Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice, Rustic Room

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: It was clean, the food was good and the price reasonable
Cons: Nothing that could be done without destroying the character of the building
Location: Hadrain's wall is centrally located. Beautiful country
This is an older house that was converted into a B&B. It is old and it shows it. However the bathrooms are new and the they work. |The breakfast was great, the woman owner knows how to cook and is helpful. I spent four days there and compared to some of the other B&Bs I have stayed at, I would go back there again. Just remember you are NOT getting a Ramada or Marriott Ins here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay At Bank Hall, April 2014

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Homey
Cons: Fine as is
Location: Located next to old Gaol and close to pubs and restaurants.
Lovely property next to old Gaol and close to local pubs. Plenty of parking. Room was great and very 'homey'. Breakfast great and hotel managers very friendly and good company.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by steve from N.I.

comfy bed

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent location and very clean. Bed was extremely comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A Traveller from Suffolk

Hall Bank

Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Arrive 6.15pm hotel locked and no answer to door bell. Note on door give phone number to contact owner but this went to voice mail so I left message that we could get in. Fortunately other guest exiting let us in and told us to choose any vacant room with key in door as this is what owner had told them by phone. this gives a bad impression to start with. However once inside everything was good, spacious well appointed clean rooms. Usual B&B breakfast cooked by the elusive owner who said the unusual entry arrangements were stated on her website but we didn't see them as we booked thru hotels.com which didn't give this info. If you don't have a mobile phone with you when you arrive you could be in trouble!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Thomas from Northern Ireland, UK

One night in Hexham

Posted Jul 1, 2013
Pros: The bed
Cons: Leaving
Location: Well located near the centre of Hexham yet very peaceful.
Loved the place. Mrs Hall is a gem. The bed so comfortable and breakfast was fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Walkers from Yorkshire

This is not an hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Communal areas and staircase are not carpeted so can be noisy as other residents move around. Loud conversations outside the room in the morning ensured we were awake. There is no reception or lounge and a key code is needed for entry. The rooms feature quality fabrics and fittings but use a dark pallet of colours so feel claustrophobic and dark. If you are on a leisure break this might not be the place for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly and welcoming

Posted Aug 19, 2012
The hotel was very welcoming and friendly. We would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hilary from England

A Wonderful Place To Stay.

Posted Jan 3, 2012
Pros: Everything about Hall Bank is wonderful.
Cons: There was nothing that was " least favourite "
Location: Hall Bank is situated in the centre of Hexham, in a quiet spot.
We cannot praise Hall Bank enough. We had such a warm welcome to this beautiful guest house.which is situated right in the centre of Hexham. It is superbly and tastefully decorated.The rooms are so comfortable and the beds luxiurious.We stayed over Christmas and on Christmas morning we had a champagne breakfast, the quality of the breakfast was also superb, cooked by Margaret, the owner, who is a lovely lady. We highly recommend this guest house, a beautiful place in a beautiful part of the world. We will be staying again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bath

Beware over charging!!!!!!

Posted Sep 26, 2011 on Hotels.com
I was asked to pay a large extra sum of money by the owner above the online booking charge. she did not recognize my reference number and assumed that it was my responsibility to know that she always charged extra for The Great North run weekend despite the fact that her agent had not posted it. I found this distressing and felt as though i had been robbed. The whole place therefore left me with a sour taste.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 29, 2011 on Hotels.com