughly Pleased with Laos Mar Hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location. Easy access to the beach and you couldn't beat the price.
Cons: The decor and furnishings need to be updated.
Location: The hotel sits back about 100 yards (meters) from the beach. Not too far to walk. The Malecon is only a 5 min drive.
After reading other reviews on this hotel, i didn't know what to expect. But, we were thoroughly pleased with our choice. This hotel was one of the first built at the beginning of the boom in Puerto Peñasco. Despite its age, it is clean and comfortable. Keep in mind, this is Mexico,...not the US. Hotels aren't 5-star quality always,..at least not in the under $100 range. Hotel was easy to find, using Google Maps and following Sandy Beach signs. We checked in quickly and without incident. The room was clean and the A/C worked well. Ceiling fan really helped to keep the room comfortable despite the oppressive humidity. Beds were hard as a rock,..but we have found that that is the norm for this type of hotel in Mexico. Despite the property not being directly on the beach, we still had a great beach view from our balcony. Pool area was a little worn, but clean and filled with salt water! TV was an older 19" model, but worked and we had about 20 cable channels with at least 3 in English. WiFi in room was flawless; I'm sitting in our room typing this review! There is a wine bar on property, but we rarely eat where we stay. Great Italian seafood place is just 5 min up the beach from here. Malecon is less than 10 min drive,..and we can walk to the restaurant at the Playa Bonita Resort next door. What else can I can say,...we were thoroughly pleased with Laos Mar Hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arizona

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Everithing is ok but the bed is hard as a rock is nice because is close to the beach
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2014
The room smelled like an old taxi and the carpet was grose.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

An OK hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Room air conditioner couldn't keep room cool during the day. Room was otherwise nice with a balcony over looking the pool. The pool was nice. The little wine and cheese restaurant had a live 3 person band which played too loud and ruined the ambiance. Not sure if I would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by cassandra from tucson

so beautiful

Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
When In Mexico we r never in our room but when we were Laos Mar was a pleasant experience. The Jacuzzi and pool were wonderful to enjoy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Excelent staff,excelent place close to the beach, close to the malecon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ER from San Diego

Perfect, gorgeous courtyard

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was pleasantly surprised that the rooms were similar to 2 and half star in the States. Only missing a fridge. Well maintained. The view was so-so but it is right across the street from the ocean, can walk 100 yds to good restaurant at Playa Bonita. Wine bar really cool, bands and cheeses. Wish I had more time to relax there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very bad service

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Shower didn't work.... They never come to fix it....I asked for more towels they didn't have. ... jacuzzi didn't work. ... mirrors were dirty... etc etc etc
2 out of 5
by traveler from phoenix

My night in Rocky point

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything.new carpet, parking lot,...........
Location: The beach. Wich is pretty far from the hotel.
The exterior of the hotel was very nice, but once you get inside the hotel everything was old. The carpet was dirty the smell was like when you get in an old house.when we hot in the room, the lamps where not working, they already had one lamp like the ones you use for a garage.the remot for the tv.did not function,(if you needed to control the tv, you had to do it manually) it was by far the worst stay at any hotel that I ever have been. stay away from that hotel.we where supposed to have sea view room, but it was not what I expected I was looking more toward a street.never going back to that hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kayy from c

Conveniant

Posted Apr 14, 2014
It was a good time very close to the blvd close distance to the beach as well very confortable pool area