Ratings based on 876 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lewisville, NC

Exactly what we hoped for

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Cozy botique experience. I had car trouble one morning (dead battery) and the hotel staff went above and beyond to help me get the car started.
Cons: The only complaint was the hair dryer. Old and rarely heated up.
Location: Lots of great restaurants nearby. Some listed above plus Chipotle, Burger Joint, Starbucks, etc. CVS across the street. Farmers Market on Saturday.
I attended a conference in National Harbor, Md but my wife and I preferred to stay in Old Town because we love King St. and my wife could also use the metro from there for sightseeing. We've stayed at other Kimpton Hotels and this one measured up with excellence all around. Friendly staff, clean, and tastefully decorated. Coffee and Hot Chocolate on the weekend were a hit. La Madeleine next door to the hotel was a great breakfast spot. We also enjoyed Chadwick's for dinner- a short walk down to the water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Great place to stay in Alexandria

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: The bed was very comfortable, room was quiet, good lighting in room for reading. Valet service was very responsive.
Cons: Poor lighting in bathroom, add lighted makeup mirror. Make space for toiletries. Decor is overdone.
Location: There are lots of good restaurants and interesting shops close by. It's easy to hop on the free trolley and head for the King St. Metro station.
We arrived late and the hotel staff couldn't have been nicer or more efficient. We were settled in our room in less than 10 minutes. When I couldn't connect to wifi, a call to the front desk resulted in a knock on our door within two minutes. I had some special needs, and the staff did an excellent job of meeting them. The hotel is perfect for a stay in Alexandria.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fayetteville,NC

It was centrally located to all restaurants.

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: The location was excellent. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. My room looked over the court yard which was excellent.
Cons: When we went to the restaurant for breakfast there was an hour wait and half the tables were not occupied due to reservations.
Location: As above..
It was a beautiful weekend with beautiful Christmas decorations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Long Beach, California

Lovely hotel, disturbing plaque

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: Excellent location, very comfortable, and an outstanding staff.
Cons: The offensive exterior plaque should be removed.
Location: Old Town Alexandria is a remarkable and charming historic neighborhood with numerous restaurants, small museums, historic Christ Church, and museums.
My children gave me the gift over Thanksgiving of staying at Hotel Monaco, which was lovely . . .with one exception. The staff was excellent: as I am partially disabled, I require certain types of rooms and the hotel accommodated promptly. The room was comfortable and the location of the hotel -- near the center of charming Old Town Alexandria -- could not be better. However, my family and I were disturbed by a race-baiting plaque on the hotel exterior, which we thought very inappropriate for a hotel of the quality of the Monaco. When brought to the attention of the hotel staff, they seemed not to know the history of the plaque.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Well located and quite comfortable.

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Loved early evening wine in the lobby and it was great fun that the hotel is dog friendly even though we didn't have a dog with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Wondrtful

Posted Nov 30, 2014
A great place to stay within walking distance of excellent restaurants and fabulous shopping. The staff is courteous and efficient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Outstanding in every way!

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Location. Staff.
Purpose of the visit was a conference in National Harbor. Greeted by a lovely staff who held our bags and got us in to the room in an hour ( way before checkin time!) by calling us at a nearby restaurant. Plus, we were not part of another large wedding group. Loved the room: comfortable bed, shower was great, super clean overall! Location is excellent! Near shops and lots of restaurants, Starbucks and CVS right out the door. Not close to metro, so we took cabs to all the sights. Wine for free everyday for one hour where we met many nice people. Well behaved dogs are welcome. Second time with Kimpton, and I decided to join their rewards program. Outstanding in every way!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york NY

Nice boutique hotel perfect location.

Posted Nov 30, 2014
I have stayed at this hotel 3 times. The staff are so friendly and the location is perfect for exploring Old Town. I have stayed with my 2 daughters from when they were ages 5 to 11 and they love it as well! It's perfect and fun on the holidays.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasantly surprised!

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: The staff was helpful with any inquiry.
Cons: The lobby was a bit dark, but the decor was tasteful.
Location: There was plenty of shopping available, known chains along with independent boutiques, There's also a variety of restaurants for all.
After reading some reviews of the hotel, I expected a traditional 'old world style' matching the area of King Street. The room was very clean, with updated amenities and a staff that was very accommodating and pleasant. I would certainly recommend the hotel even for a longer stay. Transportation and the variety of dining choices were all in close proximity, easy access for any traveler.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom The Villages, FL

Close to everything!

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Loved the hotel. Very comfortable. Right in the Heart of Old Town with all its great restaurants and shops. We loved the wine from 5-6pm everyday in the lobby. Very classy.