Ratings based on 254 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, new York

Nice stay but didn't get the right room

Posted Jul 27, 2015
When I booked this hotel I requested a non smoking room. When I walked in the room stunk of cigarettes. It was a horrible musty smell. I eventually got uses to the smell but every time I went in or out I would have to wait to get used to it again. The room itself was nice to bad someone ruined it by smoking cigarettes. Also the ac did not constantly blow cold air and the room would get hot quickly. I had it on the lowest settings temp wise and the highest air speed wise. It was not enough. I could see myself coming back but only if I know 100% I'm getting a smoke free room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extended Stay FairOaks, Fairfax VA

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Ac worked
Cons: total redo required
Location: ok
Terrible hotel - tried 4 rooms all smelled horrid, refrigerator did not work, cold water in bath did not work - take this hotel off your list
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing your stay to our attention. The conditions that you described are unacceptable. Please accept our most sincere apologies. We will work with our maintenance team to address the issues in your room. We will also review our cleaning procedures with our housekeeping staff to ensure our rooms always smell fresh and clean. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Stay due to Move

Posted Jun 16, 2015
I found the room in excellent condition and the ability to cook fantastic! I would recommend your hotel to anyone! Thanks for the wonderful experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience at our hotel. Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to see you again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience at our hotel. Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to see you again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from e

Posted May 21, 2015
The room stinks. No daily cleaning. Staff is friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that our cleanliness did not meet your expectations during your stay. In response to your feedback, I am coaching our staff on the importance of providing clean, fresh rooms. Regarding housekeeping, we provide housekeeping services to guests staying eight or more nights; however, these services are always available upon request for an additional fee. I apologize if this was not explained at check-in. Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Nothing luxurious about this place no maid service

Posted May 19, 2015
Maid service was extra, no ice machine, no business center, no workout place or pool. Staff however was very apologetic and seemed sincere
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that our amenities were not to your satisfaction. We provide housekeeping services to guests staying eight or more nights; however, these services are always available upon request for an additional fee. I met with the staff, and we will work to make sure we are clearly communicating our amenities at check-in. Thanks to your feedback, we can continue to work on providing an exceptional stay for all of our guests. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Not too great

Posted May 17, 2015
This was my 2nd time visiting Fairfax. The first time we stayed at the Best Western, but it wasn't available this trip. PleSe do not waste your money on extended stay! The rooms were old and dingy, the mattresses terrible, the towels old and tiny. The room wasn't any bigger than a regular hotel room but somehow they squeezed a kitchen area in. No dishes at all!! We could hear everything from next door room through walls. To make things worse the owner/manager cooked curry below us which made our room and belonging smell!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Your review for our hotel was recently brought to my attention. We strive to provide our guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that our amenities were not what you expected. Regarding dishware, while we no longer keep dishes in guest rooms, these items are available at the front desk upon request. To prevent this from happening again, we are coaching our staff to ensure that all guests are provided with a fresh room and to make sure we clearly communicate our hotel policies. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gautier, ms

Don't book unless you plan to stay the entire time

Posted Apr 30, 2015
I booked my travel for 04/06/15 to 04/28/15. I finished my business early so I checked out 5 days prior to my scheduled date. The hotel and expedia said they would get back with me and let me know whether they would refund me for the 5 days I want there. Neither got back to me. So I was charged for days I was not even there. Thanks!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. The situation you described regarding the billing issues you experienced is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lonnie from Mineral

noisy room

Posted Apr 24, 2015 on Hotels
The refrigerator made a tremendous amount of noise every time the compressor came on. Made it very hard to sleep. Manager wasn't concerned.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing us with details about your stay. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear about the maintenance issues that occurred during your stay. To make sure this doesn't happen again, our maintenance engineer has completed any repairs to the appliance. Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not recommended for single person

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: The staff and the cleanness of the rooms
Location: Is close to a shopping center and righ behind the hotel you have Fair Oaks Mall.
When I arrive at the hotel, they only one person was working the front desk, phone ringing, their where two people waiting to check in. The first room that I was giving, the sheets where stain and dirty. I ask for the sheets to be change, and I was just offer another room, the second room was not any better, sheets and towels old and wear out. The pillows stain, room not really clean. The next day I went to get breakfast, and they only had coffee, apple and granola bar. I ask if they had any more muffins or anything else and they said no they had run out. It was one of my worst hotel experiences, never staying there again. I would not even recommend to my worst enemy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Basic motel, nothing fancy

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Location, price, quiet room even though it was next to a busy highway.
Cons: Mattress was very firm. No tray available to bring breakfast from the lobby to the room.
Location: It is across the street from a large strip mall, so restaurants, etc. are close by. A major shopping mall is a 10 minute drive.
This is a good place to stay if you want a motel room to just sleep. Wi-fi is free. Breakfast is minimal, and includes oatmeal and fresh fruit. The staff is friendly and welcoming. We were in the area for two nights to attend a conference in another part of Fairfax City and found that it met our needs. It is designed for people who need a place to stay for a longer period, so there is a small refrigerator, microwave & stove in the room. I thinks dishes, etc. cost extra. Maid service is weekly. It is a two-story structure, with no elevators, so if a guest has problems with stairs, he/she should request a first floor room. When we left, the staff asked if everything was perfect!