Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for groups

Posted Apr 21, 2013
Located off the beaten path but a charming and delightfully local place to spend your days in Nosara, costa rica. Recommend to anyone, especiallly groups that like a fully equiped place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Teresafrom Toronto

Beautiful Villas and Property

Posted Mar 21, 2013
Pros: Pool
Cons: Dirt roads getting to the hotel.
We are a family of 5 and we had an awesome experience at Villa Del Sol. Coming from Canada, the quality of the Villas are comparable to those you find on ski resorts (Mont Tremblant, Blue mountain and Whistler) for half the price. Daniel, the manager, does a great job of maintaining the property. The pool and the property are always clean. We visited the beaches around Nosara, but since Nosara is a surfing area, it does not matter what beach you go to if you are a family, so the beach that was down the road from the villa was enough for us to get a beach experience. The Lagarta Lodge close by is worth a visit for a hike and dinner at sunset. Definitely worth the 5 hour drive from San Jose! Despite the tough drive around Nosara's dirt roads, we would definitely come back if ever we visit Costa Rica again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed our stay

Posted Mar 9, 2013
Pros: The swimming pool was a great place to relax after spending the day on the beach.
We stayed at the Villa del Sol February 24 - March 2 , 2013. Very happy with our choice of location and accommodations. The caretaker Daniel was very helpful with any questions and did a great job of looking after the grounds. The beach is only a 5 minute walk down the road and very quiet. The facility was gated and had security during the night. I would recommend renting a vehicle and buying groceries in a larger centre before arriving at the Villa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carolfrom Idaho

Great Villa

Posted Feb 6, 2013
Pros: The size
Cons: Internet was spotty but we could get internet close by when needed.
Location: We bought a Costa Rican chip for the GPS and it took us right there. Once we got used to the setup of the town it was very easy to find.
Villa Del Sol was a wonderful place to stay. Daniel the caretaker treated us so well and was always around. The condo was decorated nicely with comfortable furnishings. The pool was beautiful. It was only a very short walk to the beach. The beach was extremely clean. The condo was close to eating establishments, the market and the gas station. It was in a gated community with security guards. The monkeys swung from the trees in the back yard. Great patio furniture to relax and watch. The only complaint was we had to come home. Thanks Villa Del Sol.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Justin

Posted Jan 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was a great place to stay. Daniel, the property manager, was extremely helpful and made our stay very pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed our stay.

Posted Dec 28, 2012
Pros: It was a good size for the four of us. The manager was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Like many hotels in Costa Rica, the roads to get to these condos are not the best.
Location: Location was pretty good if you have an SUV. Easy to get to town.
This was our fourth trip to Costa Rica, second to Nosara. I was with my wife and two sons in thier 20s. These condos are about a 200 meter walk to the nearby beach. Walking another 15 minutes south on the beach gets you to Playa Guiones, the surfing beach of Nosara. The condo was a good size (2 bedrooms, 2 baths, 4 total beds, washer/dryer, nice living area and kitchen). We were a little concerned at first because there was no hot water, the bathroom sinks had no water pressure, and the AC in our room wasn't working. These were quickly remedied. I plugged in the hotwater heater and Daniel (the onsite manager) came over and unclogged the mineral filled filters in the sinks and had the AC working the next day. Restaurants in the area were very good. We especially enjoyed the La Luna. Go at sunset and get the fish tacos. Make sure you shuffle your feet when walking out to surf. The sting rays really do have a painful sting. I found out the hard way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Smith Familyfrom Ontario, Canada

Villa del Sol

Posted Mar 20, 2012
Pros: Location! Location! Location! Small, exclusive complex. Quiet but not isolated.
Cons: No Hammock.
We are a family with 2 teens and we would love to spend more time at the Villa del Sol.The condo was spacious and clean with a well equipped kitchen. The only thing missing from my point of view was a hammock on the porch from which to watch the monkeys, the birds the squirrels, the iguanas... you get the idea. The pool area is lovely and was never too busy while we were there. The beach (Playa Pelada) is only a few hundred meters from the condo complex entrance. In my opinion this is the best beach in Nosara - good swimming, rock pools to poke around in, some shade, lots of shells and the sunsets are amazing. There are several good restaurants within walking distance but you need to drive to the super mercado. In fact a 4wd car is probably necessary to get most out of your visit to the area. Daniel was very helpful when we needed him. I just hope this property does not become too popular so it is available when we want to come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by barbiefrom Illinois, USA

away from it all

Posted Feb 3, 2012
This place is for relaxing. Dont expect nightlife or lots of places to eat it is away from everything but it is wonderful!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pascalfrom London, UK

Great location - challenging route to location

Posted Jan 29, 2012
Pros: Lots of space, private pool for residents, and close to the beach.
Cons: Some aspects of security and the drive to the location.
Location: A handful of nice restaurants, lots of locals, beach is nice and not too busy (Feb)
Real nice place, a really nice swimming pool for the few residents in the cul-de-sac. Also near to the beach and you can eat at some great local places (all within walking distance). A car or ATV is useful for going into the main town and exploring. Security in the condo was not that great, if someone was determined to get in they would do so without much hassle but you get the feeling that it is a safe place in general and at night the gates at the top of the street are closed with a security guard, open and unmanned during the day. We arrived to Costa Rica at night, which really didn't help because the route was tough, last hour of driving is on bumpy dirt tracks and narrow bridges, and the camber was really tough at times. We had a 4x4 and in hindsight we are really happy we paid extra for that type of car - drive to the location during daylight and plan out the route. In overview, we are happy to have stayed here, we would do it again, but as I say we wouldn't have travelled out to the location at night, it was tough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Amazing

Posted Jan 21, 2012
Pros: Loved the huge balcony furnished with rocking chairs
Cons: Lack of tourist info of surrounding activities and attractions
Location: Ideal, Romantic and REMOTE
The Villa Del Sol is an amazing place! The people, both staff and natives, are the friendliest and courteous Ive come across. It is located a little off the unbeaten path but well worth it.