Ratings based on 383 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MO

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Wonderful hotel. Very nice staff. Very comfortable room. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Very nice, great location, friendly helpful, staff

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Elevator carpet
Location: Wonderful location, near coffee shops and restaurants
Good accommodations helpful staff. Good business area near airport and shopping as well as close to metro.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2014 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Dear Marvel Thank you for your complimentary review of our hotel. We are happy that you were please with your accommodations, location and service. It is our goal that each guest would have a great overall experience while staying with us. We're hope you would return, we look forward to it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, FL

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The toiletries were awesome, they smelled really good. We also had real mugs in the room for morning coffee, I appreciated that.
Cons: I would like to see more flexibility in the restaurant / breakfast buffet times.
The room was quite comfortable, the bed in particular was excellent. We were up to tour DC and the nearby Metro station was awesome for getting us in and out of the city. The station is a walk away, about 15 minutes at most, but Alexandria is gorgeous and the walk was very enjoyable. It's right by the river, which was a beautiful sight. I really liked the main street, there were a ton of fun places to eat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

upset

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: It was quiet
Cons: Stop charging people to park.... other hotels that I thought about booking, had free parking , and a continental breakfast .... Crowne Plaza does not
Location: Great scenery .... I was there for a basketball tournament in district heights MD, so we weren't in rooms other than to shower and sleep.
My Crowne Plaza Experience was a bit of a disappointment.... first off I was told that I was to put $ 50.00 on hold for security purposes on a credit card , but I am one of those few people who do not have a credit card , so I had to drive several blocks away to a grocery store to retreive a gift card, than I was made to pay a fee of $20.00 a day for a secured parking lot (which I thought ) ..... and my last night stay, (Sat. Night August 24, 2014), my car was broken into and my phone charger, Garmin GPS unit, Under Armor Gym bag and an electric air pump were stolen from my vehicle overnight !! I left a so called secure area in Old Towne of Alexandria Virginia feeling pretty violated !!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bend, OR

Good choice for a D.C. stay

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Room's rug was very clean. You may chuckle, but my husband's nose really notices dirt, mold and anything else amiss.
Cons: Chambermaid's attention to detail: She missed a bright pink thong hiding behind a chair pillow. Another day she forgot to replace two bath towels.
Location: Alexandria is filled with history, some interesting shops and eateries.
Except for some little blips in the chambermaid's work, we found the Crown Plaza a great place to stay. The price was very agreeable to these two western U.S. small city seniors visiting family in a big eastern city. Skip the hotel breakfast, though, and eat across the street at Extra Perks cafe. Taking the hotel shuttle, which runs every half hour, to Reagan airport to catch the metro into DC was so much better than driving into the Capital and attempting to park. Parking in DC is very challenging, at best. The staff were all very gracious, pleasant and efficient. If you like to walk, or don't mind walking, Trader Joe's and Giant (supermarket) aren't far. Of course, the historical sites are within your walk, too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Dear Maggy, We appreciate your compliments and feedback on our hotel. It is our pleasure to serve you. We love knowing except for a few blips that you found forgiving, we achieved our goal in providing you with an overall experience that was exceptional. We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and spacious, our staff helpful, and our location perfect for your itinerary. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing us, and hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island NY

Reasonably priced, needs some new carpeting!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: odor
Location: close to Old Town
Got a great room rate. Location is good. Overall the hotel is ok, but carpeting in hallways have an odor. The women's bathroom on the second floor (near the restaurant) smells awful, but appeared to be clean. Maybe the air ducts in this place are overdue for a cleaning... The clerk who was on duty when we checked in told a member of our party the WiFi was $9.95 in room, and only free in the lobby. NOT TRUE! There was a sign right in the lobby stating free WiFi. We asked the next morning (different clerk) - WiFi free in room! Be prepared to pay $20 a day for hotel parking. A relative came to the hotel to meet us, and parked in the lot and was immediately told he couldn't park there for even 5 mins.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your valuable feedback. Your experience is important to us. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. We regret we did not obtain that goal in your instance. We apologize you had issues that took away from you having an exceptional stay due to the problem with the inconsistency of communication from our staff, and the public women's having an aroma as well as the carpet. We will have the managers of those departments monitor the issues you have mentioned to make subsequent changes. We are so pleased you that you would bring it to our attention we would love to make your experience with us a great one. We hope that you would allow us the opportunity to serve in the future your needs better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel & guest services have no communication

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Called guest services 2 times to see if we could check in early. They said yes. After a 4 hour drive we arrive & the hotel doesn't have any rooms ready & they don't take early check in..... Frustrating & confusing experience. Have to pay to park which is annoying & the bed is rock hard.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2014 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure serving you. We apologize that you were not responded to correctly about your rooms. Our normal check in time is 3 p.m. an early check is a special request we would need to know at the booking the reservation or least 24 to 48 hours in advance for us to accommodate that request which is upon availability. Reason being, if we were sold out the night before some guest that check out may stay until check out time of noon which would not allow an early check in to be possible. We apologize for the confusion and frustration you experienced our goal is all of guest experience an great overall experience from the time of checking in to your checking out. We thank for bringing your experience to our attention it allows us to better assist and serve our guest. We hope that you will afford us the opportunity to extend to you the service you deserved in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Comfortable and situated a few minutes from park and river! Very quiet and pleasant walk to kings street and harbor. Wish there were no charges for wifi! Can't believe hotels like these still charge for internet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
The hotel was fine but we awoke at 3:45 a.m. to a fire alarm (pulled by a guest) and had to evacuate. Otherwise, the hotel itself was fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2014 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, We appreciate your compliments and feedback on our hotel. It is our pleasure to serve you. We love knowing we achieved our goal in providing you with a good overall experience, except for the rare instance of the unexpected fire alarm. We are glad you chose us for your stay, and anticipating your return to serve you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lexington ky

Sufficient, friendly, not much close

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Nice, comfortable hotel. Staff was. Staff was very nice. Free shuttle was great, but long walks to metro or downtown old town (where most everything is) so we spent a lot of our time waiting on the free shuttles. Overall good....not great
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2014 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking your valuable time to give your comments. We receive each comment as a vital tool in improving and making changes where needed to best serve our guest. We are very happy to hear your were pleased with our staff's services, and that our location was well suited to your plans for traveling in the area. We apologize that you were not pleased with your experience with our shuttle's schedule to get you to the desired locations quickly enough. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we're anticipating your return to serve you better.