Ratings based on 895 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2015
This was our second time staying at this hotel. Great location, great staff, wonderful, comfortable room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Need new management

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Decor and comfortable beds
Cons: Management
This is a nice hotel in that the decor is nice, the bathroom and beds are nice and they have free wine every night. We found the service and management pretty bad. The manager lied to us saying first they didn't even offer "queen sized beds" when we ended up with two doubles instead of the queen and then blamed it was our fault because we booked on Expedia. We looked on their website and saw they did offer queen beds and have availability at the time and we then ended getting a room with a queen since "they just has a cancellation". Then we ordered room service, waiting an hour, called back and our order was never even put in. The girl we had ordered with "left a long time ago". We did get a $25 credit to dine at Jackson 20, though. Their food is good and it is a fun atmosphere. Honestly, the Kimpton hotels are nice except for the service. I believe they just have weak management. We had a brunch for a baptism the same weekend at their other hotel (Morrison) and they were clearly understaffed and disorganized. It was terribly slow and the manager of the food place only had one person taking care of 16 of us (this was a prearranged private booked brunch). The food was good but it took 20 mins to get everyone their entree when it was a preset menu of choosing from two items Definitely not the fault of the poor guy waiting on us but some problem with the kitchen or management.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Greater Boston

A Kimpton Disappointment

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Usually I love Kimpton hotels, and even this one, but this time not so much. I was fragrance - bombed on 2nd floor. New room had iron that spit soot. I asked for an ionizer, and got a humidifier.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom baltumore

Sweet getaway in early frigid January

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Just had to get out of town. Old Alexandria is such fun and the very best place to stay smack in the middle of King St is the Monaco. Great big warm fire in lobby. Free wine party every day at 5. Terrific staff and lovely rooms. One of the areas best indoor heated pools makes this hotel one you hate to leave even for all the fun right outside its doors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arkansas

Great Boutique Hotel in the heart of Old Town

Posted Jan 6, 2015
We loved the coziness of this hotel and the location. It has a CVS Pharmacy across the street and a Starbucks 2 blocks up. Some of our favorite resturants close by were Gadsby's Tavern and the Columbus Firehouse and for seafood, The Fish Market. The Fish Market has no atmosphere, but the biggest oysters in town. The hotel has a free shuttle to and from the airport and free wine from 5-6. The staff was helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom C

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Great hotel! We have stayed hear every year for New Years. Perfect place to enjoy all Akexandria has to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ballainvilliers

Un hôtel de caractère au centre dAlexandria

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Bel hôtel bien décoré aux chambres spacieuses. Bon accueil comme dans tous les hôtels du groupe Kimpton.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom VA

Posted Dec 30, 2014
We came in for our honeymoon, and they upgraded us to a larger terrace room. It was beautiful and the service was amazing. Beautifully designed rooms and great amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lewisville, NC

Exactly what we hoped for

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Cozy botique experience. I had car trouble one morning (dead battery) and the hotel staff went above and beyond to help me get the car started.
Cons: The only complaint was the hair dryer. Old and rarely heated up.
Location: Lots of great restaurants nearby. Some listed above plus Chipotle, Burger Joint, Starbucks, etc. CVS across the street. Farmers Market on Saturday.
I attended a conference in National Harbor, Md but my wife and I preferred to stay in Old Town because we love King St. and my wife could also use the metro from there for sightseeing. We've stayed at other Kimpton Hotels and this one measured up with excellence all around. Friendly staff, clean, and tastefully decorated. Coffee and Hot Chocolate on the weekend were a hit. La Madeleine next door to the hotel was a great breakfast spot. We also enjoyed Chadwick's for dinner- a short walk down to the water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Great place to stay in Alexandria

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: The bed was very comfortable, room was quiet, good lighting in room for reading. Valet service was very responsive.
Cons: Poor lighting in bathroom, add lighted makeup mirror. Make space for toiletries. Decor is overdone.
Location: There are lots of good restaurants and interesting shops close by. It's easy to hop on the free trolley and head for the King St. Metro station.
We arrived late and the hotel staff couldn't have been nicer or more efficient. We were settled in our room in less than 10 minutes. When I couldn't connect to wifi, a call to the front desk resulted in a knock on our door within two minutes. I had some special needs, and the staff did an excellent job of meeting them. The hotel is perfect for a stay in Alexandria.