Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

Great Front Desk Staff!

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Staff, free shuttle drive and pickup at Metro, free breakfast,
Location: Easy access by shuttle from Metro station. From there Metro is all you need to get around in Washington DC.
Front desk staff very helpful showing us how to get around on Metro (1st time visit to DC)
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2014 by Amanda Sellman, Hotel Management
We are pleased that our staff was able to make your stay most enjoyable. It was our pleasure serving you! Thank you, and we hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location!

Posted Sep 10, 2014
The staff are very friendly and kind, and the rooms were so clean! The breakfast was great! Wonderful hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2014 by Amanda Sellman, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Alexandria. We are elated that your stay here was wonderful, and it would be our pleasure to serve you again! Best Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Nice hotel.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
At first I wasn't sure I was going to like it because they gave my room to someone else. But then the concierge had the room situation cleared up and got us into our room within a half an hour. After that everything was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2014 by Amanda Sellman, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Alexandria. We do apologize for the inconvenience regarding your room. It was and will always be our pleasure serving you. We hope that you would consider us again in the future. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Site seeing

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location for site seeing in DC. Excellent breakfast. Wish they had their own pool but we were allowed to use pool next door. Front desk was very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Amanda, Hotel Management
Thanks for the five star review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and see us again next time you are in DC!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dougfrom Ohio

Hotel like new

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel in nearly new condition. Very good breakfast buffet. Location close to the Huntington Metro station and Old Town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Amanda, Hotel Management
Doug, Thank you for the GREAT review! We like when our guests leave our hotel feeling like they received 5 star service. We hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicopee Ma.

Great place

Posted Aug 16, 2014
No complaints. Air conditioner was loud, but a heavy sleeper. Very clean and fresh. Will use again. On our next trip to D.C. and Alexandria. Enjoyed our breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Amanda Sellman, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Holiday Inn Express and Suites, Alexandria. See you again on your next trip to DC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2014 by Amanda, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lynne

Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2014 by Amanda, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! Best Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom virginia

Great location ok room

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Location: Washington DC, the Smithsonian and the National Mall. 15 minute drive
We took the kids to dc for a quick get away. It was great that we could be at the smithsonian in under 20 minutes. The room was a little small but adequate. It was room was very quiet. The breakfast selection was great. Many great restaurants within a miles drive to the west. The only complaint I had was that one day when they changed the linens they forgot to take them with them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2014 by Amanda Sellman, Hotel Management
Thanks for submitting a four star review. I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize that your linens were not taken when changed. Please come back should your travels take you to D.C. in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nathanfrom Louisville, KY

Good hotel. Shuttle service is lacking.

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is top notch for Holiday Inn. Good room, good breakfast, good internet... The major issue is shuttle service. If you stay with your own car, this hotel is great. The shuttle makes 1 stop at the subway station that is <5 minutes away. For some odd reason, Holiday Inn and a neighboring motel share the shuttle (it is a van, not a bus). Because seats are limited, they have to make multiple runs and the wait is unbearable. The subway is TOO FAR to walk so you are at the mercy of the shuttle. On 2 occasions we had to wait 40 minutes for the shuttle. One time we had to call the shuttle twice to pick us up. NOTE: The hotel's shuttle only runs up to 10pm and they need to extend it. There are no restaurants in the area that is an easy walk either.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2014 by Amanda, Hotel Management
Nathan, Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate the time you took to share your experience. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. I apologize that you had to wait for the shuttle for so long. This is not our standard. I do hope that should you be back in the area that you stay with us again.