Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Not recommended!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Cleanliness.
The hotel in general and my room in particular were in poor condition. Very dirty common areas and room. I was only there for one night but seriously thought about walking out of the room as soon as I entered. Weird odor which could have been a combo of old smoke and an attempt to eliminate same. I opted for this hotel as it was more expensive than a night at The Super 8 & I erroneously equated this price differential with expected quality. I also prepaid for the night & didn't feel that I would be successful in reversing a charge. Overall, very disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago suburbs

Decent but showing age!

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Decent hotel but showing age especially in rooms with peeling wallpaper doors inside and out are getting old pool was decent breakfust not bad would stay again Especialy since they allow 5 in room which many places don't! Only negative would be location kind of out of the way and neighborhood not the best!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You can't beat this if you're coming to Chicago

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The staff. The Location.The price of the room. The condition of the room. The amenities offered.
Cons: The breakfast (typical hotel stuff) could be offered until 10am.
Location: Right off the Toll Road. 4 minutes from the Hammond South Shore Station. 9 minuted from East Chicago station. Perfect for a Chi-town visit.
Have stayed here 5 times, now. Despite the initial snafu in our reservation (Expedia's fault, not the hotels) we were pleased with our room. It had a fridge and microwave and was clean, comfortable, safe, and quiet. The room and bathroom were immaculate. The hotel staff (I wish I could remember the gal's name who helped us with our reservation issue) was, as always, friendly and helpful. If you are coming to visit Chicago, The Magnuson is right off the tollway and 4 minutes away from the Hammond South Shore station. This is an older property, but it is well maintained. I believe I heard they have shuttles to the casino, too, but I'm not sure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
It could have been a lil cleaner, but staff was nice and service was very good. The pool water was very warm and they did not keep a good stock of towels. I did not have a microwave and refrigerator, plus I had my newborn with me along with 4 Otha lil ones, I told them and they had no problem getting me 1 and it didn't take anytime 2 get it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Wayne, Indiana

Past it's prime

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The staff and ease of access from a main highway.
Cons: Absolutely everything outside the staff and location.
Location: Located in Hammond, Indiana, just a few miles east of the Chicago Skyway. The museums, aquarium, and Navy Pier are within 30 minutes of this hotel.
The only appealing features of this hotel are it's easy access from the toll road, and the staff. This hotel is old and past it's prime. There were flying ants in the hallway, the whole place smells musty, the breakfast was terrible, loud noises from the wall of the room whenever water was used in an adjoining room, and the beds / pillows are rock hard. The staff was pleasant, and it's located right off the toll road, so it's easy to find. Pay a little more somewhere else, and have a much more enjoyable experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was not what I anticipated

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Staff was nice
Cons: Cleanliness in hallways
Location: The location was good
The floors in the hallway were dirty. There were people standing outside too close to the building smoking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from v

Not bad

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Close to the Horseshoe and Chicago. A little rundown. Very warm pool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angie from Kalamazoo, MI

Close to the casino.

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: It's closeness to the casino, and that it was right off the toll road.
Cons: The wallpaper in the hallway looks like it has experienced water damage.
The Horseshoe Casino is right down the road and the hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to and from the casino.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yvette from Hammond,IN

Mini vaca

Posted Jun 2, 2014
We had a great time on our mini vaca. The heated pool was a great way to relax in the evening,breakfast was good and the staff was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com