Ratings based on 281 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel, Good Location

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff, shuttle to Eisenhower metro, continental breakfast, comfy bed, lots of outlets
Cons: Shuttle is great, but last pickup is 10:45pm. Shuttle is shared with Courtyard, so there is often a long wait, especially at the metro stop.
Location: Close to Eisenhower Metro (10 minute walk, if shuttle unavailable), one stop from Old Town Alexandria, very convenient to DC.
I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. There is no pool or hot tub, which would have been nice after touring around DC, but I didn't check that before I made the reservation, so I don't fault the hotel for that. Very friendly staff. My flight home was pretty late, and after check out, I was able to leave my bags & pick them up later. They could stand to add another shuttle or separate the shared shuttle from the Courtyard (shared shuttle). I would definitely recommend the hotel due, and the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was for the shuttle delays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
The rooms was very nice. The hotel is located in reasonable distance from the attraction.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The staff was very friendly.
Cons: They need a pool.
Location: Right off the highway and centrally located.
It was right off the highway and had a beautiful walking trail near it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kissimmee, FL

Great hotel in Old Alexandria...

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: The room&staff were just so pleasant. The couch was comfortable enough to sleep on if needed! The cool little table(s)that separated amused my husband
Cons: The elevator in the parking garage was so slow we gave up on it. Need another waffle-iron station for busy times.Shower-pressure not very powerful.
Location: The recommended restaurants close by were all amazing! Especially San Antonio Bar & Grill. Able to jog along the adjacent streets.
My husband and I usually stay at the Country Inn & Suites, but after this visit to this Marriott, we will consider changing next time we travel. We needed a last-minute place based on our travel plans and booked this via Expedia a few nights prior. It was located just off the busy I-95 Beltway, but in a very quaint, pleasant section of VA. We needed a place close to National Harbor, where our daughter was attending a conference, but did not want to pay the extravagant rates at the hotels there. (This hotel is about 5-7 minutes from National Harbor.) Springhill Suites Marriott was perfect. Spacious room with king-sized bed and large, comfortable couch. Loved the separation of shower/sink in one portion and the toilet/sink in the "other" bathroom. Great idea! Large, open exercise room,(with TV's on the treadmills for FIFA), although the area surrounding is perfect and safe for jogging as well.The breakfast was tasty, (loved the fresh spinach choice with the eggs and the flavored non-dairy cream)although we got up late after a super night sleep, so the lines were LONG! Nice touch in the rooms inside the microwaves there were plates and utensils wrapped in plastic. All staff we encountered were pleasant, professional and accommodating. Those ladies rocked it during the busy breakfast! I chose this hotel based on location and previous Expedia ratings, where several commented/complained about the "softness" of the towels...not a problem for us. Maybe they started using more Downy!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Good hotel near D.C

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, Location
Cons: Sitting areas, Rooms' cleanliness
The hotel is in good location. it is located in Alexandria. it is very close to Washington D.C. However the hotel room was small. There was no lock on bathroom doors and cleanliness was OK. When we get there, the hotel was too crowded. So we had to wait 10 minutes to get our breakfast. Breakfast was OK but it was hard to find a place to sit. Overall don't expect a lot from this hotel but if you want a cheap hotel then it will satisfy you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2014
We pride ourselves on our personalized service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand. We are truly sorry that you were disappointed with our breakfast. Our complementary hot breakfast is popular. We offer scrambled eggs, rotating breakfast meat, fresh fruit, muffins, bagels, english muffins, waffles, coffee, juice, oatmeal and a variety of cereals.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2014
We pride ourselves on our personalized service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand. We are truly sorry that you were disappointed with our breakfast. Our complementary hot breakfast is popular. We offer scrambled eggs, rotating breakfast meat, fresh fruit, muffins, bagels, english muffins, waffles, coffee, juice, oatmeal and a variety of cereals.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charleston,sc

always a problem

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: clean place and safe
Cons: checking in and making sure everything works before you arrive
stayed there 3 times and there is always a problem .first time door wouldn't unlock repairman replace battery to door but that didn't solve problem so we had to move to another room.second time we had to wait an hour because they said the wrong info was sent to them.last time after a day of being there we couldn't get back in room because of door issue again and service dept.couldn't repair door because they don't have parts and wanted us to move all our stuff to another room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2014
Our hotel staff strives to provide unparalleled services and memorable experiences to all our guests. I apologize that your stay was anything less than flawless. Thank you for bringing these details to our attention. It allows us to improve and I have shared your feedback with our leadership.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014
Our hotel staff strives to provide unparalleled services and memorable experiences to all our guests. I apologize that your stay was anything less than flawless. Thank you for bringing these details to our attention. It allows us to improve and I have shared your feedback with our leadership.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Naples, Fl

Convenient and comfortable

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Nice place close to the Metro. Good size room. Only down side was a little highway noise
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marie from Virginia beach

Excellent Hotel, Great Breakfast, Nice Staff

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: The staff was really nice and helpful. They looked like they enjoyed their job! The rooms were clean.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Old town Alexandria is very close and so is the National Harbor
Check in was easy and fast. Great Friendly staff. Rooms were clean and beds were comfy. Nice and cold in the rooms. Fresh coffee always available (Regular/Decaf or tea). Close to old town Alexandria, National Harbor and Dc. Free parking on site. Breakfast Buffet was good (eggs, sausage, waffles....etc) We enjoyed our trip and staying at the Springhill. Would definately stay again. I dont have any complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2014
We are excited to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for the compliments about the staff. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of the SpringHill Suites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by laura from london, england

Great location! Close to DC.

Posted May 27, 2014
Great. Loved the hotel. Breakfast was super. Will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Highly Recommended

Posted May 19, 2014
Staff went over and beyond to assist us in every aspect. From the shuttle driver to every front desk staff person, each were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was wonderful. Accommodations comfortable . Very happy with our stay!