Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.3 out of 5
14% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Felch, MI

Clean and convenient

Posted Sep 15, 2010 on Hotels.com
Stayed 1 night on the way to chicago. Its not the 4 Seasons, but a clean room, place seemed safe, and a great price. The staff was fast and polite at check in.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I did not dare to stay there.

Posted Aug 19, 2010
did not dare to stay there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Room was horrible

Posted Aug 11, 2010
OMG! We thought for sure that a casino hotel would at least be average...boy were we wrong! Our room didn't even have a shade on the lamp!!!! We booked the room for 4 adults, which they knew about and yet we had 2 towels in the room and only 3 pillows!!! the phone did not work, we couldn't even call the front desk! This was the worst hotel any of us have ever been at and we all travel A LOT!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Hotel In Gary - not clean, rms look an smell old

Posted Aug 4, 2010 on Hotels.com
very poor review, very poor experience, it's as if no one cared to correct the problem, would not admit they dropped the ball, staff looked very very sloppy, shirts hanging off them, hair messy, not dressed professional at all.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

casino hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2010
easy check in, room was everything that i expected, stayed one night. the hotel was located a mile away from a very bad neighborhood. the hotel overall was good but the crime around the area would make me re-think about staying there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Not Impressed

Posted Jul 14, 2010
The hotel was 3 star. Stains on hallway carpet, stains on chairs in room. Trash that remain on the floor in the halls my entire 4 day stay. The maids, staff and shuttle drivers were extremely friendly. However they know nothing about the events and activities that go on in the casino. You have to pay full price for drinks(alcohol) in the casino
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2010 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Old Town, FL

Majestic Star Hotel and Casino

Posted Jun 16, 2010 on Hotels.com
We have used this hotel annually since it was new (as the Trump) and are always pleased with it's location, cleanliness and welcome. At the hour we arrived on a Saturday evening, we discovered that we had to leave the property and get dinner at the fast food restaurant across the street from the main entrance. It is a shame that this hotel is so under-used. There are large expanses of fenced-off parking lot that used to be filled with customer cars. I hope it survives the recession that is hurting all of NW Indiana.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Peter, MN

If you aren't staying at the casino, then don't bother staying. It's in a sketchy neighborhood

Posted Mar 17, 2010
The hotel itself was your typical hotel room. Nothing special. It was clean, neat but its close proximity to the railroad meant lots of noise at all time of the day and night and caused vibrations in the room. Did not get a good nights sleep. Staff was friendly, however. I chose this hotel because it was a decent rate, however, did not realize it was located right in the industrial sector of Gary/East Chicago and was off of the main roads. Did not feel comfortable. If you aren't planning to go to the casino to gamble, then I would suggest staying in a hotel that is more convenient and closer to the main roads and Interstates.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Pass

Posted Dec 4, 2009
This out of the way location in an industrial section of town is meant for the convenience of Casino customers. There are few amenities for anyone other than the gambling folk. The hotel is an afterthought and this is evident in its dowdy, deteriorating condition. Folks at the desk were pleasant.