Ratings based on 283 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicest hotel in town!

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Great hotel and accommodating, friendly, staff. You might get a better deal by contacting the hotel directly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Nice hotel on the beach and easy to find.

Posted Mar 25, 2014
We liked this hotel. We traveled with two kids under 10, who had a blast. We had a suite that had a microwave and fridge. Room service was reasonably priced, service was prompt, and we really liked the quality of the food (dinner). There are other choices for food across the street from the hotel, such as a cafe that service pizza, burgers, and coffee, as well as an ice cream shop. Pools were nice, although only 1 of 3 appeared heated. Beach was great. It is a very gradual decent which is great with small kids. Searching for shells was fun. Water temp near the shore was nicer than I thought it would be in March, roughly 70 degrees.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Imelda from Glendale, Arizona

Penasco Del Sol

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Location: The beach was right there for a walk along or swim, there were jet skis you could rent out, quads, bars, and restaurants.
My boyfriend and I had positive experience at Penasco Del Sol Hotel. The staff was friendly, the hotel was very high maintenance, food was amazing there, and the view was amazing. I would definitely recommend this place and I am looking forward to come back again.
2 out of 5
by Weekender from O

The bed was hard, service was slow

Posted Mar 17, 2014
The bed was hard but dont expect management to do anything about it. We asked for pillows, we got them two hours later. Don't ask for towels it'll take just as long even after giving nice tips about $10. I'm not a clean freak but would it kill to have a clean mop job on the tile floor. AC turned on which means it works right. Thank God the nights were cool. I'm sure I'm asking for to much for a 3 1/2 star hotel with 4.0 rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donna from Michigan

Nice hotel, beach access, wonderful service.

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Pros: Nice place to stay
Cons: Beds are a little hard
Very nice, the beds are a little hard but that's the only thing I would change. Great breakfast, so pretty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice place to stay

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: Nice lobby, good staff, comfortable accomodations, clean rooms, good ambiance.
Cons: Towels are threadbare and not up to the standard of the hotel. Housekeeping did not empty the coffee pot when they cleaned the room.
Location: Max's across the street has fantastic carne asada tacos, some of the best I've ever had.
This is the third time that I've stayed at Penasco del Sol hotel, and I have been generally pleased with each stay. I stay over the US Presidents Day holiday weekend as I am in town for a charity house building event with my church. As such, I don't typically use the pool or other resort amenities. Although they do look inviting, I haven't had the time. The desk staff habe been excellent, although the hotel's computer system seems a bit antiquated and it therefore takes longer to check in than it does at a comparable hotel in the US. The lobby is beautiful with a nice bar. I requested a late checkout (1300) on Monday and they accomodated my request without any trouble or additional cost. The rooms are comfortable and clean, with good, if firm, beds. I would like to see a channel guide the includes the English language stations as well as the Spanish language ones. I would have liked cleaner windows as the view was beutiful but marred by the large seagull droppings.The bathroom was a little cramped but it was clean. Also, the towels are due for replacement, they're getting quite threadbare.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TomAndDiane from Green Valley, AZ

Conveniently Located Hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly staff, and clean room.
Cons: Mini-fridge and microwave oven would have been handy.
Location: Walked the beach and walked to a great breakfast place - Coffee Haus as well as the Old Port area.
A very nice hotel with friendly staff at checkin and checkout. Excellent location - on the beach and walking distance (about a mile) from good restaurants in the Old Port. Our room was clean and well furnished. However, no mini-fridge or microwave oven. We'd stay here again and would recommend it other travelers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lupe from ca

On the beach, great hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Great stay, hotel staff treated us great, great meals. beach clean and great for walks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rosa sanchez from LA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Johm from Phoenix, Az

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was very surprised with the quality of the hotel for the price. Great staff and food at Miguels. I will definitely return again!