Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Comfort Inn This Hell Hole

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Yeesh! Where do I begin?! Ok, let me begin by saying that the young lady (Mathaba) who works the front desk was incredibly friendly and helpful. I have absolutely no complaints about her. Now to the terrible experience... When we initially arrived and entered the room, it reeked of a stench I could not pin-point. We tried looking into other hotels in the area, but everything else was booked. And besides, they're smart... they had already charged $200 to our account, so we would've lost $200 (in hindsight, I would've given up the $200 to get out of there). There were disgusting stains on the carpet and a cigarette burn mark on the chair. After my son had walked around the room a bit in his socks (white socks) the bottoms were so incredibly filthy it looked like he had gone running in them, outside! Ugh! The elevator was missing numbers, and the entire facility was run-down and ill kept. We used the shuttle service to get to the metro station in order to travel to D.C. for some sight-seeing and when we returned we had to wait an entire hour for the shuttle to pick us up! We decided to ask for a roll out bed for our last night. They never said we had to be in the room for its delivery so we left to get dinner. When we got back, the bed had been left out in the hallway, OUTSIDE of our room! My son actually ended up with a stomach virus after staying there... not sure if one thing had to do with the other. This place is obviously not for many :-(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Convenient to DC public transportation.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
As I am not a licensed driver hotels that are near public transportation is optimal. Not only does this hotel provide a shuttle to the Van Dorn Metro station after visiting the Smithsonian museums in DC I was able to get the number 5 bus which connected me with the number & bus at the Pentagon Metro Station. If you happen to drive it is a quick trip from DC and within distance of a local mall. The number 7 bus drops you off across the street from the hotel. You are not limited to the IHOP located within the hotel as there are fast food establishments within a two minute walking distance, their is a supermarket and other strip mall type establishments. We arrived on a Wednesday and checking in was a comfortable experience and the staff on duty was pleasant. Our room was clean and everything functioned properly. Ample towels and toiletries were supplied. The breakfast was two vouchers to IHOP's: a choice of a continental type plate or egg, bacon and sausage. Enough to break a fast. I would return again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by first time

Great price for a nice hotel outside of the city.

Posted Jun 20, 2014
I never write reviews about the places I stay because I'm a little jaded when it comes to hotels. I work for a five star, five diamond property and thought I needed to tell the people about this place so they know what they are getting. My wife and I looked diligently for a place in DC,that was close but affordable, because it was impossible for us to pay the extreme prices to be downtown..so we found this hotel. Our stay was for three days and we ended up being pleasantly surprised with our safety, cleanliness, and the staffs helpfulness. The breakfast vouchers ($6 off menu prices, or two choices of breakfasts)for the IHOP we great. We used them everyday and the waitstaff was very nice and had quick service even though it got busy while we were there. The hotel also had a complimentary shuttle service to the Van Dorn metro statio(15 min ride), which we used the first day. There were four of us in our family and the total cost round trip was around $45 round trip to and from the 'Mall' (45 min one way). Although it's nice not to drive, we found it less expensive to find a parking garage in the city for $21 a day and less headache taking a shuttle and then the metro. The traffic is not so great, but we made it into the city in about 45min and back in about 25 min(9.5 miles). Overall, the room was small and average, but comfortable and safe, and the staff was very polite and helpful. Hope this helps in your decision!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by med from Chicago

cleanliness was disappointing!!!

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
found underwear from the previous customer in the closet!, thats all!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alam

so far no complaint

Posted May 12, 2014
well ,there is no problem, so far so good i will keep doing reservation i very near to many stores good !!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Cole from Chitown

seeing the sights

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
its a strip mall hotel located by several freeway overpasses. It is convenient to everything. All the facilities are heavily used and show lots of wear and tear. The beding was of a high quality and the beds where comfy. The staff was exemplary evening and morning. The shuttle to the traIn was super helpful, convenient, and free. The IHop connected to the hotel is open 24 hours which makes for a busy/ noisey parking area and lobby. But the night time security gard keeps things in line and made us feel safe. IHop was appreciated by all in the morning.For inexpensive lodging for families wanting to sight see DC this place is great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Debby from Pa

Hidden charges (waiting to be reimbursed)

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The shuttle to DC
Location: Lots of restaurants and stores nearby
Basically our stay was nice! We booked 2 rooms and the charge came off my debit card the day I booked. When we got there they said there would be a $50 charge for each room for incidentals, which they wouldn't charge my card but would "hold" until we checked out. I turned my key in and everything was fine. My brother turned his key in and said they needed to see me they couldn't check me out because something was wrong with my card. I went to the desk and the card # she gave was not mine. I looked up my account and they charged me $50 for each room and $150 for incidentals for my brothers dog which they never mentioned. (My brother paid $25 cash which was the charge to bring the dog.) The girl told me I would be reimbursed within 72 hours for the $250. I asked her why it came out of my account when they told me they would just "hold" it. What if I didn't have the money in there? I would have an overdraft charge. Of course there was no "manager" available. Now I have to wait 72 hours to see if I get my money back!! It's like paying double. The hotel itself was a good experience and the shuttle service was great. But I didn't appreciate all this extra coming out of my account without my knowledge. As far as I knew the rooms were paid for weeks before we got there. Just keep track of all the charges.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grad School Review

Posted Apr 11, 2014
We were on a trip to review several grad schools in the district. We arrived when the Cherry Blossoms were in bloom and the tourists were all arriving. The room was nice, affordable and convenient. All was OK with the place. It was what I expected from a Comfort Inn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Overall, pretty good

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
I thought it was a good/unique idea to have the complimentary breakfast in the ajoining IHOP. The hallways smelled a little smokey, but my room did not. The housekeeping staff was very thorough and kept everything in my room well stocked. Also, I didn't hear any noise through the walls. Overall, I had a good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com