Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Site of the 2014 WineMaker Conference

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Location.
There was, apparently, a fungus problem in the HVAC. The room stunk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Experience

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: The layout, restaurants, decor etc.
Location: Go to dinner aor luncxh at the LIghtfoot Restaurtant. It was wonderful
Great stay at the Lansdown Resort!!! The staff was so helpful, and this resort is close to the old town of Leesburg where there are great shops and restaurants
3 out of 5
by Britt from Fairfax, VA

Overnight stay for a wedding at the resort

Posted May 1, 2014
Location: Mostly just services available at the resort (golf, spa)
This hotel was okay but not worth the cost. The grounds are nice and the room was clean but nothing special. The bedding and towels were not very comfortable. I'm sure it would be a nice place to stay for an avid golfer or someone who would utilize the spa services. I was disappointed on checkout to find that the hotel had charged me more than my reservation on expedia. When I alerted the staff to the discrepancy, I then had to forward them my confirmation email so that they would be able to change the room rate. I found it very irritating that I had to ask for the rate that I reserved and provide documentation as if I was asking for a special discount.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Terry

Nice hotel, but checkin time was entirely too late

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: The hotel is beautiful and has lots of amenities
Cons: Faster room cleaning to ensure rooms are available at check in time
I booked a room for a wedding and expected to be able to check into my room and freshen up before the wedding. The wedding was scheduled to begin at 4:30pm and my room still wasn't ready (which is well past the standard check in time). Luckily I had friends at the hotel who allowed me to use their room to freshen up and store my things. I would have expected a discount of some sort for my inconvenience (especially given the higher rate that I paid), but was only given the option to waive the resort fee.
1 out of 5
by Ram

Two thumbs down, Landowne

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Checking out
Cons: Everything
Maybe I chose the wrong time to visit this hotel, but this was my experience. 1. 3 out of 4 pools were closed. The indoor pool looked like really basic. 2. No Tennis program. No outdoor activity other than Golf till May 17th. 3. Stayed in a room with two double beds. Room was too small. One of the two chairs to sit had wobbly legs, did not feel safe to sit on it. 4. No mini-fridge 5. No micro wave or access to one 6. Not enough outlets for power and poor access to outlets 7. Some of the fruits at the breakfast buffet was almost spoiled. 8. The hotel had a deserted feel to it with hardly any guests, maybe this is still offseason. 9. Fitness center decent, but not a wide array of programs for a resort that charges a good amount of resort fee. 10. The mail from Expedia siad $6.25 to $8.25 for children's breakfast, but they had no such option at the hotel. When I mentioned to the front desk clerk I was disappointed with the stay, he did not even ask me the reasons for my disappointment and how they could have done better. Maybe, they are used to this type of feedback. Worst of all, they ask you to sign for paying a cancellation fee if you leave before your scheduled check out date. This must have been the clear warning for me to bailed out right away even at the cost of one night's deposit. For a so called 3/4 star resort, they did not ask me to fill out a feedback form.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort getaway for the price!

Posted Mar 25, 2014
When you first check in you are greeted by a wonderful staff and a glass of champagne! What a great way to start a weekend! Food was excellent. The most amazing smoked salmon served for breakfast. Had a wonderful time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bekah from alex va

Birthday party at the resort

Posted Mar 3, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from Northern Virginia

Wife's birthday weekend

Posted Feb 19, 2014
After i made reservations i called the hotel to make spa reservations. Spa was closed so front desk walked me through what my wife wanted for spa treatments. They emailed me what i thought i had reserved. Honestly i did not look at what they sent so I share part of the blame.  When we got to the hotel to check in i asked to confirm her spa day the following day. To our surprise there was no reservation. I went back and looked at the attachment they sent and it was blank. She was able to get at least a massage reserved so all was not lost but it was not the experience I wanted for her. When we got to the room there was a strong cream of mushroom smell in room 719. Staff gladly moved us to another room with a view the next day which had a faint odor of mushrooms. Might be their cleaning supplies??
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pricey

Posted Jan 2, 2014
We expected it to be more family friendly. The pool and hot tub inside were small and did not look inviting. It would be nice to have more activities offered during the winter. The staff really didn't make us aware of anything that was happening in or around the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2013