Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pleasantville, NY

An absolute luxury experience

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Morrison House, part of the Kimpton Hotel Group, is one of the best hotels I ever experienced. It's in the heart of historic Alexandria, VA. We pulled up to a driveway next to the hotel, and Jose came out, unloaded our car and brought all the bags to the room. Then he went and parked out car in an underground garage; on street parking is not available. Ashely and Mahason at the front desk were also very helpful and cheerful. The historic city is a great place to visit with lots of interesting shops and restaurants. At 5 PM we returned the Morrison House which was holding its wine hour, with wine and vegetable cheese tapas. That night we had dinner in the hotel, and it was delicious. I consider myself to be a Caesar Salad expert, and the one served ranks at the top, along with the one I make at home. We had planned to just stop on the road on the way back to New York from North Carolina, but the stay at Morrison House added one more glorious day to our vacation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent location

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: It's not a standard hotel - very individual design. Good location for both Alexandria itself and for visiting Washington by Metro.
Cons: Provide tea / coffee making facilities in the room. Other hotels do it.
Location: Just a few yards to the shops and restaurants of King Street. Easy walk to both the river and the metro (or take a free trolley).
Perfectly placed for exploring Old Alexandria. Attractive building. Very helpful staff. Wine reception at night and tea / coffee in the morning are nice, but would also like tea / coffee making facilities in the room for the tired traveller.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Cons: Hotel charged WAY too much for parking. There's parking garages all around and parking is pretty cheap everywhere else except at the hotel.
Had a great stay at Kimpton Hotel in Old Towne, Alexandria. Hotel was right in the middle of everything so we had easy access to everything. We didn't need our call the whole weekend because the hotel was in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2014
Awesome historic looking hotel within the heart of old town.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Basement

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room on "first floor' which was a nearly buried English basement. The air conditioner made the capers dank. Staff was very nice but a wedding was taking place so couldn't really enjoy common areas either - and get out of the basement! Can't beat the location, however, and the weather was perfect so sitting on the patio almost made up for the basement room and wet carpet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Scott Glover from Norfolk, Va

Wonderful Place to stay, relax and eat!!

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very friendly and professional staff compliment the beautiful hotel. Spend a day in the city and you will truly experience how relaxing and comfortable this hotel truly is. Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Old Town Alexandria

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Cons: Heating/cooling system a bit noisy.
Great location, helpful staff, wine reception, small comfortable rooms, bar and grill, regretfully it closed rather early
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to Old Town

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Beauty and convenience
We lived in Old Town when the hotel was built and knew the owner, so coming back held some nostalgia for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rose from Oahu, Hawaii

A Lovely, Quiet Place to Stay

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Everything -- the location is so convenient. The hotel and rooms are clean and elegant. The staff is knowledgeable and helpful.
Location: You can walk to historical sites and century-old churches and cemeteries. Spend a few hours in The Torpedo Factory, an amazing art center.
This is a great hotel. The entire staff was very helpful, the rooms are lovely, and you can walk everywhere in Old Town Alexandria. Alexandria has a free hop-on, hop-off trolley so getting around town is quick and easy. The drawing room and library are elegant. The wine reception gives you a chance to take a break around five and meet your fellow guests if you wish. I know you'll enjoy your stay in a great city just outside of the District.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels.com