Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

Older hotel, needs improvement

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Location (not far from Dulles, and walking distance to Reston Town Center on the bike/hike trail). Moderate price by NoVa standards.
Cons: Renovate!!! Change the carpets that small of old smoke. Maintain the heaters. Better lighting in rooms. Offer more interesting options for breakfast.
Location: This is close to Reston businesses and the town center, actually a nice walk along the bike/hike trail. Not a tourism destination!
This is a "no frills" longer-stay hotel where they make the beds and change your towels only once a week. That doesn't bother me. In exchange, you get a rate which is considered inexpensive for the NoVa area, although it would get you full service in other parts of the country. The main problem is that the hotel is old and not well maintained. My room smelled musty and smoked-in. I called the front desk and a polite gentleman came with a sprau bottle to spray the carpet, but it did little and the room kept smelling bad the rest of the stay. I often left the door ajar while there to deal with this, even though it was cold outside. In addition, the first night the window heater made awful whiney, screechy noises. This stopped the following nights, so perhaps it hadn't run for a while. All lighting if compact fluorescents. That's cheaper, but it makes for a pale, hospital-like light that's not pleasant to be in. One of my colleagues was staying there too and she had to change rooms because she got lice or bedbugs during the first night. The breakfast area offers very little choice and low quality. I am definitely looking for a different place when my conference returns to Reston a year from now.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond, VA

Good location for business trips in Reston

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: There was shampoo but no conditioner. No utensils or dishes in the kitchen area. No glasses or coffee mugs. A small fitness facility would have been n
Location: Plenty of restaurants nearby, it is in a nice business area, VMware, Microsoft and have locations there - GREAT coffee spot called Community Canteen.
The room was just as expected. It had a kitchen, bathroom and a king sized bed. The person at the desk was very nice and even called the room after I was there for an hour to see if everything was ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. We value your opinion so we can continue to improve the service we offer. In regards to our kitchen equipment, we guarantee that all our utensils and kitchen equipment are sanitized after every departure; that is why upon arriving to your room you did not find any kitchen items. Although I was glad to hear that the Front Desk Agent called your room, they should have explained our policy to you upon check-in. Still, I am glad to hear that overall your stay was positive. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

It's ok for a night or two

Posted Dec 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I personally didn't care for this hotel. I was given the key to my "non-smoking" room, walked in and immediately walked out. It reeked of stale cigarettes! They did change my room though and the next one was better. The guy in charge did explain to me it's hard to control people who promise not to smoke in a non-smoking room and I understand that. The heater in my room seemed to have one control...HOT HOT HOT...so I either had to have the heater on with the window open or no heater at all and lie in bed chilly. My bedside lamps didn't work either. Further, the walls must be really thin because the smell of other people's cigarette smoke from their rooms wafted into my room. While standing at the front desk waiting for my next non-smoking room, another man who had just checked in to his room came down to report that there were no curtains at all hanging in his room. The manager was overwhelmed because apparently he is doing the duties of three people, which is not his fault. I got the feeling that the head honcho is not managing this hotel very well. With all this said, I am not a frilly person who just likes to complain. I just feel that for the price they charge, they should have better amenities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by TristanPfrom Lexington

Low quailty hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
For about $100 a night you get the lowest quality hotel room with a kitchen. It is close to down town Reston and close to restaurants, ATM, and target. Down town Reston is a 20 minute walk or a $10 cab ride depending on traffic. The room doesn't come with anything in the kitchen, but you can ask the front desk for pots, pans, plates, and etc. free of charge. The bed and blankets were pretty bad as far as comfort goes. The free break fast is muffins, apples and oranges, and granola bars. All and all I feel like this hotel room should of cost me $50 but I guess you pay extra for location. The hotel was clean and service was good. This hotel is a low quality/comfort hotel. The pictures make it look more upscale than it is. I would compare this hotel to a days inn, supper 8, or quality inn.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jasonfrom Richmond, va

never staying here again

Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The bed was worn out. The room had cobwebs every where and the room was never vacuumed since the last person had stayed, this only lead me to wonder when the sheets had been washed last. There were also candy wrappers through out the room. About 1-2:00am both nights there couple s shouting and fighting. This is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Tampa, FL

Do not recommend

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: appearance
Cons: Cleanliness and integrity of the staff
Location: There are a lot of restaurants within a walking distance to hotel.
Do not stay in this hotel. Even though the exterior and interior might look appealing, the first impression is deceiving. I was uncomfortable spending the night there knowing there are spiders and caterpillars in my room. Besides, cleanliness leaves much to be desired. In addition, I accidentally left my night gown there and when I called right away to speak with the manager, he did not even make an effort to resolve this issue. In fact, I had to call him several times and he never called me back. They have "lost and found" section but it's a joke - god forbid you leave something valuable in the room -- all you will hear is that the housekeeper has not seen anything. Definitely not worth your money.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tiruchendurai Vfrom Chennai

Don't Stay here

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Worst experience in a life time of heavy travelling
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milwaukee

Home Base while visiting our son

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Location, price,
Cons: Would be nice to have sheer curtains to let in light but still give privacy.
Location: Easy walking to several restaurants. Also close enough to the Reston Town Center
We have stayed here before. It is close to where our son lives. The location is reasonably close to the new Metro station which gets us to the city or the airport. The room was large enough to accommodate our needs for a few days stay. It is nice to have a full size refrigerator and stove.The place was quiet as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Paul - Thank you for taking the time to post your positive feedback of your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location and that your room was spacious and comfortable. As well, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your kitchen with the full size refrigerator. We look forward to seeing you again next time that you are in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Charlene

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Louisiana

overcharged

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: grounds, piles of garbage outside of door could be removed
Location: not interested
while waiting to check in, desk clerk told a couple of rates about half what I was charged with Expedia. Will reconsider using online booking sites. Will use a telephone
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Bill - I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am so disappointed to read of the cleanliness issue on our grounds. I will work with my staff to ensure this issue is taken care of. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.