Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel- totally worth the money

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Great hotel and totally worth the money. It's right on the beach with a beautiful pool, beautiful views and a great location. It's about a 10-15 minute walk on the beach to the nearest bars and restaurants (unless you wanna eat at the hotel restaurant, which was a little overpriced). I think most of the rooms have a balcony? Ours had an incredible balcony with an amazing view of the beach. We sat and had our morning coffee on the balcony and it was beyond wonderful. Would definitely recommend for a relaxing, affordable vacation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Carter from Queen Creek

Can't fault them for road construction.

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room for the cost was a great deal. We had a room by the Jacuzzi - great unless you sleep early.....it's close and you can hear everything. Right on the beach with a restaurant that had great drinks and decent food. There was road construction on the main road in Rocky Point and on the side road I would use to get to the hotel. It took some effort, but we managed to find our way. I will stay there again - just on an upper floor and not by the jacuzzi.
2 out of 5
by Lynn from Portland Or

Out of date

Posted Dec 13, 2013
Pros: Ocean front location
Cons: Maintenance
Location: Little to see except the water, barely average restaurants
Lack of maintenance makes this a mediocre property
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Joe Milici from Apache Junction AZ.

Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
elevator not working- carried bags to 2nd floor--bathroom flooded with water---moved to 3rd fl. --carried bags to 3rd floor.--hair on sheets--pay for ice--balcony slider didn't work well--had to leave 3 days early due to death in family--lost three days that I paid for--carried bags from 3rd fl. to 1st floor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OLD & Tired

Posted Dec 12, 2013
Location on the beach was great, but the hotel itself is showing it's age including towels and sheets. The food and service was great in the restaurant was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dusty from Denver

Right on the Beach....

Posted Dec 12, 2013
Pros: It was very central to everything, nice restaurant right next door..
Cons: The hot tub controls were broken...it was way too hot
Location: Plenty of Restaurants in Town...Kinda Pricey Considering its Mexico, Dusty Roads, Many Nice Properties right next to not so nice properties.
The temperatures were a bit cool and windy..a lot of dirt roads
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mike from Prescott Valley

Posted Nov 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
For a hotel, it is not a bad place to stay and the service was very friendly and accomidating, but here is a list of things I didn't like about the hotel: No coffee pot in the rooms and no refrigerators as well. The facility is slowly getting run down and aging. No place to sit in the rooms other than the bed and two unconfortable table chairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach...

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Nice hotel...service staff was great...they do need to upgrade utilities. Three rooms total for our group. Lower floors had flat screens upper floors had 20 year old tv sets. Blown light bulbs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Past it's, "Best if used by date" but not expired.

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: On a nice beach. Not downtown but not too far, quick drive or cheap taxi ride. Full service bar, restaurant, pool at good beach.
Cons: Playa Bonita Hotel rooms are looking a little worn out.
Location: Beautiful ultra-lite airplane ride. Nice walk on the beach. Good cheap fresh fish dinner on the Malecon at Mary's Seafood.
Playa Bonita (as the name translates) is on a "Pretty Beach". They offer full services including restaurant, bar, pool, security, taxi stand etc. Service was ok and food was ok. Hotel is showing signs of age. Looks like they are trying to be economical on maintenance costs during the economy slow down. My toilet barely flushed and leaked, a few floor tiles were missing, everything from bedding, to curtains to paint has seen better times but are not trashed. I could have been more willing to overlook some short-comings if the price point was lower. I booked ahead of time to be sure to have a guaranteed room and was a little disappointed to find walk ups with no reservations paying less. Add in some noisy neighbors and overall my impression was just average. Not terrible but nothing to glow about.