Ratings based on 702 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
The hotel was acceptable and the staff was very respectful and helpful. The restaurant was the best part of the experience--great food, an exceptional waitstaff and fair prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incredible Staff

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Location: It was close to everything in Old Town Alexandria and the shuttle was almost right outside the door.
The staff was incredible. I had forgotten to pack some things and they were more than happy to replace them for me. The only problem I had was, you have to look very closely to see that it is a hotel when you are walking by or you will pass it. But when I finally found it they gave me a cold wet towel to cool off with.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the heart of old town Alexandria

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms, nice location, very safe area. Beautiful town with lots of places to eat and shop.
Location: Take trolly to end of road and catch metro to DC - about a 1/2hr ride. I would not attempt to drive in DC - traffic is crazy.
Very nice hotel in a great location. Easy metro ride to DC. Staff was very friendly. We really enjoyed our stay. Cost of parking is a bit steep, but that seems to be standard for the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice!!!

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Our overnight stay was wonderful! Very relaxing in a beautiful hotel. We would love to visit again for a longer stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2014
service was very good. the tub was not draining but they did fix it for us after offering another room. the pet goldfish they brought for the kids was a nice touch and the wine hour for mom and dad was great!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harrisburg

Good location - but....

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: More attentive staff to make the stay peaceful and to allow guests to feel pampered
Location: the water is nearby and the water taxi service fun; the metro is also close so it is easy to ride in to DC or to a baseball game.
Great location and beautiful area.... we had an issue with a dog barking across the hall from us (it is a pet friendly hotel) that was not handled well. Also, little things like the morning coffee being cold were not what you would expected from a "nice" hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Our favorite location in the DC area

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Maybe they could confine the dogs to one floor so if they bark during the night, they would be bothering other dog owners and they wouldn't mind
Location: It's located right on King Street in walking distance of shopping, restaurants and the waterfront.
When we go back to DC we usually stay at the Monaco because of its location. If my husband has to take the car for a meeting, I can walk to the shops and restaurants and I feel completely comfortable there. When we are together, it's convenient to everything we need to get to, our old neighborhood, good restaurants and the major highways. This past weekend, there were a lot of little kids and dogs, I guess because it was a holiday weekend. We heard dogs barking and kids crying, didn't bother us too much since it was during the day, if it disturbed our sleep this review might have had a different ending.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OH

feel at home away from home

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Everything makes you feel at home, especially that you can bring your do with you and know that he is welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Ecletic, comfortable hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2014
We had a great time here. Staff was very courteous and helpful. It's a fun yet chic atmosphere; they serve wine from 5 to 6 every evening in the lobby. The metro is about a mile on King Street, an easy walk, and then visited the sites of Washington from there. The only annoyance was that the room key card lost its charge several times, so that needed recharging or a new key card. The staff was cheerful dealing with that issue, however. Highly recommend, especially if you get a good price, like I did, on Expedia. $110 a night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midwest

Beds

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Cons: Mattress!
Lovely, charming place. Good location. Worst bed I've ever slept on. The mattress was about 12" deep on one side, 3" on the other. If you get that room, insist they move you!