Ratings based on 280 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Green Mt Girl from Massachusetts

Luxurious, upscale hotel on King St, near Metro

Posted Mar 16, 2014
The rooms are clean, staff very friendly, knowledgeable. Got a good deal through Expedia. I might not have tried this hotel unless I found it on Expedia. I was on a six day trip to Washington, D. C. I originally booked in Washington and then decided I might enjoy Alexandria. I did. Many food choices here and quaint shops, some historical sites. I found it convenient to Metro and there is a free King St trolley running from Metro to waterfront. It took about 20 min to get to the Washington Mall area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heidi M. from DC.

Hotel in Old Town

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Great experience. We celebrated our anniversary And the hotel and staff was wonderful. Definitely will go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linnman from Iowa

NICE WINTER GETAWAY

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Location: Near DC with its museums, etc. Alexandria itself is enjoyable to explore with its shops and historic sites. Mount Vernon and Gunston Hall are nearby.
The Lorien was an excellent choice for a brief winter break near DC. The location in Alexandria was very convenient (near the main Alexandria Metro stop) and private, and the hotel itself was comfortable. The affiliated restaurants were also great. I would definitely stay there again in the future.
Comment from
Jan 25, 2014 by
Hello Linnman, I wanted to take a moment to thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to hear that you truly enjoyed your winter getaway with us. Please come back and see us again soon! Tobias Arff General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stuart from Richmond

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Location: Located close to the metro but about 20 minute walk to the river. Lots of shopping and walking/jogging opportunities.
I stayed at the hotel on a business trip because the rate was lower than others in the vicinity and it is close to the office I was visiting. Overall it was fine but from a business perspective it lacked free internet access and some kind of breakfas other than coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Henri from Montreal Canada

Nice Hotel, close to Old Town and Subway

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: No complaint as to Friendliness and competence of staff, Excellent clean and spacious Room Walking distance to the lower part of King Street
Cons: A complimentary bottle of Drinking water, Include or have Reasonable Rate for Over night parking,
Location: Shopping, Pubs and Restaurants nearby. Free Trolley Bus from Hotel entrance along the main which is King Street. Subway station about 2 Blocks away
Clean, Friendly, well located, but not worth the overpriced pseudo classiness. This is a excellent and nice middle-class Hotel with the pretension and price class of some high end Hotel. I guess the location and the fact that it is close to the nations Capitol adds quite a few $$$ I took the Surprise deal with Expedia which only revealed me the name and location after I paid, so I did get a good deal about 25 % below the official quote. Which was just about right. But considering that you would be paying quite a bit more and then having also all the outrageous add ons like 30 $ over night Parking, Extra to have WIFI, unless you sign up for they promotions page where you then get bombarded with spam only to be able to check your emails while in your room. No complimentary bottle of drinking water in your room, but they will invite you for a glass of wine. Room Service was excellent food but again a little pricy with all the add ons for delivery to your room, and an extra 20% service charge and then if you decide to add a tip on top of that ?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dorota from Warsaw, Poland

modern room, very comfortable bed.

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Excellent location, very nice hotel, modern room, comfortable bed and pillows.
Cons: There is no breakfast or coffee in the morning. I missed coffee machine in the room.
Very nice hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bryan from Old Town Alexandria

Good Value

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location, nice updated rooms and a great location on King St.
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014 by
Hello Bryan, Thank you for choosing the Lorien Hotel & Spa. I’m glad that you enjoyed our central location and our great product. Please come back and see us again soon, Tobias General Manager
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014 by
Dear Bryan, Thank for staying with us. I’m glad that you enjoyed our central location and our beautiful décor in our guestrooms. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Respectfully, Tobias
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kelley from Virginia

Great location with only hotel spa in Old Town!!!1

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
A beautiful hotel with easy access to King Street metro station!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by JohntTB from The Netherlands

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com