Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice guesthouse with lovely cats

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Very nice guesthouse with lovely cats, donkeys and a beautiful garden.
Location: Very nice guesthouse with lovely cats, donkeys and a beautiful garden.
Very nice guesthouse with lovely cats, donkeys and a beautiful garden.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wink from melbourne, australia

A unique home and garden; Hadrian' Wall nearby.

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Our hostess has created a charming home which she shares with visitors. The cats are relaxed and friendly , so are the guests. The garden is stunning.
Cons: Nothing needed improvement.
Location: The village is charming. Hadrian's Wall is nearby.
A title bit tricky to find, but we were rewarded for our efforts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex from NE England

Great

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Friendly comfortable and good value.
Cons: No criticisms, honestly, it was great.
Location: Walk, steam trains at Alston, easily accessible country pubs and picturesque hamlets. Grouse moors, interesting drives Away from it all
Eileen was attentive, charming and a wonderful host. We were greeted with the offer of a cup of tea and shown to our room which had a view of the hills and the beautiful garden. We immediately realised that our kids would love this place. 5 cats, two donkeys and a couple of pheasants. We settled in and then walked into Allendale which was a very pleasant 12 minute walk. A couple of hours later we were back and settled in for the night. The following morning we sat in the breakfast room and had an enormous and very tasty cooked breakfast, all the tea and coffee we could drink and a lovely chat with some fellow guests. This is a great place to stay, we left refreshed and starting working out when we could get back before we reached the motorway.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room inadequately heated
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by dan galvin from napa valley CA

A great get away in rural northumberland - w cats

Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
While it was further out of Hexham than i expected. ( My error ) Once i found it it was a lovely retreat. I bit further from Hadrian's Wall then i'd planned but fine. I received a very warm greeting from the owner and her 9 cats. Two cats slept with me which was a treat since i miss mine. Lovely gardens. So if you'r e looking to our in the country an still be in reasonable driving distant to the wall, this is your place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Retired couple from Cornwall

A winter adventure

Posted Apr 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was a perfect place for our one-night stay the night before a family celebration on Easter Sunday. As with previous reviews, we found it a bit difficult to find Thornley House despite looking carefully at Google maps and street view beforehand, and be warned, there isn't much mobile phone coverage in the area when you want to phone to say you can't find the way and it's pitch dark! An Ordnance Survey map would have helped but we'd forgotten ours'.However, we asked at the pub in Allendale and once arrived we were greeted warmly, the house was warm and provides every comfort. The warmth was important as it was below freezing outside. There are six cats, all beautiful and unobtrusively friendly, perfect if you like cats which we do. The house is spotlessly clean and apart from seeing the cats there is absolutely no evidence of them. The clocks went forward that night and we needed an early start, equivalent to 6.30a.m.but breakfast was beautifully served, on time and excellent - fantastic homemade jam and marmelade, v good toast, excellent choice of fruits and cereals, v good coffee. We didn't have cooked breakfast, by choice only because we would have had to allow more time. There were even hot cross buns and little chocolate Easter eggs. The countryside was thick with snow and v beautiful, great walking country all around and Hadrian's Wall not far away. We would definitely use Thornley House again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Peter & Elaine

What amazing cats

Posted Mar 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
A lovely B&B in a very quiet part of the country. If you don't like cats it's not the place for you, but as the owners of a moggy we found the company of the five cats a delight.Each one has their own traits and it soon became obvious who was the top cat and who wasn't. It also became clear which cat liked which room and it seems that we were in Ivana's. For everything that has been written about the cats, this place was spotless. Not a cat hair in sight other than those very firmly connected to the cats themselves. We never met the owner as she was away on her travels, but Shirley, her housekeeper, made us incredibly welcome. She's a star herself. Thank YOU!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kate

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bridget

Must Love Cats

Posted Nov 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
This was a beautiful house. Perfect for the 1 night we were there. Good full breakfast. You'd have to like cats as there was 4 or 5 there. Only problem we had was finding the place as we got there in the dark and there wasn't a big sign with the houses name on it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mrs Carl

Excellent

Posted Oct 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
Our stay at hotel was loverly and it was so warm and friendly . Food was loverly . Not keen on cats but I still liked it .!!!!!!