Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by kathy from jacksonville fl

Warm and wonderful...

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
We went to L'acqua Viva with friends for a surf trip. Originally, we were concerned about the hotel as the ratings were not complimentary. All of that concern vanished when we arrived. We were met with friendly faces, a cool smoothy, attentive concierge, and a clean room. We had a driver (arranged by the hotel) pick us up at the Liberia airport. Upon arrival we rented a car. Between 3 families, we rented 2 cars and a golfcart. That is a recommended plan as the hotel is a few minutes from the beach. The food all week was exceptional at the hotel, La luna, Pacifico Azul, The Paris Cafe, and the Guilded Iguana. We were able to relax, visit with our friends, and give our boys a generous amount of freedom to explore. Additionally, the hotel set us up with wonderful surf instructors, kayak/paddle board guy, and restaurants. The staff was hard working, attentive, fun, and consistant. L'acqua Viva's food was perfect all day...breakfast, lunch/fish tacos, and late afternoon ceviche and dinner. The other guests were also enjoyable and interesting. We were just pleasantly surprised every day and we look forward to returning soon. Maybe the next time we will go in the rainy season.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by david vox from nosara

Worst hotel in Nosara

Posted Mar 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
For the price you pay here, the hotel and service should be good.Spa Hotel? There is not something you would call a spa... It`s dirty, dusty and noisy.I could not sleep, because of the hotel was next to the dusty road, everythign got dusty .. The service was bad, and the restaurant a joke. It was a major restaurant, with no people eating there trough my 7 day stay! Go somewhere else, where they have a view, not a dustry road and a restaurant with fresh food!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

pretty hotel going down hill

Posted Feb 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
i think the management of this hotel is killing a potentially really good hotel. the building and the rooms are really nice but the service and food and the energy of the place is dead. its a shame because this could have been an amazing place to stay had it been managed correctly.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Disappointment !!! Be careful

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at this hotel for five nights, if you are going to stay here make sure your room is near the pool area. The others face the road, the amount of noise and dirt is unbearable. It is under new management and I must say he tried to go above and beyond to accommodate us, if he could physically move the hotel he would but unfortunately there is only so much he could do. A car is a must given that the hotel is not an easy walk from the town and beach. Nosara is a great place, we really enjoyed are time there, you must go to La Luna restaurant and Pacifico Azul(best ceviche in town)
1 out of 5
by Enrique from Trondheim, Norway

Neither resort nor spa

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: The weather.
Cons: The general manager(stop blaming the earthquake, not our problem), the pool, training room, restaurant and service.Asfalt the road.Staff can't smile.
Location: The hotel is far from the nearest beaches.No transport from the hotel and public transport couple of times a day.Dangerous to walk by the road.
We arrived with great expectations as this was our last trip before we left Costa Rica. We were taken upon by a nice employee who helped us with the luggage and the receptionist who showed us to the room. As we arrived at around 4pm we decided to stay and eat dinner at the hotel. The restaurant looked nice. Regretably, the food and the service did not corresponded with the cost of the food. The waiter and waitress gave us the wrong food (some of us don't like tomatoes and lettuce, for example). The food was lukewarm and not good. We didn't have great expectations about breakfast since it was american, but again the service was below average. If we asked for fried egg, they came with scrambled. If we asked for more toasts instead for "Gallo Pinto", they came with "Gallo Pinto". If we asked for no papaye, they came with papaya. This happened everytime during our stay. The rooms was nice, but the hotel is full of dust from the main road, sitting in the terrace is impossible. The spa is closed and the training room is abandoned.It is not possible to swim/train in the pools as they are shallow. The general manager told us that the problems they have are because of the earthquake in 2011, and he wasn't at all understanding to our situation. It was like talking to a wall and talk only of the problems caused by the earthquake. We left with the feeling that we would have had a better stay in a cheap cabin for a 1/4 of the price we payed here. We expect a refund accordingly!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ruben from Costa Rica

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: Very nice suites, friendly staff.
Cons: Breakfast, more proteins.
Location: Very good location between Playa Guiones and Playa Pelada.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel!!!! Avoid if possible

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Cons: Pave the road themselves near the resort to reduce noise and dust. Hire staff that can speak english in restaurant.
The hotel rooms and facilities look lovely in pictures but it is built right beside the main dirt road highway and all the trees and shrubs are covered in grey road dust which they hose down. Instead of a peaceful beautiful experience we were woken up by trucks and motorcycles at 5:30 am passing the resort 40 feet from our room. We couldn't open the windows at night due to noise. There was only about 5 rooms booked out of 3 dozen so the resort was empty and felt very sad. We were the only ones in the pool, bar and dining room. We felt sorry for them so had dinner there which was a big mistake. The cheapest bottle of wine was $48 (when wine at finest restaurants in Tamarindo started at $20). We ordered Filet Mignon medium rare and it came well done with only mashed potatoes - no vegetables. The server did not speak english well and when we asked if there would be vegetables she kept nodding but I guess she didn't know what we were talking about. However the worst thing is the hotel is a 1 hour walk to the beach or 7 minute drive. All the other hotels in Playa Guionnes were in walking distance of the beach and restaurants. They would have been a much better choice. I wouldn't be surprised if this place goes bankrupt soon. Very depressing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by California Traveler from California

Nice Stay

Posted Dec 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay here in December 2013. The hotel and grounds were well kept and clean. The staff members were attentive and very nice. Our room included breakfast, which was fantastic: big fruit plate, yoghurt, huevos rancheros, rice and beans, toast, juice, coffee/tea/hot chocolate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Nosara

Posted Jun 4, 2013
Fantastic property! Great accommodations, great food, quite during the rainy season. The only downside is the hotel isn't walking distance to the beach.