Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robin & Juliefrom Cornwall

Just great.

Posted Sep 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a great place for us and our dog. Quite apart from it being a most welcoming hotel it is set in a terrific place for so many of the sites you would want to visit in this area. The rooms are more than you could wish for, the food is of the highest quality and the price is reasonable. We cannot recommend it too highly. We will certainly come back here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Vikfrom Boston Mass

Nice country Hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff is very helpful and friendly. They recommended hikes along Hadrians Wall. The food is the restaurant is excellent. The rooms are modern and clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tobiasfrom uk

Flower Power

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely arrival, parking opposite the lovely stone building covered in flower baskets, reception area is a bit dated with a weird vase of mints on the desk, went through to the cosy bar to check in. Shown to our small but well furnished room, was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was average, nothing to write home about, although the view to the amazing back garden was wonderful from the conservatory.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ianfrom Cambridge, Massachusetts

Quiet Country Retreat

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Battlesteads is a lovely country inn, in a great pastoral location with easy access to Hadrian's wall, Hexham, and the Pennine way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Great food

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room very clean and comfortable. Very good restaurant (dinner and breakfast both excellent).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mrs Handfrom Stoke

Fantastic service

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really good location. Rooms were very clean. Food was lovely and staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

relaxing time

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: very friendly nothing too much trouble
Location: suited us
everything was perfect food , exellent hand pulled beers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edinburgh

Good find - great location

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: I liked the location, attention to detail, pleasant and helpful staff and exceptional food.
Cons: Window handle in need of repair.
Location: Close by to Hexham and Hadrians wall as well as Kielder and Scottish Borders - great place to spend a few days to explore this area.
Arrived about 7.30pm and checked in by very friendly staff who were able to offer my husband and I a reservation for dining that evening. Food was excellent and good value for money, as was the breakfast the next morning. All staff attentive and no delay with check out. This was a very short break but we will return for a longer period as it is a great find.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Ideal Hotel for family Short Term Stay

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The restaurant was excellent with a menu that was ideal for both adults and children. The service was attentive and friendly.
Stayed in family room which was spacious and very comfortable. Fresh bowl of fruit in the room with an excellent selection of quality tea, coffee both instant and filtered. Good selection of quality eco friendly products in the bathroom. Obvious efforts by the owners to have a more eco friendly hotel with special touches. Fresh strawberries from the garden for breakfast particularly popular with the children.