Ratings based on 335 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Nottingham

Close proximity to town centre

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: good proximity to the town centre.
Cons: general cleanliness and upkeep of the rooms need a big improvement.
10 minutes prior to arrival i called the hotel reception to inquire about the location of the car park. They told us where the car park was and that we could park our car there for the duration of our stay. After we parked we took all our our luggage to the hotel reception to check-in, at which point we were told that the car park was actually booked up and that we would have to move our car to a different car park on a completely different road which had no affiliation with the hotel. We asked how the car park could be 'booked up' as it was 90% empty when we parked and why the staff told us to park there if they knew it was booked up already. Whilst checking-in we were charged £25 per night for the mini fridge - something which was never stated on the expedia website, and despite us stating that we were categorically not going to use the mini fridge, we were told that we would not be able to stay at the hotel without paying for this charge at the check-in. Upon arriving in the hotel room we noticed that the general cleanliness of the room was extremely disappointing. The lights were visibly dusty, particularly the spotlights directly above the bed, making this very unpleasant to look at whilst lying in bed. The shower leaked whilst being in use everytime, depsite us being very cautious and the pipe which allows the water in the bathroom sink basin to drain was disconnected. We also found a (very old) sock on the floor which did not belong to myself or my guest.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Stoke on Trent

Too much valuable time wasted on checking in!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The room was lovely , no problems there.
Cons: Checking in and paying for breakfast, which could have been pre arranged as requested
Location: fab location
Problems with breakfast package added to our booking later! Hotel would not accept the breakfast booking prior to our arrival and therefore I had to pay for each room (8 double rooms booked under my name for a special birthday gathering) Card had to be processed 8 times tut tut ridiculous and the package included wine & chocs in your room which did not arrive till much much later in the evening, too late to enjoy.And I had to complain twice to receive them :( All our party were disappointed with this but the breakfast was really good and had plenty of choice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: To be given a twin room if you have requested one. Breakfast to be cooked less!
Location: Albert Hall, Nottingham Playhouse, shops
Our stay was OK. Great location for our needs. Disappointing that even though it was a no-smoking room, the previous guest had been smoking in the bathroom - as it stank! Not the hotel's fault though. I had requested a twin room for my daughter and I, but as this could not be guaranteed, we were given a double and no chance to change it unfortunately.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom d

Central & comfortable

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Lovely reception & very helpful with a sense if humour. Big room with everything you need (including hairdryer) Close to town & capital fm arena/cornerhouse restaurants. Would definitely stay again
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

TOO HOT OR TOO COLD

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: Safe car parking. Receptionist was brilliant. Stretched with numerous things to do but still had time to look after us. She was fantastic.
Cons: Decor needs updating and fixing.
Location: Very central. Variety of restaurants nearby. Can't fault the location or staff.
The first room we were offered was a double joy a twin as booked. It was by the lift shaft and ridiculously hot. We read another review who said they opened the window but it's just above an alley with bars and pubs. Fortunately the Receptionist, who had a cold and had originally said they were fully booked with no twins available, was fantastic and moved us to a twin much to the relief of my daughter. This room was the complete opposite and was freezing. I was woken in the middle of the night by my cold daughter who asked to put on the electric heater which was tucked under the desk, obviously used by a previous occupant. There was a panel in the bathroom that was hanging off and most of the finishes are a bit tired, falling off or broken. Didn't have the breakfast at £15 a head and walked round the corner to a local cafe. Nice looking in the photos and initially when we walked in but then looks can be decieving!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kent

Good hotel, centrally located in a lovely city.

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: The beds are extremely comfortable and we always get a good nights sleep. Good size rooms. There is also a gym on the top floor
Cons: Some rooms are in need of refurbishment.
Location: Centrally located for shops, restaurants, theatre and castle. Ice hockey is about 10 minutes away - very exciting sport.
When visiting Nottingham we prefer to stay in this hotel as it is well located for shops, restaurants and entertainment. Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oxford

Great location

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Warm, and comfy
Cons: Lobby needs to be updated/revamped
Location: Few minute stroll from castle and robinhood statue in one direction and town centre with shops resturants and clubs in the other direction.
The hotel is withing an easy stroll of Nottingham City Centre. The entrance is looking a bit tired but room was really nice and comfortable. Staff were great and couldn't do enough. Breakfast was a full English with all you would expect. We had a fire alarm during our first night and they kept us informed and allowed us to wait in the lobby (warm and somewhere to sit!). It was a flood and they arranged for us to wait in a nearby hotel when the power failed. We have a free nights stay as compensation. Second night was undisturbed!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom leicester

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Excellent hotel. Will stay again in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom east midlands

Great hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Great hotel, would definitely use again. Only bad point was that the Duvet could have been bigger
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great location but tired hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Great location - handy for shops and bars. But hotel is a bit tired round the ages (frayed carpets) and cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired (bathroom had hairs in tub, windows were filthy, window sills hadn't been cleaned in weeks and papers were on carpets which showed housekeeping weren't good with detail or hoovering). Arriving into the bedroom at 4pm to still smell the bacon someone obviously had for breakfast also was not good! Front desk staff were lovely but couldn't make up for shabby interiors and housekeeping who need to do their job properly!