Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Spacious suites.
Cons: The bed could be more comfortable.
I was in town for a weekend training session. My wife and infant son travelled as well. The suite was spacious and felt like home. We had plenty of room for a crib and all the baby stuff you have to travel with. The bedroom was also spacious and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Manila Philippines

Far from DC center

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: The free dinner on top of the free buffet breakfast.
Cons: The hotel front desk has charge me more than what was on my booking with Expedia. Currently working for my refund with Expedia.
Location: Very far from the city center. Not much to see nearby.
If you want to explore Washington DC, this hotel might not be suited to you as the hotel is more than 20 miles away. I was forced to hire a Dodge Caravan to bring my family up and down the city center. Renting a mini van will cost you additional $160/day which when added to the room rate will be enough to booking in 5 star hotel downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2015
clean, nice, quiet and close to the Air and Space Museum.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iceland

Three nights in March

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: The location is great, not far away from DC, and the airport
The location is good, the suite was clean, staff was helpful and friendly, I will be back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent staff but old, smelly rooms

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: The staff
Cons: Air quality, carpets, generally needs renovation--furniture is old and well-used.
Location: shopping, airport
Third room was the "charm" as in we could actually sleep in it. The first two rooms were truly awful--despite being non-smoking rooms they stank of cigarette smoke and moldy carpet, the furniture was old, dented and faux leather peeling. I was shocked given the high ratings on Expedia. We stayed because the staff was great--they were accommodating and pleasant and relocated us to the far opposite end of the hotel to get away from the smoke and mold stench. Part of the problem is that none of the windows in this hotel open so the best that can be done is to use odor-eliminating/ fragranced sprays and the whole hotel smells of that stuff. Amenities were good-- close proximity to airport, pool, free internet and free, timely airport shuttle. Breakfast was descent and staff was friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Does Not Follow Branding

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: The room.
Cons: Ensure the front desk employees smile more and are more accommodating. The only person that was very helpful was a gentlemen by the name of Alan.
My experience at Homewood Suites was good. One manager in particular was great and he was friendly, outgoing and said hello each time I passed the front desk. I cannot say the same for the other concierge front desk employees. In other words I did not feel very welcomed and felt like they were doing me a favor when I would approach the front desk. The hallways smelled a little musty but the room was fantastic and the house keeping staff did an excellent job each day. A couple of observations; I was waiting to get some oatmeal when one guy was in front of the oatmeal where he sneezed, not putting his hands in front of his face. He then proceeded to blow his nose and then served himself some oatmeal grabbing the spoon to include the brown sugar. This is the same guy that did not use tongs to grab hot dog buns and instead he used his hands. One manager who overseas the food preparation was outside smoking a cigarette like a chimney stack with the ash all the way to the very end. My point; this is the guy that is touching your food. Last, the trash lids were dirty around the food area. Though, I mentioned some negative things -- overall the hotel was great, I had no major issues and would recommend the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vermont

Great Stay for Inexpensive

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Very comfy bed
Cons: The shower did not turn off, the water kept running so when I checked out, I had to tell the guy at the front desk that the shower was still running
Location: Ten mins from airport
Great stay for cheap...needed a room just for a quick overnight, and was flying out the next day out of IAD. What was amazing was they had a shuttle until 10:30 pm and beginning at 5 am each day, so I was able to get picked up for free at the airport when my flight was delayed...Great customer service as well..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Spacious

Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels.com
Nice n spacious rooms enough space for family n friends keep kitchen is good size , the door needs some work done the handle doesn't open properly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Island Park, NY

Beautiful hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Loved the full kitchen, dishwasher, indoor pool, etc.
Cons: Would love to see a towel rack next to the sink in the bedroom and would like to have dishwashing soap in the room. I had to ask housekeeping for it.
Location: Close to Dulles, the Air and Space museum and the Metro station.
We loved our stay at Homewood Suites. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The pool and hot tub are great. The staff is great and will help you with anything you need. They include breakfast every morning and dinner on M-Th. We got shuttle rides everyday to and from the Metro. This was great since the weather was horrible. They weren't running one night because of the snowy weather so they paid for our cab ride back from the metro station. Great place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Tenafly, NJ

Even though we came for just a few hours - it was

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: price, closeness to airport, the fact it was a suite hotel
Cons: The maintenance, the service
The sink was clogged, and by the time we arrived there were no staff left to make the sofa/bed (which I easily did on my own) or to fix the clogged sink. They said we can move to another room but we only found out it was clogged a after we settled in and made the sofa and our flight was just a few hours away so we brushed our teeth in the bath instead... Then when we closed the door between the bedroom and the "living room" the air-condition warmed up the bedroom but not really the living room where the kids were sleeping. So overall - not a great stay, especially for a hotel that was so highly rated by others